Ian McEwan

Literary novelist and author of Atonement and Saturday.

21/06/1948 -

Ian McEwan biography and information

  • Ian McEwan is widely considered to be on the best English novelists writing today.
  • After studying English at Sussex University became one of the first students on the famous University of East Anglia's creative writing course.
  • His earlier novels were darker in tone than his later works to the extent that he was originally nicknamed Ian Macabre.
  • McEwan reached new levels of popularity with the publications of Enduring Love in 1997 and Amsterdam in 1998. The latter went on to win the Man Booker Prize.
  • Arguably his best known novel, Atonement, published in 2001, was also turned into an Oscar winning film starring Keira Knightley and James McAvoy.
  • In 2008, McEwan found out that he has a long lost brother who had been given up for adoption during World War Two. The two have remained in regular contact.

Book and writing awards

Somerset Maugham Award 1976 (First Love, Last Rites), Whitbread Novel Award 1987 (The Child in Time), James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction 1997 (Enduring Love), Booker Prize for Fiction 1998 (Amsterdam), James Tait Black Memorial Prize for fiction 2006 (Saturday) and Bolinger Everyman Wodehouse Prize 2010 (Solar).

Similar authors to Ian McEwan

Sebastian FaulksJ.M. Coetzee and Kazuo Ishiguro.

Books by Ian McEwan