We regret that due to the technical limitations of our site, we are unable to offer eBooks or Audio Downloads to customers outside of the UK.

For further details please read our eBooks help.

BOOKS OF THE MONTH

.

Every month we pick three show-stopping, day-eating, unputdownable books which we recommend to you with all of our bookselling muster. We guarantee, pick up one of these books, start reading and you'll never know what hit you.


Fiction book of the month

Nora Webster
Click & Collect
Colm Toibin
£5.99 Paperback

Nora Webster by Colm Toibin

"Toibin has established himself in recent years as one of the great English language novelists. Brooklyn and The Testament of Mary have already established themselves as classics which will be read for years to come. With the publication of Nora Webster, Toibin has made another significant addition to an already impressive body of work. 

Nora Webster is a mother trapped in a world of provincial mundanity, looking after her four children following the death of her husband. Toibin's depiction of grief is so finely wrought, so truthful, that reader almost forgets this is fiction, becoming totally immersed in the troubled mind of the novel's central character."

Chris White - Fiction Buyer


Non-Fiction book of the month

An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth by Chris Hadfield

"Prepare for the worst. Care what others think. Sweat the small stuff. These mottos underpin the life experiences of Commander Chris Hadfield, the astronaut who shot to fame (and outer space) in 2013 when he filmed himself singing David Bowie's Space Oddity on location – the International Space Station.

This book, written on his return to Earth, is a remarkable testament to what it takes to become an astronaut: determination, academic prowess and meticulous organisation (also basic surgical and photography skills, but who's counting?).

A brilliant read that will change the way you view your life on Earth forever."

Susanne Ard - Non-Fiction Buyer


Children's book of the month

Arsenic for Tea
Click & Collect
Robin Stevens
£5.99 Paperback

Arsenic for Tea by Robin Stevens

Schoolgirl detectives Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong are at Daisy's home, Fallingford, for the holidays. Daisy's glamorous mother is throwing a tea party for Daisy's birthday, and the whole family is invited, from eccentric Aunt Saskia to dashing Uncle Felix. But it soon becomes clear that this party isn't really about Daisy at all. Naturally, Daisy is furious. Then one of their party falls seriously, mysteriously ill - and everything points to poison...

"Another fantastic mystery featuring Daisy Wells and Hazel Wong. Quick witted, with a fast pace and great plot. This is a classic whodunnit series in the making and is also perfect for fans of Enid Blyton's famous stories."

Florentyna Martyn - Children's Buyer

​Read More

On The Waterstones blog

Fiction Book of the Month: Nora Webster

Fiction Book of the Month: Nora Webster

Our February Fiction Book of the Month is Colm Tóibín's heartbreaking Irish novel, Nora Webster, which was shortlisted for the 2014 Costa Novel Award. Read an extract from the first chapter below.

Non-fiction Book of the Month: An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth

Non-fiction Book of the Month: An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth

Our February Non-fiction Book of the Month is Colonel Chris Hadfield's epic An Astronaut's Guide to Life on Earth. Under the cut we've got a fifteen-minute interview with the man himself and an extract from his experiences in zero gravity.

Children's Book of the Month: Arsenic For Tea

Children's Book of the Month: Arsenic For Tea

Our February Children's Book of the Month is the intriguing Arsenic For Tea. Author Robin Stevens reveals her obsession with crime novels and introduces her Wells and Wong mysteries.