Ts&Cs apply

Events

An Evening with Dan Jones

Monday 16th October 2023
18:00 at Waterstones, Birmingham

An Evening with Dan Jones

Join us for a fantastic evening with Sunday Times bestselling author/historian Dan Jones, returning with ‘Wolves of Winter’, the epic follow-up to ‘Essex Dogs’, following the fortunes of ten ordinary soldiers in the early years of the Hundred years’ War. About money, merchants, and the medieval ‘deep state’, this is a must-read for fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 
 
About the Book
 
For the dogs, the war has only just begun. 
 
Caught up in the siege of Calais, in the midst of a brutal eleven-month blockade of a small port on the French coast, they are no longer blindly walking into the unknown. But the men still have more questions than answers about what faces them – and why. 
 
What are they really fighting for? And why does the king care so much about taking such a small French town? The Dogs aren’t paid to ask questions but in their work, they have the means to make people talk. 
 
Soon, their journey will reveal who really wants this war to last for a hundred years. And as the battles rages, they hear the first, faint, chesty rattle of a natural disaster that is sweeping towards and the Dogs and their world… 
 
About the Author
 
Dan Jones is a historian, broadcaster and award-winning journalist. His books, including ‘The Templars’, ‘Crusaders’ and, with Marina Amaral, ‘The Colour of Time’ and ‘The World Aflame’, have sold more than one million copies worldwide. He has written and hosted dozens of TV shows including the acclaimed Netflix/Channel 5 series, Secrets of Great British Castles. His writing has appeared in the Evening Standard, Sunday Times, Daily Telegraph, Wall Street Journal, GQ, and the Spectator.
 
Praise for Essex Dogs
 
“Joyous – rolling action, fast-paced, a book that draw you in page by page. The way Dan Jones writes enemies reminds me of Cornwell at his best, turning up tension click by click.” - Conn Iggulden 
 
“With its unflinching emphasis on the blood and guts of 14th-century battle, Jones's debut is not for the squeamish, but it’s an enthralling, character-filled read.” - The Sunday Times
 
“Visceral and powerful, the reality of medieval warfare leaping from every page, it’d gripping storytelling at its best.. With a cast of unforgettable characters, this is historian Dan Jones's first foray into fiction and its terrific.” - Choice Magazine 
Birmingham Waterstones, Birmingham
Monday 16th October 2023
18:00

Sorry you've missed this one - search more events here

Book your ticket today


Terms & Conditions

Please note that events can occasionally be cancelled at short notice or their times or dates may alter; we therefore recommend that you check with the shop before travelling.
If you are unable to attend an event we can often reserve signed copies. Please contact the host shop for details. Reserved copies cannot be guaranteed and may not always carry dedications.
All signings (unless otherwise stated) operate on a first come first served basis, so early arrival is often recommended.

env: aptum
branch: