Outlawed (Hardback)
  • Outlawed (Hardback)
zoom

Outlawed (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99 £12.99
Hardback 272 Pages / Published: 28/01/2021
  • Save £2.00
  • 5+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

The Handmaid’s Tale meets Blood Meridian in this bold, immersive western centred on a childless woman in danger of being hanged as a witch and a gang of outlaws determined to forge a better life for women on the frontier.

In the year of our Lord 1894, I became an outlaw.

On the day of her wedding-dance, Ada feels lucky. She loves her broad-shouldered, bashful husband and her job as an apprentice midwife.

But her luck will not last. It is every woman's duty to have a child, to replace those that were lost in the Great Flu. And after a year of marriage and no pregnancy, in a town where barren women are hanged as witches, Ada's survival depends on leaving behind everything she knows.

She joins up with the notorious Hole in the Wall Gang. Its leader, a charismatic preacher-turned-robber, known to all as The Kid, wants to create a safe haven for women outcast from society. But to make this dream a reality, the Gang hatches a treacherous plan. And Ada must decide whether she's willing to risk her life for the possibility of a new kind of future for them all.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781474615341
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 460 g
Dimensions: 238 x 162 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Anna North has written a captivating Western unlike any other, with unique rhythms, dusty lands, and characters like new friends brought in on high winds. A grand, unforgettable tale.' - Esme Wang, author of The Collected Schizophrenias

'Outlawed flips the script on the beloved Western genre and gives us the iconic heroine-on-the-run we deserve. Anna North is a riveting storyteller ... Reader, you are in for a real treat!' - Jenny Zhang, author of Sour Heart

'Fans of Margaret Atwood and Cormac McCarthy finally get the Western they deserve in Outlawed, but Anna North doesn't just reimagine a damsel-in-distress as her own savior. She plays with the promise and danger of the frontier, introducing us to an America we never knew-and one we know all too well' - Alexis Coe, author of You Never Forget Your First and Alice+Freda Forever

'A moving and invigorating complication of the Western, highlighting chosen family, love, and survival among outcasts in another American timeline. As she mines the genre for vital new stories, North beautifully shines a light on our real past and conveys a warning for the future.' - Lydia Kiesling, author of The Golden State

You may also be interested in...

Where the Crawdads Sing
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Writers & Lovers
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl with the Louding Voice
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Girl Who Reads on the Metro
Added to basket
Turn a Blind Eye
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Dinner Guest
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Priory of the Orange Tree
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £10.99
Hardback
Klara and the Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
American Dirt
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
House of Earth and Blood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Beekeeper of Aleppo
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Hamnet
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Such a Fun Age
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.