The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant (Paperback)
  • The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant (Paperback)
zoom

The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant (Paperback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 06/02/2020
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'I loved this exquisitely written novel and drank in every word. The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant is a reminder of the redemptive nature of love, and that it can be found in the most unexpected places.' Fiona Valpy, bestselling author of The Dressmaker's Gift and The Beekeeper's Promise

An abandoned woman...

1951. Esther Durrant, a young mother, is committed to an asylum by her husband. Run by a pioneering psychiatrist, the hospital is at first Esther's prison - but can captivity lead to freedom?

A forbidden love...

2018. When free-spirited marine scientist Rachel Parker is forced to take shelter on an isolated island off the Cornish Coast during a research posting, she discovers a collection of hidden love letters. Captivated by their passion and tenderness, Rachel is determined to find the intended recipient.

A dangerous secret...

Meanwhile, in London, Eve is helping her grandmother write her memoirs. When she is contacted by Rachel, it sets in motion a chain of events that threatens to reveal secrets kept buried for more than sixty years.

Three women bound together by a heartbreaking secret.
A love story that needs to be told.

This beautifully haunting and atmospheric novel, will sweep fans of Kate Morton, Elizabeth Gilbert and Emily Gunnis away this summer.

'If you enjoyed "City of Girls," by Elizabeth Gilbert, read "The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant," by Kayte Nunn' Washington Post

NetGalley reviewers are falling in love with The Forgotten Letters of Esther Durrant:

'Loved, loved this book. The multi layers wove an intriguing tale, and this was a well researched engaging and heart rending story.'

'Beautifully written'

'An absorbing tale set mainly in the Channel Islands. I wanted to know what the resolution would be, so stayed up to read to the end!'

Praise for Katye Nunn's The Botanist's Daughter:

'A sweeping and exotic read. I was completely swept away. Perfect for readers of Kate Morton.' Lorna Cook, bestselling author of 'The Forgotten Village'

'The whole book is a delight... Perfect reading whilst sipping a g & t in a beautiful garden somewhere in the sun!' Rosanna Ley, bestselling author of 'The Lemon Tree Hotel'

'I loved this book and really look forward to reading the next book by Kayte Nunn; perfect for reading in the garden with a glass of something cold.' Bookliterat

'Fast-moving and full of surprises...while delivering a poignant and heart-warming story of romance and new beginnings ' Kate Forsyth

'The Botanist's Daughter is a quick paced but mysterious read, which transports you across time and place and is filled with an abundance of flowers.' Foreword Books

'The Botanist's Daughter is an intriguing story about the strength of women who, for their own reasons, are willing to travel halfway across the world and end up with the same goal. It's also a family mystery that slowly reveals its secrets, just like a blooming flower.' The Bookish Gurl 5/5 stars

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781409190561
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 260 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 28 mm

You may also be interested in...

Cinderella Sister
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Leopard
Added to basket
Remarkable Creatures
Added to basket
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Paying Guests
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Siege Of Krishnapur
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
American Pastoral
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Red Queen
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Beautifully written tale”

This is such a wonderful book, it’s so much more than The synopsis makes you think. It’s a lovely multi layered book , so much going on, a great story, thoroughly engaging and entertaining , well written, the writing... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.