You Had Me at Hola: A Novel (Paperback)
  • You Had Me at Hola: A Novel (Paperback)
zoom

You Had Me at Hola: A Novel (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 03/09/2020
  • Temporarily unavailable

Currently unavailable to order

Email me when available

Stay one step ahead and let us notify you when this item is next available to order

Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

National Bestseller

"I could not get enough of Jasmine and Ashton! I adored Jasmine--her ambition, her confidence, her attacks of self-doubt, and especially her hilarious, snarky, and loving cousins. She and Ashton have such a steamy, swoony, love story that I didn't want the book to end!"--Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author

RITA ® Award Winning author Alexis Daria brings readers an unforgettable, hilarious rom-com set in the drama-filled world of telenovelas-perfect for fans of Jane the Virgin and The Kiss Quotient. You Had Me at Hola is a New York Times Editor's Choice Pick, an O Magazine Best Romance Pick and on many more Best Of lists!

Leading Ladies do not end up on tabloid covers.

After a messy public breakup, soap opera darling Jasmine Lin Rodriguez finds her face splashed across the tabloids. When she returns to her hometown of New York City to film the starring role in a bilingual romantic comedy for the number one streaming service in the country, Jasmine figures her new "Leading Lady Plan" should be easy enough to follow-until a casting shake-up pairs her with telenovela hunk Ashton Suarez.

Leading Ladies don't need a man to be happy.

After his last telenovela character was killed off, Ashton is worried his career is dead as well. Joining this new cast as a last-minute addition will give him the chance to show off his acting chops to American audiences and ping the radar of Hollywood casting agents. To make it work, he'll need to generate smoking-hot on-screen chemistry with Jasmine. Easier said than done, especially when a disastrous first impression smothers the embers of whatever sexual heat they might have had.

Leading Ladies do not rebound with their new costars.

With their careers on the line, Jasmine and Ashton agree to rehearse in private. But rehearsal leads to kissing, and kissing leads to a behind-the-scenes romance worthy of a soap opera. While their on-screen performance improves, the media spotlight on Jasmine soon threatens to destroy her new image and expose Ashton's most closely guarded secret.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062959928
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 277 g
Dimensions: 203 x 135 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"The buildup here is exquisite. Jasmine and Ashton slowly grow closer until the reader is aching for them to just go for it already. A solid 7.5 on the angst scale, and an absolutely pitch-perfect summer escape." -- New York Times Book Review
"I could not get enough of Jasmine and Ashton! I adored Jasmine -- her ambition, her confidence, her attacks of self doubt, and especially her hilarious, snarky, and loving cousins. She and Ashton have such a steamy, swoony, love story that I didn't want the book to end!" -- Jasmine Guillory, New York Times bestselling author
"I was completely smitten with Daria's "Primas of Power...You Had Me at Hola reject[s] the idea that women can only exist as each other's competition, and propose that, on the contrary, a happy ending is always sweeter if you have your friends to celebrate with; that's the kind of feminism I want in all my romance." -- Washington Post
"Hola is a triumph of Latinx joy and feminist agency. It thoughtfully explores gender roles and diversity in entertainment and the greater Latinx community, and challenges the Hollywood status quo." -- NPR.org
"Soapy, smart and so sexy...with vibrant characters and electric chemistry comparable to the telenovelas that inspired it, you'll be thrilled You Had Me At Hola doesn't come with commercials!" -- Sarah MacLean, New York Times bestselling author
"There's a defiant joy in these pages: a proud proclamation of not only finding, but celebrating your voice and honoring the rare spaces that welcome that. You Had Me at Hola is just such a space - a vibrant, bold jolt of romantic electricity." -- Entertainment Weekly
"Jasmine and Ashton are sure to be your favorite new literary couple, thanks to their sizzling chemistry and will-they-or-won't-they tension in this swoonworthy rom-com we're totally expecting Netflix to bring to our screens in the near future." -- E! Online
"Sexy, compelling, and complex-a terrific romance from a rising star of the genre." -- Kirkus Reviews (starred review)
"Daria delivers a sexy showbiz love affair in this steamy rom-com... Daria breathes effortless life into a cast of messy, loving, talented, and downright hilarious characters readers will adore. A sense of Latinx culture and pride exudes from every page, elevating an already entertaining story. Romance fans won't want to miss this." -- Publishers Weekly
"RITA Award-winning Daria has created extremely smart and appealing characters, and the scenes of their shooting the show are delicious fun. Fans of Susan Elizabeth Philips will enjoy the humor and chemistry Daria whips up." -- Booklist
"Between exploring classic rom-com tropes and themes on representation in the Latinx community, Daria's book makes for that perfect summer romance." -- The Hollywood Reporter
"You Had Me at Hola is a multi-layered sexy, poignant, and fun story set against the glamorous and dramatic world of telenovelas. Filled with lovable characters, relatable family dynamics and the nuances of identity, Alexis Daria's novel is full of heart. Romance readers will fall head over heels!" -- Chanel Cleeton, New York Times bestselling author
"Clever, heartfelt, and five fire-emojis sexy, You Had Me at Hola is a must-read! Daria excels at the craft of writing larger-than-life characters with believable fears and relatable desires; the result is a captivating romance that readers won't soon forget." -- Mia Sosa, USA Today bestselling author
"From the beginning to "El Fin", Daria's Hola pulls readers into a vibrant world where our beloved Latinx culture thrives and charming, charismatic characters woo you...once again she's penned a show-stopper novel that leaves you breathless and craving more." -- Priscilla Oliveras, USA Today Bestselling Author
"You Had Me at Hola is a gorgeous escape, a book you think "just one more chapter" to yourself and then before you know it, you've devoured the entire thing! Hot, joyful, and real, Hola is packed with unforgettable leads, celebrity fun, and swoons upon swoons (upon swoons!!)" -- USA Today Bestselling Author Sierra Simone
"Laugh out loud funny and heart-meltingly genuine, You Had Me at Hola delivers a couple you can't help but root for and a happily ever after to believe in." -- Tracey Livesay, award-winning author
"Like a delicious slow burn, this love story happens in the best way--despacito!" -- Zoraida Cordova, award-winning author of Labyrinth Lost
"Alexis writes our people like I've always wanted to see them in romance. You Had Me at Hola is full of joyful, swoony moments that will have you rooting for Jasmine and Ashton's HEA." -- Adriana Herrera, award-winning author of American Love Story
"I couldn't help but fall in love with this book." -- Natalia Sylvester, author of Everyone Knows You Go Home and Running
"A sharp, sexy delight, You Had Me at Hola gives the telenovela premise-- and Latinx leads--all the nuance and heart they deserve." -- Nina Moreno, author of Don't Date Rosa Santos
"A perfect escapist read about real-world falling in love." -- Angelina M. Lopez, author of Lush Money
"A funny, swoony page-turner topped with all the drama of a telenovela. Rom-com at its finest!" -- Valerie Tejeda, author and journalist
"This is a perfect end-of-summer love story." -- CNN.com

You may also be interested in...

Love & Misadventure
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Losing Hope
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Did I Mention I Love You?
Added to basket
The Bridges Of Madison County
Added to basket
Giovanni's Room
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Love in the Time of Cholera
Added to basket
After Ever Happy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Captive Prince
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
After We Fell
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Birdsong
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Confess
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
No One's Girl
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Born In Shame
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Doctor Zhivago
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Rose and the Yew Tree
Added to basket

“Just Like the Telenovelas You Grew Up With”

I grew up watching telenovelas. In a Hispanic household, they were a huge staple of weeknights in my younger days, and gathering around the TV to partake in the entertainment was just the thing to do. I remember bits... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“The Drama!”

I LOVED Alexis Daria's Dance Off books when I read them a few years ago, so I got so excited when I saw she had a new romance coming out. You Had Me At Hola is about two Latinx actors making the transition from... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.