Events

The inaugural Feminist Book Society: Caroline O'Donoghue, Ayisha Malik and Laura Bates

Wednesday 20th June 2018
19:00 at Waterstones, London - Tottenham Court Road

The Feminist Book Society Manifesto
Feminist. Bookish. Curious. Inclusive. Challenging. Kind.

Welcome to a brand new feminist book club with a difference. Join us once a month to see your favourite feminist authors in a panel discussion on themes we’re all passionate about, get involved with our Author Q&A, then stick around for a drink and a chat.

For our first event we'll be joined by three phenomenal writers:

Caroline O'Donoghue, whose clever and assured debut novel Promising Young Women is out on Virago, for fans of Nancy Mitford and Jan MacInerney.

Ayisha Malik, author of Sofia Khan Is Not Obliged and The Other Half of Happiness (described as ‘the Muslim Bridget Jones’), and recently shortlisted for Asian Woman of Achievement 2018.

Pioneering feminist, activist and bestselling author Laura Bates, whose recent book Mysogynation uncovers the sexism that exists in our relationships, our workplaces, our media, in our homes and on our streets.

Join us to celebrate feminist authors of fiction and non-fiction, from escapist beach reads to Big Ideas. We’ll be inspired by themes and elements of the books our panelist authors bring, plus active audience involvement. This is about coming together, sharing ideas, having fun, meeting new people and championing the fight for equality through everything we’re thinking, reading and writing.

(Oh, and there will be cocktails.)

Tickets are £5 - make sure to book ahead to avoid disappointment
London - Tottenham Court Road Waterstones, London - Tottenham Court Road
Wednesday 20th June 2018
19:00

Sorry you've missed this one - search more events here

Book your ticket today


Terms & Conditions

Please note that events can occasionally be cancelled at short notice or their times or dates may alter; we therefore recommend that you check with the shop before travelling.
If you are unable to attend an event we can often reserve signed copies. Please contact the host shop for details. Reserved copies cannot be guaranteed and may not always carry dedications.
All signings (unless otherwise stated) operate on a first come first served basis, so early arrival is often recommended.