A Life Without You: a gripping and emotional page-turner about love and family secrets (Paperback)
  • A Life Without You: a gripping and emotional page-turner about love and family secrets (Paperback)
zoom

A Life Without You: a gripping and emotional page-turner about love and family secrets (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 14/07/2016
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

'A heart-clangingly powerful stunner of a novel' - Isabelle Broom. Perfect for fans of Jojo Moyes, Lucy Dillon and Amanda Prowse.

Can you ever outrun the past?

It's Zoe's wedding day. She's about to marry Jamie, the love of her life. Then a phone call comes out of the blue, with the news that her mum Gina has been arrested. Zoe must make an impossible decision: should she leave her own wedding to help?

Zoe hasn't seen Gina for years, blaming her for the secret that she's been running from ever since she was sixteen. Now, Gina is back in her life, but she's very different to the mum Zoe remembers. Slowly but surely, Gina is losing her memory.

As she struggles to cope with Gina's illness, can Zoe face up to the terrible events of years ago and find her way back to the people she loves?

A Life Without You is a stirring and poignant novel about the power of the past - and the possibilities of the future.

*What readers are saying about A Life Without You:*

'A story that will evoke every emotion that lurks within your heart and pull each string firmly. Devastating is the perfect word, yet it is also beautiful and passionate and exquisitely written.'

'This novel made me sob, and it made me smile. It's a gorgeous, beautiful and evocative novel about love, hope and forgiveness.' - Amazon reader, 5 stars

'Superbly written. Tender & poignant. Five star read.'

'I loved A Life Without You! Snotty tears, but a smile on my face and also in my heart. Just perfect.'

'Katie Marsh has touched my heart. She is a hidden gem within the world of fiction and I cannot recommend her books enough. I will be shouting about this book to everyone who will listen. A Life Without You is not to missed.'

'It made me sob, and it made me smile. Gorgeous, just gorgeous, beautiful and evocative novel about love, hope and forgiveness.'

'Makes you feel warm inside, but also absolutely breaks your heart... totally beautiful and uplifting.'

'A stunning and compassionate story of family, forgiveness and unconditional love... will remain forever in my heart'

'Very touching... I couldn't put it down!'

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781473613652
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 262 g
Dimensions: 197 x 130 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A Life Without You is a tender, poignant story of love, loss and long-buried secrets. Katie Marsh's gorgeously heartbreaking, life-affirming tale grabs your heart and won't let go. A truly special book - I adored every twist and turn. -- Miranda Dickinson
Emotional and brilliantly written * Fabulous *
Another heart-clangingly powerful stunner of a novel from the effortlessly wise, warm and brilliant Katie Marsh. If you're looking for a novel to inspire you, a story to move you and a book to make your heart sing, you've just found it. A Life Without You is a triumph! -- Isabelle Broom
A great read - heartwarming and funny in places and poignantly sad in others. A reminder to us all not to take our families or our memories for granted. -- The Unmumsy Mum
Touching, emotionally charged... A wonderful tale about love and motherhood -- Amanda Jennings
A tender, beautiful, heart-tugging book. Totally gorgeous -- Iona Grey, Winner of the Romantic Novel of the Year Award 2016
A poignant, heartfelt and refreshing tale about family, secrets, love and forgiveness. A stunner of a novel. Read it! * Heat *
A tender, poignant portrayal of a mother/daughter relationship -- Sarah Vaughan, author of The Art of Baking Blind
'Impeccably written... a stunning and compassionate story of family, forgiveness and unconditional love. Katie Marsh has such emotive writing, evoking both laughter and tears, ensuring that A Life Without You is a book that will remain forever in my heart. No words will ever do this book justice - you simply must read it for yourself.' -- The Book Magnet
Praise for My Everything * : *
Absolutely LOVED it! Such a beautiful book . . . Heartwarming and funny in places, and very honest. -- Carrie Hope Fletcher
It was hard to put down, the characters are beautifully observed and continue to surprise one, all the way through to the story's unexpected end. -- Jenny Agutter
Devastatingly good - wonderfully warm, heartbreakingly real and completely uplifting. I was completely blown away by the story and Katie's beautiful prose drew me right to the heart of Hannah and Tom's world. I will be recommending this book to everyone! -- Miranda Dickinson
A moving and thoughtful story about love and second chances * Sunday Mirror *
The vivid storytelling doesn't shy away from the emotional realities of Tom & Hannah's situation, which makes for a compelling and disarmingly moving story full of heartbreak and hope... a bittersweet story about love, learning and letting go. This deeply poignant and beautifully written debut is both devastatingly sad and blissfully romantic * Heat *
A story that will evoke every emotion that lurks within your heart and pull each string firmly. Devastating is the perfect word, yet it is also beautiful and passionate and exquisitely written. -- Random Things Through My Letterbox
This thought-provoking debut novel is both brilliantly funny and sad * Sun *
A moving and realistic portrait of life-changing illness...this skilful debut novel offers an inspiring journey through love, loss and second chances * Sunday Express *

You may also be interested in...

Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Cat Who Saved Books
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Hardback
Bewilderment
Added to basket
£18.99
Hardback
The Man Who Died Twice
Added to basket
£18.99   £15.99
Hardback
The Song of Achilles
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
The Survivors
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Great Circle
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
No One Is Talking About This
Added to basket
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shuggie Bain
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Transient Desires
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Emotional, heartfelt and wonderful ”

I loved it. Devoured in a day but memories that will last a very long time. I still feel a well of emotion in my chest as I write this review.

This novel will make you laugh and make you cry. It will make you... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 50

“Tender and poignant. A total triumph.”

A Life Without You is the second novel from Katie Marsh following on from My Everything which was so beautifully written and a story that is thought-provoking. I highly recommend it if you have not yet come across it.... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Unexpectedly funny and very moving”

I started reading this book during a night feed with my baby daughter, and found that I was still awake long after she had gone back to asleep. This is an addictive, humorous, gripping, heartwarming story of the... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.