With the Fire on High (Paperback)
  • With the Fire on High (Paperback)
zoom

With the Fire on High (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 19/09/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

From the author of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize-shortlisted The Poet X comes another uplifting tale of youthful ambition and creative escape. Eschewing the verse of Acevedo’s Carnegie Medal winner for dynamic prose, With the Fire on High is an inspirational read from first page to last.

From the author of The Poet X comes a sumptuous prose novel, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' On the Come Up, Justin Reynolds' Opposite of Always and Nicola Yoon.

Ever since she got pregnant, seventeen-year-old Emoni's life has been about making the tough decisions - doing what has to be done for her young daughter and her grandmother. Keeping her head down at school, trying not to get caught up with new boy Malachi. The one place she can let everything go is in the kitchen, where she has magical hands - whipping up extraordinary food beloved by everyone. Emoni wants to be a chef more than anything, but she knows it's pointless to pursue the impossible. There are rules she has to play by. And yet, once she starts cooking, and gets that fire on high, she sees that her drive to feed will feed her soul and dreams too. And anything is possible. 

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471409004
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 292 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Though she is still a high-school student, Emoni has a two-year-old daughter, for whom she wants nothing but the best. When it comes to her own prospects, she is less focused - but then she's offered the chance to join a cooking class taught by a gifted chef, to develop her own subtle palate and powerful gift. A delicious, evocative story from this year's Carnegie winner.' - The Guardian 

You may also be interested in...

Concrete Rose
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
First Day of My Life
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
A Vow So Bold and Deadly
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Sad Ghost Club
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Gilded Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Serpentine
Added to basket
£7.99   £3.99
Hardback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Six of Crows
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
Cinderella Is Dead
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
They Both Die at the End
Added to basket
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes
Added to basket
The Cruel Prince (The Folk of the Air)
Added to basket

“Lovely story”

Acevedo beautifully tells the story about Emoni, a Puerto-Rican who became pregnant when she was 14 years old. Now, in high school, she needs to decide what she wants from her future. As a young single mother, Emoni... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

“Great characterisation”

I enjoyed reading this book but I also found the lead character Emoni slightly irritating.

She was a young mum of Babygirl (Emma) who was pretty much being raised by her grandmother (Gloria), who had also been... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12
Amy Arthurs

“Delicious Read”

This book was delicious! Here’s why....⁣⁣
1. All that cooking and food made me hungry⁣⁣
2. Emoni is the sweetest character with a heart of gold⁣⁣
3. Emoni’s love for her daughter and grandmother is beautiful to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.