We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

Maggie O'Farrell

Northern Irish author

01/01/1972 -

Maggie O'Farrell biography and information

Maggie O'Farrell is a Northern Irish author of contemporary fiction, who featured in Waterstones' 25 Authors for the Future.

O'Farrell was born in Coleraine, Northern Ireland, and grew up in Wales and Scotland. At the age of eight she missed a year of school due to a viral infection, an event that is echoed in her novel The Distance Between Us. She worked as a journalist, both in Hong Kong and as the Deputy Literary Editor of The Independent on Sunday. She has also taught creative writing.

It is possible to identify several common themes in her novels, such as the relationship between sisters and the loss/psychological impact of losses on the lives of her characters. O'Farrell is married to the novelist William Sutcliffe, whom she met at Cambridge. They live in Hampstead Heath, London, with their two children. She has described Sutcliffe as 'a huge influence' saying, 'Will's always been my first reader, even before we were a couple, so he's a huge influence. He's brutal but you need that.' O'Farrell has writen six novels so far, those being, After You'd GoneMy Lover's LoverThe Distance Between UsThe Vanishing Act of Esme LennoxThe Hand that First Held Mine and Instructions for a Heatwave.

Book and writing awards

Her debut novel, After You'd Gone, won a Betty Trask award, and The Distance Between Us won the 2005 Somerset Maugham Award. She was the 2010 Costa Book Award winner for The Hand that First Held Mine, and shortlisted for the 2013 Costa Book Award for Instructions for a Heatwave.

Similar authors to Maggie O'Farrell

Joanna BriscoeKate Atkinson, and Dorothy Koomson

Books by Maggie O'Farrell

We're talking about...

Costa Book Awards 2013 - shortlists announced

Posted on 26th Nov, 2013 by Dan Lewis

Waterstones eleven début authors make up half the Costa First Novel Award shortlist whilst Samuel Johnson Prize winner Lucy Hughes-Hallett attempts to do the double in the Biography category...