Junot Diaz

Junot Diaz is a Dominican-American novelist, essayist and short story writer, and author of the Pulitzer Prize-winning The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao. Diaz’s family emigrated to the United States from the Dominican Republic when he was six years old and the Latino immigrant experience is a central theme running through many of Diaz’s works. His debut collection of short stories, Drown, was published in 1995 and focused heavily on Diaz’s own experiences of growing up as an immigrant in New Jersey. Drown met with mixed reviews at the time of publication but underwent a major critical reappraisal in the light of the success of The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao, Diaz’s sole novel. Published in 2007, the novel was immediately hailed as a modern classic and claimed the Pulitzer Prize the following year. Diaz produced another collection of short stories, This is How You Lose Her, in 2012 and collaborated with the illustrator Leo Espinosa on a children’s picture book called Islandborn, in 2018.

Books by Junot Diaz

The Brief Wondrous Life of Oscar Wao
Added to basket
This Is How You Lose Her
Added to basket
Added to basket
The Cheater's Guide to Love
Added to basket
Added to basket