Bernard Cornwell

The creator of the Sharpe series of historical novels.

12/12/1944 -

Bernard Cornwell biography and information

Bernard Cornwell is an English author who mostly writes historical novels, and his main series include: 


The Sharpe series (composed of several novels and short stories) charts Richard Sharpe's progress in the British Army during the Napoleonic Wars. It was adapted for TV and starred Sean Bean in the lead role.

Grail Quest

Grail Quest - A series of stories set in the middle of the fourteenth century, an age when the four horsemen of the apocalypse seem to have been released over Europe.

Starbuck Chronicles

Set during the American Civil War, the Starbuck Chronicles follow the exploits of a young Boston-born Confederate officer, Nathaniel Starbuck.

The Warlord Chronicles

The Warlord Chronicles is a trilogy of books about Arthurian Britain - written as a mixture of historical fiction and Arthurian mythology.

Similar authors to Bernard Cornwell

Conn IgguldenSimon Scarrow and Patrick O'Brian.

Books by Bernard Cornwell

We're talking about...

Why another book on Waterloo?

Posted on 18th Jun, 2015 by Bernard Cornwell

Bernard Cornwell's latest book may be a first foray into non-fiction, but he's in very familiar historical territory. So, why bother to write another book on one of the most famous battles in history?