Events

An evening with Polly Crosby and Zoe Somerville

Wednesday 23rd March 2022
19:00 at Waterstones, Norwich - Castle Street

An evening with Polly Crosby and Zoe Somerville

Zoe Somerville and Polly Crosby will be in conversation discussing their new books, both inspired by the East Anglian region, and both with mysteries at their heart.

Part ghost story, part novel of suspense The Marsh House is the haunting second novel from the author of The Night of the Flood where two women, separated by decades, are drawn together by one, mysterious house on the North Norfolk coast.

'Part ghost story, part thriller, I loved it' Louise Hare, author of This Lovely City

December, 1962. Desperate to create a happy Christmas for her young daughter, Franny, after a disastrous year, Malorie rents a remote house on the Norfolk coast. But once there, the strained silence between them feels louder than ever. As Malorie digs for decorations in the attic, she comes across the notebooks of the teenaged Rosemary, who lived in the house thirty years before. Trapped inside by a blizzard, and with long days and nights ahead of her, Malorie begins to read. Though she knows she needs to focus on the present, she finds herself inexorably drawn into the past...

July, 1931. Rosemary lives in the Marsh House with her austere father, surrounded by unspoken truths and rumours. So when the glamorous Lafferty family moves to the village, she succumbs easily to their charm. Dazzled by the beautiful Hilda and her dashing brother, Franklin, Rosemary fails to see the danger that lurks beneath their bright facades...

As Malorie reads Rosemary's diary, past and present begin to merge in this moving story of mothers and daughters, family obligation and deeply buried secrets.

A darkly beautiful dual-timeline novel with a captivating mystery, for fans of Diane Setterfield, Kate Morton, Kate Mosse and Kiran Millwood Hargrave

'Like a surreal cabinet of curiosities - haunting, eerie, evocative' Bridget Collins, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Binding

'This moving tale is set in a mesmerising world' Heat

'Polly Crosby whips up a lush, mythical world in this dream-like novel . . . A book worm's treat!' Eve Chase, Sunday Times bestselling author of The Glass House

When Tartelin Brown accepts a job with the reclusive Marianne Stourbridge, she finds herself on a wild island with a mysterious history.

Tartelin is tasked with hunting butterflies for Marianne's research. But she quickly uncovers something far more intriguing than the curious creatures that inhabit the landscape.

Because the island and Marianne share a remarkable history, and what happened all those years ago has left its scars, and some terrible secrets.

As Tartelin pieces together Marianne's connection to the island, she must confront her own reasons for being there. Can the two women finally face up to the painful memories that bind them so tightly to the past?

Atmospheric and deeply emotional, The Unravelling is the captivating novel from the author of The Illustrated Child.

***Early reader reviews***

'I absolutely loved The Unravelling, and there is something really special about Crosby's beautiful and immersive storytelling'

'A beautiful haunting and uniquely captivating book'

'If you enjoyed The Lost Apothecary or The Mermaid of Black Conch, then this is definitely for you'

'A gorgeously written story, atmospheric and hauntingly beautiful. Captivating and totally immersive. It is one for those that like delving into mysteries of the past, to discover more about a family and to discover the secrets'

Norwich - Castle Street Waterstones, Norwich - Castle Street
Wednesday 23rd March 2022
19:00

Sorry you've missed this one - search more events here

Book your ticket today


Terms & Conditions

Please note that events can occasionally be cancelled at short notice or their times or dates may alter; we therefore recommend that you check with the shop before travelling.
If you are unable to attend an event we can often reserve signed copies. Please contact the host shop for details. Reserved copies cannot be guaranteed and may not always carry dedications.
All signings (unless otherwise stated) operate on a first come first served basis, so early arrival is often recommended.

env: aptum
branch: