You Could Be So Pretty (Paperback)
  • You Could Be So Pretty (Paperback)
  • You Could Be So Pretty (Paperback)
zoom
You Could Be So Pretty (Paperback)

You Could Be So Pretty (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 400 Pages
Published: 28/09/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The author of The Yearbook returns with a blazing YA dystopia that melds The Handmaid's Tale to Uglies, as Belle and Joni must choose whether to become Pretty or Objectionable.

Uglies meets The Handmaid's Tale for the new YA generation, from bestselling queen of YA Holly Bourne.

Beauty comes at a price. And girls must pay.

In Belle and Joni's world there are two options for girls:

One, follow the rules of the Doctrine like Belle: apply your Mask, work hard to be crowned at the Ceremony, be a Pretty.

Or two, fight the rules like Joni: leave your face bare, work hard to escape to the Education, be an Objectionable.

But maybe there is a third option... If Belle and Joni work together, can they destroy the rules and set themselves free?

Publisher: Usborne Publishing Ltd
ISBN: 9781474966832
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 335 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

If you loved the Barbie movie, you'll adore this. - The Sun

The Handmaid's Tale for the Insta generation. - The Times, Book of the Week

A furious, fast-paced feminist commentary on a "post-equality" world, ideal for fans of Louise O'Neill and Laura Bates. - The Guardian

Razor-sharp and compelling, [You Could Be So Pretty] is essential reading for every teenage girl. - The Observer

YA author Bourne's much-anticipated dystopian read is a searing exploration of beauty and its meaning for women and girls. Don't miss it. - Stylist

In a style reminiscent of Orwell's 1984, this brilliant, timely, scary novel explores The Doctrine - the pressure on young girls to conform to high-maintenance beauty norms and the porn-fuelled patriarchy that supports it. Sound familiar? - Daily Mail

Gripping and smart - Woman's Own

[A] smart, timely story. - The Times, Book of the Week

Such a wild, gripping, smart, delicious read! I love it with all my readerly heart! - Jennifer Niven, author of All the Bright Places

Holly Bourne is a vital feminist voice of our generation - a voice resolved to break the dangerous silences around sexism. Her writing peels the varnish off patriarchy, celebrates the power of female solidarity and friendship, and bears witness to both the pain and the joy of being a woman in the modern world. - Samantha Shannon, author of The Bone Season

Holly's novel is brilliant and frightening. If you know a teenage girl, pre-order this for her as the best gift she'll receive this year. - Sarah Crossan, author of One

I devoured this - so compelling and with such a powerful message. Bravo Holly Bourne! - Katherine Webber, co-author of Twin Crowns

You may also be interested in...

If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
One of Us is Back
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Where the Dark Stands Still
Added to basket
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Thieves' Gambit
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Stolen Heir
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“You Could Be so Free”

Honestly, this book has destroyed me in the best way possible. This immersive story dives into the world of prettiness and self worth for girls and hides behind a guise of “dystopia”.

The sad truth is: it is... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Living in a post-equality world?”

Have I put on weight? When did these wrinkles appear? Should I cover up my grey hairs or can I get away with leaving them as they are?
This book is about women and the demands that a beauty-obsessed culture places... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Thought provoking”

Enter a world of extremes where image is everything. Without the right “Look” a woman can become invisible but if she has it all she can look forward to becoming a man’s possession. There are some trigger warnings to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: