We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.


From our special correspondent at the Ministry of Magic, we have news to light the hearts of Muggles across the world, for there is now a very special new date in your calendar. The stroke of midnight on the 31st July heralds the release of the script book Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts I & II, an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, accompanying the opening of a new play by Jack Thorne on the 30th July. 

Now everyone will be able to delight in an entirely new chapter of the Harry Potter adventure, no matter how far away from the wonders of the London stage. Waterstones will of course be right there with you, just brimming with anticipation over the secrets and revelations of the night, and we cannot wait for you to join us!

Pre-order for half price



We are delighted to share our shortlists for the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize 2016! The prize is voted for by our booksellers with the aim of recognising new, exciting talent. 

Our Children’s Buyer, Florentyna Martin said: “We at Waterstones believe there is a book here for every child to enjoy, with everything from bears and big bad wolves to witches and superheroes. We hope you enjoy reading these books as much as we all have.”

We’ll be announcing the three category winners, as well as the overall winner, on Thursday 17th March. Join in the conversation on Twitter using the hashtag #WCBP16  

View the shortlist


​See more

Books of the Month

The Rose of Tibet by Lionel Davidson
The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota
Jeremy Hutchinson’s Case Histories by Thomas Grant

​See More

Bestselling books


​See more

Up to 25% off Bestselling Paperbacks



Recommended reading

The Waterstones Book Club
Recently retired detective Chopra inherits a baby elephant and unearths a murder mystery that spans all of Mumbai in this delightful new crime series. Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith's No.1 Ladies Detective Agency.

Reviewed in the Papers
Browse the latest and the best book reviews from critics in the UK press, gathered here at the start of each week by our booksellers.

We're excited about

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
An intimate and exquisitely written meditation on the meaning of life by a young neurosurgeon facing terminal cancer. Dr. Paul Kalanithi wrote When Breath Becomes Air in the last 22 months of his life. His ability to combine a down-to-earth style with deep and literary reflections make this a vital, accessible and an illuminating work. As inspiring as Do No Harm and Being Mortal, the book is, as Nigella Lawson says, “Obligatory reading for the living”.

Find out more

Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins
Gold Fame Citrus depicts a sand-ravaged, desolate California, once celebrated for its gold, its celebrity and its orange groves. Only the marginalised and dispossessed choose to scratch out a living in this near-future, dystopian landscape. While the plot fuses the migratory issues of PD James’ Children of Men with the kind of climate disaster underpinning JG Ballard’s The Drought, Watkin’s writing has already drawn comparisons to Beckett and Flannery O’Connor.

Find out more


As in her previous works, Pulitzer Prize-winning Strout puts small town women at her story’s centre, showing how, buried in seemingly simple lives, are tangles of difficulties, resentments and awful, terrifying memories. Lucy Barton, a novelist and mother of two, is in hospital when her long-estranged mother appears at her bedside. A childhood of poverty, abuse and social exclusion is revisited, and heartbreak and emotion are conveyed without a shred of sentimentality.

Find out more


​See More

Upcoming author events

An Evening with Raziel Reid in conversation with Juno Dawson

Raziel Reid in conversation with Juno Dawson

Young adult fiction luminary Raziel Reid will be celebrating the UK launch of her controversial debut novel, When Everything Feels Like the Moviesat Waterstones Piccadilly on Monday 15th February. Raziel will be in conversation with columnist Juno Dawson, author of All of the Above, before both authors answer questions and sign copies of their books.

Find out more

Hemsley & Hemsley

Hemsley & Hemsley

Jasmine and Melissa Hemsley are renowned for making nutritious recipes, using affordable ingredients, that are utterly delicious. Always generous with their advice, the two sisters will be touring the country ready to answer your healthy eating questions and discuss their new book Good + Simple.

Find out more

Grace Helbig

Grace Helbig

Intelligent, astute and very funny, Grace Helbig has oodles of personality. She is a comedian, actress, author and YouTube personality with plenty to say about modern life. To celebrate the release of her new book, Grace & Style she will be gracing us with her presence up and down the country.

Find out more


Browse Valentine's Day gifts