Find your perfect holiday reading

Events

Laura Jane Williams and Beth O'Leary in conversation

Thursday 29th August 18:30 at Birmingham

Two of contemporary fiction's must-read writers, Laura Jane Williams, author of Our Stop, and Beth O'Leary, author of The Flatshare, join us for a discussion of their feel-good new work.

Laura Jane Williams is a former dating guru for Grazia and current columnist for Red magazine. She is the author of two non-fiction books, which she wrote before her first novel was published this year. 

Our Stop is a milennial love story which is both heart-warming and relatable. Dubbed as the perfect fiction read for fans of Elizabeth Day and Dolly Alderton, this invigorating chase follows the antics of Nadia and Daniel, as they each search for the true love they crave. They both take the 7.30 train to work each morning (unless Nadia oversleeps, of course), barely realising or noting the coincidence, until Daniel writes an ad which is printed in the love column of the daily newspaper, beginning a not-quite-romance of near-misses, tingling suspense and hope.

'The love story you need in your suitcase this summer.'- Red

Beth O'Leary is a writer from the south of England, who formerly worked in children's publishing.

The Flat Share is a riveting, funny look at the lives of Tiffy Moore and Leon Twomey; strangers conjoined by the fact Tiffy needs a cheap flat, and Leon works nights, and needs extra cash. While Tiffy occupies Leon's one-bed flat while he's at work, obsessive boyfriends, demanding clients and the small fact that they haven't actually met yet pose problem after problem after problem.

'Deliciously funny and uplifting.'- Lucy Diamond
Birmingham Waterstones, Birmingham
Thursday 29th August 18:30
£3.00

Book your ticket today


Terms & Conditions

Please note that events can occasionally be cancelled at short notice or their times or dates may alter; we therefore recommend that you check with the shop before travelling.
If you are unable to attend an event we can often reserve signed copies. Please contact the host shop for details. Reserved copies cannot be guaranteed and may not always carry dedications.
All signings (unless otherwise stated) operate on a first come first served basis, so early arrival is often recommended.