All That Glitters

Presenting Our Books of the Month for May

Sally Rooney’s Waterstones Book of the Year-winning romance, Normal People, heads up a month of reading treats that includes a gripping investigation into the rich and powerful, a thriller set in the heart of historical Edinburgh, and a salt-stained maritime mystery, laced with a touch of gothic magic.


Fiction & Irish Book of the Month

£8.99 £6.99
Paperback
In stock online
Usually dispatched within 24 hours

Our Waterstones Book of the Year 2018, now available in paperback, is the ultimate contemporary, coming-of-age romance. Capturing the zeitgeist with all the skill and subtlety of her debut, Conversations with Friends, Sally Rooney’s Normal People follows the intersecting story of Marianne and Connell as they navigate the changing landscape of their relationship into adulthood. Both a study of how one person can irrevocably shape another, and a profound examination of love, power and influence, it is the novel of our time.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Non-Fiction Book of the Month

£9.99 £7.99
Paperback
In stock online
Usually dispatched within 24 hours
A show-stopping, engagingly written investigation into the parallel universe of the super-rich, Moneyland makes for staggering reading. Illuminating the world as a single, vast, money-laundering operation, where entire cities are hollowed out to service the financial affairs of a faceless elite, Oliver Bullough reveals how those with the most evade the law, manipulate the markets and turn the tide of the world’s capital to their own advantage. The numbers are mind-boggling, the ethics absent, the journalism essential.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Thriller & Scottish Book of the Month

£8.99 £6.99
Paperback
In stock online
Usually dispatched within 24 hours

Award-winning crime fiction stalwart, Chris Brookmyre, and anaesthetist Dr Marisa Haetzman, have paired up under the pseudonymous guise of Ambrose Parry to deliver a vividly-drawn historical thriller, set in 19th-century Edinburgh. As the body count rises in the city’s Old Town, a medical student with everything to prove and a housemaid with everything to lose find their lives intertwining as they hunt for answers. The perfect read for fans of Andrew Taylor, The Way of All Flesh is a thriller that’s unafraid to get its hands dirty, peeling back the veneer of well-heeled Edinburgh society to reveal the rotten heart beneath.  

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Children's Book of the Month

£7.99 £5.99
Paperback
In stock online
Usually dispatched within 24 hours

Welcome to the salt-stained, haddock-scented shores of Eerie-on-Sea and the mysterious corridors of the Grand Nautilus Hotel, where people tell stories of legendary sea-monster, the Malamander. Here 12-year-old Herbert Lemon - an official Lost-and-Founder - is employed to restore lost possessions to their rightful owners. But when he collides with lost girl Violet Parma, he finds himself in very fishy waters indeed. Echoing Lemony Snicket in its blend of quirky humour, gothic storytelling and suspense-filled drama, Malamander is children’s storytelling at its nautical best.  

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Welsh Book of the Month

£8.99 £6.99
Paperback
In stock online
Usually dispatched within 24 hours

Echoes of Margaret Atwood’s Handmaid’s Tale and Shakespeare’s King Lear haunt the pages of Sophie Mackintosh’s Man Booker Prize-longlisted, dystopian debut. Kept far from the outside world, on an isolated island, Grace, Lia and Sky grow up learning harsh lessons about the world of men and their own capacity for cruelty. Their father, the autocratic King, abruptly goes missing, three men wash up on their shore, and the walls built between the girls and the outside world begin to crumble. Told in brilliantly clear prose, The Water Cure is a transporting, otherworldly novel that lingers long in the imagination.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Sort by:

Books of the Month

Normal People
Added to basket
Sally Rooney
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
The Way of All Flesh
Added to basket
Ambrose Parry
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Malamander
Added to basket
Thomas Taylor
In stock online £7.99   £5.99 Paperback
Moneyland
Added to basket
Oliver Bullough
In stock online £9.99   £7.99 Paperback
Nine Perfect Strangers
Added to basket
Liane Moriarty
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
This is Going to Hurt
Added to basket
Adam Kay
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
The Salt Path
Added to basket
Raynor Winn
In stock online £9.99   £7.99 Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
Onjali Q. Rauf
In stock online £6.99   £4.99 Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
Gail Honeyman
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Wilding
Added to basket
Isabella Tree
In stock online £9.99   £7.99 Paperback
Tangerine
Added to basket
Christine Mangan
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Talking to My Daughter About the Economy
Added to basket
Yanis Varoufakis
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Sapiens
Added to basket
Yuval Noah Harari
In stock online £10.99   £8.99 Paperback
The Language of Kindness
Added to basket
Christie Watson
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
The Librarian
Added to basket
Salley Vickers
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
The Western Wind
Added to basket
Samantha Harvey
In stock online £8.99 Paperback
The Seven Deaths of Evelyn Hardcastle
Added to basket
Stuart Turton
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Circe
Added to basket
Madeline Miller
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
Amor Towles
In stock online £8.99 Paperback
A Pinch of Magic
Added to basket
Michelle Harrison
In stock online £6.99   £4.99 Paperback
If I Die Before I Wake
Added to basket
Emily Koch
In stock online £8.99   £6.99 Paperback
Old Baggage
Added to basket
Lissa Evans
In stock online £8.99 Paperback
Reasons to Stay Alive
Added to basket
Matt Haig
In stock online £9.99   £7.99 Paperback
The Hidden Life of Trees
Added to basket
Peter Wohlleben
In stock online £9.99 Paperback