Zero (Hardback)
  • Zero (Hardback)
zoom

Zero (Hardback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£16.99
Hardback 352 Pages / Published: 12/07/2018
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
A GUARDIAN THRILLER OF THE MONTH' Exposes the dark underbelly of social media giants' societal control via the manipulation of data. Elsberg is nothing if not prescient; this is all pre-Cambridge Analytica.' Barry Forshaw, Guardian************************The gripping bestselling global thriller for fans of Dave Eggers' THE CIRCLE and Channel Four's BLACK MIRROR.************************Welcome to the Freemee lifestyle app-They can give you confidence, power, fame and all the friends in the world. But what will they take in return? When a teenager is shot dead after chasing a criminal in the street, investigating journalist Cynthia Bonsant is led to the popular social media platform Freemee, a competitor to Facebook whose lifestyle app claims to give you everything you need to succeed in life.But there is someone who warns against its evils- Zero, the world?s most-wanted activist, known for exposing the toxic truths behind social media giants and their pursuit of total control. As Cynthia gets closer to unravelling the evil mastermind behind the Freemee site, she herself becomes a target. But in this world of hidden cameras, data glasses and hyper-smart phones there is nowhere to hide . . .

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780857525550
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 605 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 32 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"A GUARDIAN BOOK OF THE MONTH: [Exposes] the dark underbelly of social media giants' societal control via the manipulation of data. Elsberg is nothing if not prescient." -- Barry Forshaw * Guardian *
"A topical thriller set in the world of online activists pitted against corrupt IT companies who collect and analyse personal data." * Der Spiegel *
"A highly topical nightmarish scenario, which Elsberg says became a reality long ago." * Hit radio rt1 *
"A gripping thriller and a visionary story on the subject of 'Big Data'" * rbb Kulturradio *
"With this thriller Elsberg qualifies as the spokesman for perhaps the most important debate in society today." * Bild *

You may also be interested in...

Nomad
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Berta Isla
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
The Moscow Sleepers
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Ultimatum
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Black Camp 21
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
London Rules
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Crisis
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Nightfall Berlin
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Column of Fire
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Spy Who Came in from the Cold
Added to basket
The Thirty-Nine Steps
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Forever and a Day
Added to basket
£18.99   £14.99
Hardback
A Legacy of Spies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Romanov Ransom
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Munich
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Tinker Tailor Soldier Spy
Added to basket

Reviews

View all
katherine.reads.books

“A modern story of human nature.”

A modern story of human nature.

Zero is a story of a journalist, Cynthia, who is a single mother to a young adult, Violet. Cynthia is ignorant of current social media and technological influence. However, Violet is... More

Hardback edition
3rd August 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

“4/5”

Very interesting concept considering the data flaws in the current social media giants. As a fan of Black Mirror the plot immediately drew me in, great read!

Hardback edition
23rd July 2018
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.