The Booker Prize 2023 Winner

It is our great pleasure to confirm Prophet Song by Paul Lynch as the winner of the Booker Prize 2023.

A work of great urgency and grace, this harrowing yet lyrical tale of a mother trying to hold her family together in an Ireland in the grip of a totalitarian government represents dystopian fiction at its finest.

 

'This is a triumph of emotional storytelling, bracing and brave. With great vividness, Prophet Song captures the social and political anxieties of our current moment. Readers will find it soul-shattering and true, and will not soon forget its warnings.'

Esi Edugyan, Chair of Judges

The Shortlist

£12.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
With extraordinary emotional sensitivity, the 2023 Granta Best of Young British Novelists alumnae Sarah Bernstein paints a sinister, haunting portrait of hostility and disquiet as a woman returns to her wealthy but often absent brother as his housekeeper.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£14.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A series of linked stories comprising a breathtaking literary debut, Escoffery's searching, humane novel follows the fortunes of a Jamaican family as they face an uncertain future in late 70s America.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£16.99
Hardback
In stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Perfect for fans of Marilynne Robinson, this lyrical and thought-provoking novel from the Pulitzer Prize-winning author explores home, heredity and redemption through an arresting narrative about an island utopia in its final days.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£16.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Following a scientist whose husband is taken away by the newly formed Irish secret police, the award-winning author of Beyond the Sea and Grace spins a finely-wrought and terrifying vision of Ireland in the grip of a tyrannical government.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£14.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A coming-of-age filled with melancholy and beauty, Maroo’s mesmerising debut about a squash-obsessed teenager and a family reeling from loss explores the themes of grief and sisterhood with sublime force.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£18.99 £16.99
Hardback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
One of the greatest living comic novelists follows up Skippy Dies and The Mark and the Void with a beautifully crafted bittersweet delight about one family desperately attempting to get through the most trying of times.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

The Longlist 2023 

A Spell of Good Things
Added to basket
Old God's Time
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
Study for Obedience
Added to basket
If I Survive You
Added to basket
How to Build a Boat
Added to basket
This Other Eden
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Pearl
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback
All the Little Bird-Hearts
Added to basket
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£17.99
Hardback
Western Lane
Added to basket
£14.99
Hardback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
The House of Doors
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback

SEE MORE 

Previous Winners

The Seven Moons of Maali Almeida
Added to basket
The Promise
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
The Testaments
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Milkman
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lincoln in the Bardo
Added to basket
The Sellout
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
A Brief History of Seven Killings
Added to basket
The Narrow Road to the Deep North
Added to basket
The Luminaries
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Sense of an Ending
Added to basket
The Finkler Question
Added to basket
Wolf Hall
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The White Tiger
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

env: aptum
branch: