With the Fire on High (Paperback)
  • With the Fire on High (Paperback)
zoom

With the Fire on High (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 19/09/2019
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

From the author of the Waterstones Children’s Book Prize-shortlisted The Poet X comes another uplifting tale of youthful ambition and creative escape. Eschewing the verse of Acevedo’s Carnegie Medal winner for dynamic prose, With the Fire on High is an inspirational read from first page to last.

From the author of The Poet X comes a sumptuous prose novel, perfect for fans of Angie Thomas' On the Come Up, Justin Reynolds' Opposite of Always and Nicola Yoon.

Ever since she got pregnant, seventeen-year-old Emoni's life has been about making the tough decisions - doing what has to be done for her young daughter and her grandmother. Keeping her head down at school, trying not to get caught up with new boy Malachi. The one place she can let everything go is in the kitchen, where she has magical hands - whipping up extraordinary food beloved by everyone. Emoni wants to be a chef more than anything, but she knows it's pointless to pursue the impossible. There are rules she has to play by. And yet, once she starts cooking, and gets that fire on high, she sees that her drive to feed will feed her soul and dreams too. And anything is possible. 

Publisher: Hot Key Books
ISBN: 9781471409004
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 292 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Though she is still a high-school student, Emoni has a two-year-old daughter, for whom she wants nothing but the best. When it comes to her own prospects, she is less focused - but then she's offered the chance to join a cooking class taught by a gifted chef, to develop her own subtle palate and powerful gift. A delicious, evocative story from this year's Carnegie winner.' - The Guardian 

You may also be interested in...

The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
It's Not OK to Feel Blue (and other lies)
Added to basket
Northern Lights
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Wayward Son
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Two Can Keep a Secret
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Places I've Cried in Public
Added to basket
Dear Evan Hansen
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
The Subtle Knife
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Deathless Girls
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Hardback
Five Feet Apart
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
I Am Not a Number
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Hate U Give
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback

“Great characterisation”

I enjoyed reading this book but I also found the lead character Emoni slightly irritating.

She was a young mum of Babygirl (Emma) who was pretty much being raised by her grandmother (Gloria), who had also been... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2
Amy Arthurs

“Delicious Read”

This book was delicious! Here’s why....⁣⁣
1. All that cooking and food made me hungry⁣⁣
2. Emoni is the sweetest character with a heart of gold⁣⁣
3. Emoni’s love for her daughter and grandmother is beautiful to... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Faith”

Emoni Santiago is that teenage girl your parents always warned you to keep away from. Her mother is dead and her father is absent so she is being raised by her grandmother and is from a relatively insalubrious... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.