Waterstones Children's Book Prize Winner 2024

It is with enormous pleasure that we announce Greenwild by Pari Thomson as the Overall Winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2024.

Allying the mesmerising fantasy storytelling of Impossible Creatures to the passionate eco-awareness of The Last Bear, Pari Thomson’s irresistible debut bursts with adventure, worldbuilding and the sights and sounds of the natural world.

Allying the mesmerising fantasy storytelling of Impossible Creatures to the passionate eco-awareness of The Last Bear, Pari Thomson’s irresistible debut bursts with adventure, worldbuilding and the sights and sounds of the natural world. On a mission to find her missing mother, Daisy Thistledown discovers a portal in Kew Gardens to the enchanted Greenwild – a lush land where plants and flowers possess astonishing magical powers. But these powers are in danger from a sinister force that threatens to destroy not only the Greenwild but Daisy’s world as well. Populated by unforgettable characters, including a cat with an attitude and a boy who can talk to animals, Greenwild fizzes with invention, excitement and heart.

 

'A timeless fantasy tale of friendship, mystery, and the magic and beauty to be found in nature. A spellbinding triumph.'

BEA CARVALHO, WATERSTONES HEAD OF BOOKS

'Pari Thomson’s debut enchanted our booksellers with its sweeping escapism and standard-setting lyrical worldbuilding. At once a fast-paced adventure story and a heartfelt entreaty to care for the natural world, Greenwild is a timeless fantasy tale of friendship, mystery, and the magic and beauty to be found in nature. We are extremely proud to present this wonderful debut as the 20th winner of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize: we cannot wait to see what Pari Thomson does next.'

BEA CARVALHO, WATERSTONES HEAD OF BOOKS

£7.99 £6.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
A truly gorgeous volume filled with the wonder and magic of science and nature, Savage's stunning picture book chronicles a redoubtable scientist's quest to locate the titular sea creature.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
Perfect reading for fans of Suzanne Collins and Chloe Gong, Lewis' propulsive romantic fantasy pitches seventeen-year-old Rosalyn Quest into a deadly competition to save her mother - as long as she can resist the charms of an alluring fellow player.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Scenes from an Unforgettable Evening

Celebrating 20 years of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize

Illustrated Books Shortlist
Younger Readers Shortlist
Older Readers Shortlist
History of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize

Presenting Our Overall Winners

Ever since Stuart Hill’s masterful fantasy The Cry of the Icemark scooped the inaugural gong two decades ago, the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize has grown in stature to become one of the most prestigious children’s book awards in the literary calendar. As we celebrate the award's 20th anniversary, the time is ripe to look back on the modern classics that the prize has created.

Rising Stars

We are passionate about discovering new talent. From the beginning, the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize has been sharing the best in new writing for children and teenagers and has helped to forge the careers of authors and illustrators who are now household names.

Hard-Hitters

We applaud Young Adult works that refuse to speak down to their readers, covering gritty and controversial topics with intelligence and sincerity.

Picture Perfect

We know that pictures can bring stories to life. Over the years it has been our pleasure to introduce fresh creative talent which combines words and pictures to stunning effect.

Action-Packed Pages

Feeding young imaginations with the fuel to build universes of their own, we have always championed sweeping adventures of new worlds and daring deeds.

Literary Laughs

We know that one of the hardest challenges for a writer is making readers laugh and that's why we love to celebrate books that raise either a chuckle or a full-on guffaw.

Conversation Starters

Our choices always put readers first, spotlighting the books that matter to them and reflecting the topics young people of all ages are most passionate about.

Family, Friends & Feelings

Throughout the history of the prize, we’ve rewarded books that really understand the dynamics of children’s relationships with both family and friends. These uniquely emotive connections have been brilliantly explored with humour, tenderness and power by a number of our winners.

Illustrated Books Shortlist 2024

The Queen Next Door
Added to basket
The Secret Elephant
Added to basket
Wolf and Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Whose Dog is This?
Added to basket
The Search for the Giant Arctic Jellyfish
Added to basket

Younger Readers Shortlist 2024

Crookhaven
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Swifts
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
My Name is Sunshine Simpson
Added to basket
Greenwild: The World Behind The Door
Added to basket

Older Readers Shortlist 2024

Promise Boys
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
What the World Doesn't See
Added to basket
Girl, Goddess, Queen
Added to basket
Thieves' Gambit
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
You Think You Know Me
Added to basket
Friendship Never Ends
Added to basket

2023's Overall Winner

£7.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days
With the world due to end imminently, Aisha and her brilliantly drawn family undertake an eventful road trip across Malaysia to find her estranged sister June in this blazingly original and wonderfully affecting debut.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Previous Overall Winners

The Last Bear
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Kind of Spark
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Look Up!
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl of Ink & Stars
Added to basket
My Brother Is a Superhero
Added to basket
Blown Away
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Rooftoppers
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Ketchup Clouds
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Pirates Next Door
Added to basket
Artichoke Hearts
Added to basket
The Great Hamster Massacre
Added to basket
The Thirteen Treasures
Added to basket
Ways to Live Forever (2019 NE)
Added to basket
Darkside NE
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Diamond of Drury Lane
Added to basket
The Cry of the Icemark
Added to basket

From the Waterstones Blog

The Waterstones Children's Book Prize Blog: Pari Thomson

The author of Greenwild, the winner of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2024, talks about the book that made her a writer.

The Waterstones Children's Book Prize Blog: Kayvion Lewis

The author of Thieves' Gambit and the winner of this year's Waterstones Children's Book Prize for Older Readers talks about the book that made her a writer.

The Waterstones Children's Book Prize Blog: Chloe Savage

The author of The Search for the Giant Arctic Jellyfish, the winner of the Best Illustrated Book category of the Waterstones Children's Book Prize 2024, talks about the book that made her a writer.

The Children's Books You Need to Read in 2024

From exceedingly exciting chapter books to effortlessly enchanting picture books, get the low-down on the children's books you need to read this year.

env: aptum
branch: