The Pushkin House Russian Book Prize

Sort by:

Applied filters

The Pushkin House Russian Book Prize

18 items

Applied filters

The Pushkin House Russian Book Prize

Sort

Choose filters

Pushkin House Russian Book Prize 2018 Winner:
The War Within by Alexis Peri



£21.95
 

 

It’s our pleasure to announce Alexis Peri’s unflinching, elucidating new history of the Siege of Leningrad, The War Within, as the winner of the Pushkin House Russian Book Prize 2018.

 

'The War Within is a remarkable book. To have unearthed such searing, and hitherto unpublished, testimonies of the agony of the Leningrad siege is achievement enough… The fact that these heart-breaking diaries were initially encouraged by the authorities, and then brushed under the carpet after the war… only makes them more poignant. The book offers a genuinely new way of looking at, and understanding, a pivotal moment of Russian modern history.'

The Rt. Hon. Sir Nick Clegg - Chair of Judges

 

Based on an extraordinary, previously unseen archive of 125 diaries, The War Within chronicles the reality of life for ordinary people during the 872 days of the German blockade of Leningrad like never before. Peri brings to life a tragic, intimate story of one of the most notorious and periods of the Second World War through the vividly told experiences of those who witnessed it first-hand.

Commended as best book in translation: Other Russias by Victoria Lomasko



£16.99
 

 

 

Additionally, the judges also singled out Other Russias, written by Victoria Lomasko and translated by Thomas Campbell, as the best book in translation for a special subsidiary award. Combining words and sketches, it’s an empathetic, honest, funny, and revelatory portrait of a side of contemporary Russia that is hardly ever seen.

The Shortlist

£25.00
Hardback
In stock online
Usually despatched within 24 hours
Described as ‘highly urgent’ by the Evening Standard, Rodric Braithwaite’s honed examination of nuclear conflict post WWII could scarcely be more apposite. Impeccably researched, considering attitudes and decisions on either side of the Iron Curtain and beyond, Braithwaite explores important lessons in how politicians can and should behave and act in the presence of a weapon with an unrivalled capacity for destruction.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£16.99
Paperback
In stock online
Usually despatched within 24 hours

For eight years, graphic artist Victoria Lomasko travelled across Russia, talking to ordinary Russians and drawing their stories; Other Russias is the startling result. Praised by Joe Sacco as ‘a street-level view of the great Russian people [that] masterfully intertwines quiet desperation with open defiance’ Other Russias is an unflinching record of an undiminished people and a nation little-seen by the outside world.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£21.95
Hardback
In stock online
Usually despatched within 24 hours

An extraordinary collection of new-found personal testimony, The War Within offers never-before-seen detail about what life was really like for those living through the siege of Leningrad. Drawing on 125 unpublished diaries, historian Alexis Petri uncovers a tragic, deeply personal story of unimaginable suffering. ‘Merciless in their honesty, relentless in their horror’ writes the Times, these voices ‘speak for themselves’ and demand, finally, to be heard.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£16.99
Hardback
In stock online
Usually despatched within 24 hours

Oliver Rolin’s chance discovery of an album of letters and drawings led him on the trail of Alexey Wangenheim - a celebrated meteorologist once hailed a hero who ended his days in a frozen gulag. Praised by the Guardian as ‘an all too familiar, yet heartbreaking, story’ Rolin’s book is a moving restoration of ordinary lives swept up in political upheaval and shattered by political extremism.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£30.00
Hardback
In stock online
Usually despatched within 24 hours

A century after the Russian Revolution, Yuri Sleskine tells the story of The House of Government, an enormous apartment block where top Communist officials lived before their eviction. Drawing on letters, diaries, and interviews, and featuring hundreds of rare photographs, it weaves together biography, literary criticism, architectural history in the tradition of Tolstoy and Grossman. The result is an unforgettable human saga of a building that, like the Soviet Union itself, became a haunted house, forever disturbed by the ghosts of the disappeared.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£25.00
Hardback
In stock online
Usually despatched within 24 hours

Drawing on detailed research, in-depth interviews and documents from the Russian archives, this stands as the definitive biography of one of the most important leaders of the twentieth century by the Pulitzer Prize-winning author of Khrushchev: The Man and his Era. From the decisions of his six years in office to his remarkable marriage, this is a fascinating portrait of a complex, controversial figure whose legacy still resonates today.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout

Previous Prize Winners

The Russian Canvas
Added to basket
Memories - From Moscow to the Black Sea
Added to basket
Towards the Flame
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Last Empire
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Red Fortress
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Former People
Added to basket
£11.99
Paperback