The Girl on the Train: Film tie-in (Paperback) Gone Girl (Paperback) Disclaimer (Paperback) Black-Eyed Susans (Paperback) I Saw A Man (Paperback) Tony and Susan: Now the major motion picture Nocturnal Animals (Paperback) Luckiest Girl Alive (Paperback) After the Crash (Paperback) Before I Go To Sleep (Paperback) Sharp Objects (Paperback)

The Thrill is All Mine

Paula Hawkins’ The Girl on the Train is just one of the latest in a long and sometimes nerve-shredding line of psychological literary thrillers. Although novels like Gillian Flynn’s blockbusting Gone Girl have certainly rekindled the fire, the roots of that tale may lie in the brief but bizarre disappearance of the supreme queen of suspense herself, Agatha Christie, who in 1926 famously vanished after her charismatic (but philandering) husband Archie threatened to leave her for another woman.

Christie returned, but not before the eerie parallels with Flynn’s plot played out – a husband under suspicion, an entire nation gripped for days by the unfolding drama. As Christie proved with her much-later but exceptional Endless Night, the power to shock was not unknown to her.

Here then are our own twisted fictional favourites, where nothing is as it seems and only the final, breathless page will set you free. From Rebecca’s Daphne du Maurier through to Red Dragon’s Thomas Harris, these are the books that will guarantee you doubting all you know and everyone you've met...

£7.99
Paperback
We can order this from the publisher
Usually dispatched within 10 working days
Rachel catches the same commuter train every morning. She knows it will wait at the same signal each time, overlooking a row of back gardens. A harmless game - the game of Jess and Jason and their perfect lives - grows each day in her mind as she peers intently at the same, unknown house. Until one day when, for an instant, she witnesses something terrible, something that will change everything...
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
The pulsating novel that defined the thriller genre for the rest of the decade, Gone Girl is a stunning union of clockwork plotting and credible, intriguing characterisation that spawned a legion of imitators. Artfully employing misdirection, unreliable narrators and jaw-dropping twists, Flynn’s third novel is a bravura white-knuckle ride into the heart of millennial darkness.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£7.99
Paperback
5+ in stock
Available
When an intriguing novel appears on Catherine's bedside table, she curls up and begins to read. But as she turns the pages she is horrified to realize she is a key character, a main player.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£7.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
Seventeen-year-old Tessa, dubbed a 'Black-Eyed Susan' by the media, became famous for being the only victim to survive the vicious attack of a serial killer. Her testimony helped to put a dangerous criminal behind bars - or so she thought.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
"Everything is pivotal, held in place by the powerful centripetal force of the tight, stylish thriller" - The Sunday Times
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
We can order this from the publisher
Usually dispatched within 10 working days
Ian McEwan, Sarah Waters, MJ Hyland, Scott Turow, Max Porter, Donna Leon and Rupert Thomson all know you will love this dazzling novel of love and bloody revenge...
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
Now a New York Times bestseller, and optioned for film by Reese Witherspoon and her production partner Bruna Papandrea - in conjunction with Lionsgate films. Her perfect life is a perfect lie... Ani FaNelli is the woman who has it all: the glamorous job, the designer wardrobe, the handsome and rich fiance. But behind her sharp edges and meticulously crafted facade lies the darkest of pasts...
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
On the night of 22 December 1980, a plane crashes on the Franco-Swiss border and is engulfed in flames. 168 out of 169 passengers are killed instantly. The miraculous sole survivor is a three-month-old baby girl. Two families, one rich, the other poor, step forward to claim her, sparking an investigation that will last for almost two decades...
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
Memories define us. So what if you lost yours every time you went to sleep? Your name, your identity, your past, even the people you love - all forgotten overnight. And the one person you trust may only be telling you half the story. Welcome to Christine's life.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
Some scars never heal . . . An addictive thriller from the author of the mega bestseller GONE GIRL.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
5+ in stock
Available
FROM THE SUNDAY TIMES BESTSELLING AUTHOR OF SNAP 'Extraordinarily powerful and evocative .
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£7.99
Paperback
In stock
Available
Gone Girl meets Mean Girls in this sharp and clever thriller from the publishers of The Never List Hollywood It Girl Janie Jenkins has it all.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
Perfect for readers of Gone Girl and The Girl on the Train and fans of TV dramas like The Missing, lose yourself in I Let You Go, the tense, twisty, emotionally compelling psychological thriller that everyone is talking about.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£7.99
Paperback
Out of stock
Agatha Christie's disturbing 1960s mystery thriller, reissued with a striking new cover designed to appeal to the latest generation of Agatha Christie fans and book lovers.

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
10+ in stock
Available
A chance locomotive encounter sets in motion a diabolical transaction in one of Highsmith’s most perfectly plotted and morally disturbing psychological thrillers.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
We can order this from the publisher
Usually dispatched within 10 working days
Eva never really wanted to be a mother; certainly not the mother of the unlovable boy who murdered seven of his fellow high school students, a cafeteria worker and a teacher who tried to befriend him. Now, two years later, it is time for her to come to terms with marriage, career, family, parenthood and Kevin's horrific rampage.
  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout
£8.99
Paperback
Out of stock
No onlooker would guess that prim Vera Hillyard and her beautiful, adored younger sister, Eden, were locked in a dark and bitter combat over one of those secrets. England in the fifties was not kind to women who erred, so they had to use every means necessary to keep the truth hidden behind closed doors - even murder.

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
View basket Checkout