With the Fire on High (Paperback)
  • With the Fire on High (Paperback)
zoom

With the Fire on High (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 19/09/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

From the author of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize-shortlisted The Poet X comes another uplifting tale of youthful ambition and creative escape. Eschewing the verse of Acevedo’s Carnegie Medal winner for dynamic prose, With the Fire on High is an inspirational read from first page to last.

From the author of The Poet X comes a sumptuous prose novel, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' On the Come Up, Justin Reynolds' Opposite of Always and Nicola Yoon.

Ever since she got pregnant, seventeen-year-old Emoni's life has been about making the tough decisions - doing what has to be done for her young daughter and her grandmother. Keeping her head down at school, trying not to get caught up with new boy Malachi. The one place she can let everything go is in the kitchen, where she has magical hands - whipping up extraordinary food beloved by everyone. Emoni wants to be a chef more than anything, but she knows it's pointless to pursue the impossible. There are rules she has to play by. And yet, once she starts cooking, and gets that fire on high, she sees that her drive to feed will feed her soul and dreams too. And anything is possible. 

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471409004
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 292 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Though she is still a high-school student, Emoni has a two-year-old daughter, for whom she wants nothing but the best. When it comes to her own prospects, she is less focused - but then she's offered the chance to join a cooking class taught by a gifted chef, to develop her own subtle palate and powerful gift. A delicious, evocative story from this year's Carnegie winner.' - The Guardian 

You may also be interested in...

Heartstopper Volume Two
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Nick and Charlie
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
I Kissed Shara Wheeler
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Heartstopper Volume Three
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Solitaire
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume Four
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume One
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume One
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.99
Paperback
This Winter
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Radio Silence
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Loveless
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Agathas
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
I Was Born for This
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
All That's Left in the World
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
She Gets the Girl
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Lovely story”

Acevedo beautifully tells the story about Emoni, a Puerto-Rican who became pregnant when she was 14 years old. Now, in high school, she needs to decide what she wants from her future. As a young single mother, Emoni... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 28

“2.5 stars”

2.5 stars

I enjoyed this book but sadly didn't love it. With the fire on high is about Emoni, a teenage mother, student and wannabe chef. We follow her journey of finding her feet, challenging herself at her... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 27

“Loved it!”

I adored this book. I was honestly so stressed and I began to read this and it was so light and refreshing and got to me on a deep level.

I really felt so much for this story, it didn't even have to try hard and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.