Heresy - Giordano Bruno Book 1 (Paperback)
  • Heresy - Giordano Bruno Book 1 (Paperback)
zoom

Heresy - Giordano Bruno Book 1 (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 512 Pages
Published: 03/03/2011
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

The first book in the No. 1 Sunday Times bestselling series following Giordano Bruno, set at the time of Queen Elizabeth I

In Elizabeth’s England, true faith can mean bloody murder…

Oxford, 1583. A place of learning. And murderous schemes.

The country is rife with plots to assassinate Queen Elizabeth and return the realm to the Catholic faith. Giordano Bruno is recruited by the queen’s spymaster and sent undercover to expose a treacherous conspiracy in Oxford – but his own secret mission must remain hidden at all costs.

A spy under orders. A coveted throne under threat.

When a series of hideous murders ruptures close-knit college life, Bruno is compelled to investigate. And what he finds makes it brutally clear that the Tudor throne itself is at stake…

Perfect for fans of C. J. Sansom and Hilary Mantel

Praise for S. J. Parris

‘A delicious blend of history and thriller’ The Times

‘An omnipresent sense of danger’ Daily Mail

‘Colourful characters, fast-moving plots and a world where one false step in religion or politics can mean a grisly death’ Sunday Times

‘Pacy, intricate, and thrilling’ Observer

‘Vivid, sprawling … Well-crafted, exuberant’ Financial Times

‘Impossible to resist’ Daily Telegraph

'An atmospheric and well-written historical thriller' Guardian

‘Twists and turns like a corkscrew of venomous snakes’ Stuart MacBride

‘It has everything – intrigue, mystery and excellent history’ Kate Mosse

‘The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden

‘A brilliantly unusual glimpse at the intrigues surrounding Queen Elizabeth I’ Andrew Taylor

“Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists” Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men)

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780007317707
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

‘Heresy has everything – intrigue, mystery, excellent history and haunting sense of place. The beginning of a wonderful new detective series’ Kate Mosse ‘Fascinating … The period is incredibly vivid and the story utterly gripping’ Conn Iggulden (bestselling author of Bones of the Hills and The Dangerous Book for Boys) ‘Heresy is a riveting read. Rich in both historical detail and ingenious twists, S J Parris has created a character in Giordano Bruno that will endure. A true rival to C J Sansom’ Sam Bourne (bestselling author of The Righteous Men) ‘Heresy is a must-read for every fan of historical thrillers. S. J. Parris transports the reader back to an extraordinary time in history by mobilizing fascinating details, suspense, and fully-drawn characters. Giordano Bruno turns out to be that rare hero, charismatic and nuanced enough to impel an encore, and to leave us asking for more from the gifted Parris’ Matthew Pearl (author of The Dante Club) 'Parris paces her yarn perfectly' Daily Telegraph 'An atmospheric and well-written historical thriller' Guardian 'Parris succeeds where much historical fiction fails' Observer 'The places and people are vividly described with a merciful absence of period language, and the solution to this exciting, well-written tale comes as a real surprise' Literary Review

You may also be interested in...

The Leopard
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
The Lords of the North
Added to basket
Restoration
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Azincourt
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
Gai-Jin
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
London
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Dissolution
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
A Place Called Winter
Added to basket
Tai-Pan
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
The Grand Sophy
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback

“A Poor Imitation”

EVERYTHING about this book appears to have been designed to appeal to those who love the series featuring the character of “Matthew Shardlake” and I was definitely drawn in by this cunning ploy.
Sadly, S.J Parris is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 119

“Shardlake & Shakespeare have a rival!”

This is a must for all lovers of Tudor historical fiction. Like John Shakespeare Giordana Bruno, a radical monk on the run from the Inquisition, finds himself working for Francis Walsingham chief spymaster for Queen... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 118

“A Good Read”

Being a fan of C J Sansom's 'Matthew Shardlake' I looked forward to reading Heresy, although a little slow in parts I was not disappointed, 'Bruno' has not yet quite 'got' me but I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 83

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: