Events

Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé in conversation with Cynthia Murphy

Thursday 14th March 2024
18:30 at Waterstones, Manchester - Deansgate

Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé in conversation with Cynthia Murphy

Join award-winning author Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé as she chats to Cynthia Murphy (Win Lose Kill Die, Signed Sealed Dead) about her new book, Where Sleeping Girls Lie, a haunting and compulsive contemporary mystery of secrets, lies and revenge tapping into the TikTok Dark Academia aesthetic.
 
“Mean Girls with murder”, it’s perfect for fans of Netflix’s Wednesday and Holly Jackson’s A Good Girl’s Guide to Murder. Like her first novel Ace of Spades, Where Sleeping Girls Lie has Faridah’s amazing brand of twists-you-won’t-see-coming, gripping writing, queer characters (including a sapphic romance), and blistering social commentary. Faridah navigates the delicate balance of addressing dark themes like sexual violence and rape culture while crafting an engaging, positive, and inspiring narrative, reflecting the unique role of YA literature in responsibly exploring sensitive subjects. Where Sleeping Girls Lie is a gripping story that will foster hope and resilience in readers, guiding them through darkness with a narrative that is as informative as it is captivating. 
From Shakespeare to Squid Games, Get Out to Gossip Girl, Cynthia will chat to Faridah about what inspires her storylines, and the characters and themes within her novels, as well as her journey to becoming an author. She’ll also ask her how it feels to be an official 2024 World Book Day author with The Doomsday Date, having been inspired to become a reader herself when she received her free World Book Day book as a child!
 
For those booking the book & ticket option, you will receive the Waterstones exclusive edition of Where Sleeping Girls Lie and a tote bag with exclusive Where Sleeping Girls Lie merchandise.
 
 
About Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé:
Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé is the instant New York Times, international bestselling and award-winning author of Ace of Spades. She is an avid tea drinker, a collector of strange mugs and a graduate from a Scottish university where she studied English Literature.
 
Faridah is currently pursuing an MA in Shakespeare Studies from King’s College, London. When she isn't spinning dark tales, Faridah can be found examining the deeper meanings in Disney Channel original movies.
In 2024 Faridah is an official World Book Day author with The Doomsday Date publishing in time for the Day on Thursday 7th March. In June 2024, Faridah will partner with YA Book Prize-winner, Adiba Jaigirdar for the joyous romcom Four Eids and a Funeral.
Find out more at: Faridah Àbíké-Íyímídé (faridahabikeiyimide.com); @faridahlikestea
 
About Cynthia Murphy:
Cynthia Murphy is a YA writer from the North-West of England who is inspired by her longstanding love affair with all things scary, reading Point Horrors at primary school before graduating to Stephen King in her teens. Horror movies would be her specialist subject at a pub quiz and as an art history graduate, she has a love for all things pretty, old and very often dead. She is the author of books including The Midnight Game and TikTok sensation Win Lose Kill Die. Her latest book, Signed Sealed Dead, is out now.
Manchester - Deansgate Waterstones, Manchester - Deansgate
Thursday 14th March 2024
18:30

Sorry you've missed this one - search more events here

Book your ticket today


Terms & Conditions

Please note that events can occasionally be cancelled at short notice or their times or dates may alter; we therefore recommend that you check with the shop before travelling.
If you are unable to attend an event we can often reserve signed copies. Please contact the host shop for details. Reserved copies cannot be guaranteed and may not always carry dedications.
All signings (unless otherwise stated) operate on a first come first served basis, so early arrival is often recommended.

env: aptum
branch: