Presenting Our Books of the Month for November

Something wicked this way comes...

As the winter nights draw in, both our Fiction Book and Thriller of the Month lead the reader into dark, spine-chilling territory with tales of the uncanny and unhinged respectively. Fortunately, Claudia Hammond's The Art of Rest is sure to restore the equilibrium, whilst younger readers can enjoy a story of bold imagination set in Blitz-era London.


Fiction Book of the Month

£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
In stock online

In the aftermath of their child’s death, a couple haunted by grief and guilt search for answers by digging into the past in this evocative slice of folk horror from the acclaimed author of The Loney.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Non-Fiction Book of the Month

£9.99 £8.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
In stock online

Drawing on a ground-breaking global study of rest, as distinct from sleep, Hammond's practical and inspiring book unravels the transformative benefits of quality downtime and the secrets of how to unwind.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Thriller of the Month

£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
In stock online

Introducing a maverick new detective desperate to kickstart his stagnating career, Thomas's electrifying debut paints an evocative South Yorkshire city haunted by corpses in the walls and pyromaniacs lurking in the shadows.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Children's Book of the Month

£7.99 £6.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
In stock online

In Blitz-bombed London, Col’s childhood imaginary friends – a six-foot tiger, a well-dressed badger and a tiny knight – suddenly spring to life to help him in the quest to save his sister in this heartfelt story of enchantment and hope.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Scottish Book of the Month

£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
In stock online

Perfect reading for fans of Sarah Perry and Bridget Collins, Magnusson's enchanting fable blends folklore and realism in the tale of a doctor's wife succumbing to ancient myths and mysterious strangers in the Highland wilderness.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Welsh Book of the Month

£10.00
Hardback
10+ in stock
In stock online

First published in the 1970s, Ruck’s beguiling account of raising a llama on the family farm is an endearing, laugh-out-loud treat from beginning to end.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Irish Book of the Month

£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
In stock online

Anarchic, violent and blackly comic, Fagan’s singular take on the Black Death finds a band of Irish villagers at the mercy of various gangs of opportunistic marauders.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Sort by:

Books of the Month

The Guest List
Added to basket
Lucy Foley
In stock online £8.99   £7.49 Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
Raynor Winn
In stock online £9.99   £8.49 Paperback
Sapiens
Added to basket
Yuval Noah Harari
In stock online £10.99   £8.99 Paperback
Invisible Women
Added to basket
Caroline Criado-Perez
In stock online £9.99   £8.49 Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
Sally Rooney
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
The Hunting Party
Added to basket
Lucy Foley
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Queenie
Added to basket
Candice Carty-Williams
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Big Sky
Added to basket
Kate Atkinson
In stock online £8.99   £7.49 Paperback
The Binding
Added to basket
Bridget Collins
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
Adam Kay
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Circe
Added to basket
Madeline Miller
In stock online £8.99   £7.49 Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
Onjali Q. Rauf
In stock online £7.99   £5.99 Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Gail Honeyman
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
Amor Towles
In stock online £8.99 Paperback
War Doctor
Added to basket
David Nott
In stock online £9.99   £8.49 Paperback
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
Katie Tsang
In stock online £7.99   £6.49 Paperback
The Chain
Added to basket
Adrian McKinty
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Wilding
Added to basket
Isabella Tree
In stock online £9.99   £8.49 Paperback
The Five
Added to basket
Hallie Rubenhold
In stock online £9.99   £7.99 Paperback
Dear Life
Added to basket
Rachel Clarke
In stock online £9.99   £8.49 Paperback
Starfell: Willow Moss and the Lost Day
Added to basket
Dominique Valente
In stock online £7.99   £5.99 Paperback
The Sound of the Hours
Added to basket
Karen Campbell
In stock online £9.99   £8.49 Paperback
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
Elizabeth Macneal
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
My Sister, the Serial Killer
Added to basket
Oyinkan Braithwaite
In stock online £8.99   £7.49 Paperback