Events

Women in Crime and Crime Fiction - An Evening with Kerry Daynes and Harriet Tyce

Wednesday 12th June 2019
18:30 - 20:30 at Waterstones, London - Tottenham Court Road

Women in Crime and Crime Fiction - An Evening with Kerry Daynes and Harriet Tyce

Waterstones TCR are delighted to present a very special event featuring forensic psychologist Kerry Daynes, and author of The Dark Side of the Mind, in conversation with crime novelist Harriet Tyce, author of the acclaimed thriller Blood Orange. The event will be chaired by writer and BBC correspondent Julia Wheeler.

They'll be discussing women in crime, the psychology of criminals, both factional and fictional, and the enduring fascination for crime fiction and true crime, particularly among women.

The evening will include a chat between Julia, Kerry and Harriet, an opportunity for audience questions, and a book signing.

Tickets are just £7, or you can purchase a copy of Kerry and Harriet's books at a special discount price with your ticket.

Harriet Tyce grew up in Edinburgh. She graduated from the University of Oxford in 1994 with a degree in English Literature before gaining legal qualifications. She worked as a criminal barrister for ten years, leaving after the birth of her first child. She completed an MA in Creative Writing – Crime Fiction at UEA where she wrote Blood Orange, which is her first novel. Blood Orange has been described as an electrifying debut thriller for fans of Apple Tree Yard and Anatomy of a Scandal. She is a stunning new voice in psychological suspence.
 
Kerry Daynes is a Consultant and Forensic Psychologist, speaker and media commentator. For over twenty years her average week has involved working with everything from stressed-out parents to serial killers and she is a sought-after court-appointed expert witness. Kerry regularly appears on international television networks and in the media; she was 'The Profiler' over three series of Discovery's top-rated 'Faking It' documentaries. The Dark Side of the Mind is an exceptional look at her journey as a Forensic Psychologist, and offers readers an unforgettable insight into the psychological causes of some of the most extreme forms of human behaviour, and what the treatment and incarceration of those who transgress says about society.

Julia Wheeler has worked as a journalist for the BBC for more than 15 years, including as the BBC’s Gulf correspondent between 2000 and 2010. She has written the award-winning book Telling Tales:An Oral History of Dubai, for which she interviewed senior members of the Emirati community. She has chaired numerous events in literature and current affairs.
London - Tottenham Court Road Waterstones, London - Tottenham Court Road
Wednesday 12th June 2019
18:30 - 20:30

Sorry you've missed this one - search more events here

Book your ticket today


Terms & Conditions

Please note that events can occasionally be cancelled at short notice or their times or dates may alter; we therefore recommend that you check with the shop before travelling.

env: aptum
branch: