We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

From our special correspondent at the Ministry of Magic, we have news to light the hearts of Muggles across the world, for there is now a very special new date in your calendar. The stroke of midnight on the 31st July heralds the release of the script book Harry Potter and the Cursed Child, Parts I & II, an original new story by J.K. Rowling, Jack Thorne and John Tiffany, accompanying the opening of a new play by Jack Thorne on the 30th July. Now everyone will be able to delight in an entirely new chapter of the Harry Potter adventure, no matter how far away from the wonders of the London stage. Waterstones will of course be right there with you, just brimming with anticipation over the secrets and revelations of the night, and we cannot wait for you to join us!

Pre-order for half price


​See more

Books of the Month

The Year of the Runaways by Sunjeev Sahota
Jeremy Hutchinson’s Case Histories by Thomas Grant
Beetle Boy by M.G. Leonard

​See More

Bestselling books


​See more

Up to 25% off Bestselling Paperbacks



Recommended reading

Browse Valentine's Day gifts
The Waterstones Book Club
Recently retired detective Chopra inherits a baby elephant and unearths a murder mystery that spans all of Mumbai in this delightful new crime series. Perfect for fans of Alexander McCall Smith's No.1 Ladies Detective Agency.

Reviewed in the Papers
Browse the latest and the best book reviews from critics in the UK press, gathered here at the start of each week by our booksellers.

We're excited about

When Breath Becomes Air by Paul Kalanithi
An intimate and exquisitely written meditation on the meaning of life by a young neurosurgeon facing terminal cancer. Dr. Paul Kalanithi wrote When Breath Becomes Air in the last 22 months of his life. His ability to combine a down-to-earth style with deep and literary reflections make this a vital, accessible and an illuminating work. As inspiring as Do No Harm and Being Mortal, the book is, as Nigella Lawson says, “Obligatory reading for the living”.

Find out more

Gold Fame Citrus by Claire Vaye Watkins
Gold Fame Citrus depicts a sand-ravaged, desolate California, once celebrated for its gold, its celebrity and its orange groves. Only the marginalised and dispossessed choose to scratch out a living in this near-future, dystopian landscape. While the plot fuses the migratory issues of PD James’ Children of Men with the kind of climate disaster underpinning JG Ballard’s The Drought, Watkin’s writing has already drawn comparisons to Beckett and Flannery O’Connor.

Find out more


As in her previous works, Pulitzer Prize-winning Strout puts small town women at her story’s centre, showing how, buried in seemingly simple lives, are tangles of difficulties, resentments and awful, terrifying memories. Lucy Barton, a novelist and mother of two, is in hospital when her long-estranged mother appears at her bedside. A childhood of poverty, abuse and social exclusion is revisited, and heartbreak and emotion are conveyed without a shred of sentimentality.

Find out more


​See More

Upcoming author events

An Evening with Raziel Reid in conversation with Juno Dawson

Raziel Reid in conversation with Juno Dawson

Young adult fiction luminary Raziel Reid will be celebrating the UK launch of her controversial debut novel, When Everything Feels Like the Moviesat Waterstones Piccadilly on Monday 15th February. Raziel will be in conversation with columnist Juno Dawson, author of All of the Above, before both authors answer questions and sign copies of their books.

Find out more

Hemsley & Hemsley

Hemsley & Hemsley

Jasmine and Melissa Hemsley are renowned for making nutritious recipes, using affordable ingredients, that are utterly delicious. Always generous with their advice, the two sisters will be touring the country ready to answer your healthy eating questions and discuss their new book Good + Simple.

Find out more

Grace Helbig

Grace Helbig

Intelligent, astute and very funny, Grace Helbig has oodles of personality. She is a comedian, actress, author and YouTube personality with plenty to say about modern life. To celebrate the release of her new book, Grace & Style she will be gracing us with her presence up and down the country.

Find out more


​Read More

Book Blog

Thriller of the month: The Rose of Tibet

A brilliant literary thriller from the author of Kolymsky Heights.

Thank you for helping us raise £1million

We would like to thank all those who have helped us reach our £1million target for Oxfam’s Syria Crisis Appeal.

Rediscovered classics: The Night Manager

The Night Manager is a claustrophobic thriller set in a chaotic, post-Cold War world.