Outlawed (Hardback)
  • Outlawed (Hardback)
zoom

Outlawed (Hardback)

(author)
1 Review Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 272 Pages / Published: 28/01/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

UK delivery within 2 weeks

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Meridian in this bold, immersive western centred on a childless woman in danger of being hanged as a witch and a gang of outlaws determined to forge a better life for women on the frontier.

In the year of our Lord 1894, I became an outlaw.

On the day of her wedding-dance, Ada feels lucky. She loves her broad-shouldered, bashful husband and her job as an apprentice midwife.

But her luck will not last. It is every woman's duty to have a child, to replace those that were lost in the Great Flu. And after a year of marriage and no pregnancy, in a town where barren women are hanged as witches, Ada's survival depends on leaving behind everything she knows.

She joins up with the notorious Hole in the Wall Gang. Its leader, a charismatic preacher-turned-robber, known to all as The Kid, wants to create a safe haven for women outcast from society. But to make this dream a reality, the Gang hatches a treacherous plan. And Ada must decide whether she's willing to risk her life for the possibility of a new kind of future for them all.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781474615341
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 469 g
Dimensions: 238 x 162 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Anna North has written a captivating Western unlike any other, with unique rhythms, dusty lands, and characters like new friends brought in on high winds. A grand, unforgettable tale.' - Esme Wang, author of The Collected Schizophrenias

'Outlawed flips the script on the beloved Western genre and gives us the iconic heroine-on-the-run we deserve. Anna North is a riveting storyteller ... Reader, you are in for a real treat!' - Jenny Zhang, author of Sour Heart

'Fans of Margaret Atwood and Cormac McCarthy finally get the Western they deserve in Outlawed, but Anna North doesn't just reimagine a damsel-in-distress as her own savior. She plays with the promise and danger of the frontier, introducing us to an America we never knew-and one we know all too well' - Alexis Coe, author of You Never Forget Your First and Alice+Freda Forever

'A moving and invigorating complication of the Western, highlighting chosen family, love, and survival among outcasts in another American timeline. As she mines the genre for vital new stories, North beautifully shines a light on our real past and conveys a warning for the future.' - Lydia Kiesling, author of The Golden State

You may also be interested in...

The Island of Missing Trees
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Book of Form and Emptiness
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Book Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
How to Kill Your Family
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Great Circle
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Paper Palace
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
Snow Country
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death and Croissants
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Sorrow and Bliss
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Malibu Rising
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Just, wow”

Anna North's gorgeous feminist western is a sweeping, funny, grubby, romantic, universal tale and, simultaneously, an intimate portrait of the human condition. I couldn't put it down and as bereft when it...

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.