Malorie Blackman

Hugely popular children's author and Waterstones Children's Laureate 2013-2015.

08/02/1962 -

Malorie Blackman biography and information

Malorie Blackman is acknowledged as one of today's most imaginative and convincing writers for young readers. Her most well-known work is the Noughts & Crosses series following the lives of two teenagers in a racist dystopia. The first in the series, Noughts & Crosses, was one of the twenty titles handed out for World Book Night 2013 and was listed at 61st place in the BBC's 2003 survey to find 'the Nation's Best-Loved Book'. She has also written scripts for television including episodes of the classic children's TV series, Byker Grove.

She was awarded an OBE in 2008 and in 2013 she succeeded Julia Donaldson as the Waterstones Children's Laureate, and was followed by Chris Riddell in 2015. She lives in Kent with her husband and daughter

Book and writing awards

Mind Boggling Book of the Year Award 1994 (Hacker), Carnegie Medal shortlist 1997 (Pig-Heart Boy), Red House Children's Book Award 2002 (Noughts & Crosses).

Similar authors to Malorie Blackman

Jacqueline Wilson, Michael Morpurgo, Phil Earle

Books by Malorie Blackman

We're talking about...