Wing Jones (Paperback)
  • Wing Jones (Paperback)
zoom

Wing Jones (Paperback)

(author), (cover design/artwork)
£7.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 05/01/2017
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Debut novel about a mixed-race family hit by tragedy in 90s Atlanta from a talented young writer. For fans of David Levithan, Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell: a sweeping story about love and family from an exceptional new voice in YA. With a grandmother from China and another from Ghana, fifteen-year-old Wing Jones is often caught between worlds. But when tragedy strikes, Wing discovers a talent for running she never knew she had. Wing's speed could bring her family everything it needs. It could also stop Wing getting the one thing she wants.

Publisher: Walker Books Ltd
ISBN: 9781406369090
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 270 g
Dimensions: 198 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"This lovely YA debut follows Wing Jones, a Chinese-Ghanaian highschooler, who, in 1990s Atlanta finds herself in the midst of family tragedy with only one escape: running. It's a powerful and charming book about finding support and inner strength against the odds; it may prick your tear ducts a little, but when has a really good book not?" * BuzzFeed *
"[...] this is a compelling and heartwarming account of finding hope even in the bleakest of circumstances. And while American reviewers are likely to praise the title for its racial diversity, it should also be commended for its sympathetic portrayal of a working-class family and the terrifying burden of medical expenses in a pre-Obamacare society." * Irish Times *
I loved that it took all the building blocks of great YA, but made something really new and fresh from them. It's got some pretty teary moments but, ultimately, it's a triumphant read about finding your own strength. -- Anna James * The Pool *
A splendidly diverse domestic setup with vivid, evocative details ensures that the book's big issues never feel unbalanced; and many readers will yearn for Wing's guardian lion and dragon spirits (touches of magical realism here) to guide them through times of crisis * The Guardian *
Already lots of buzz about the debut from Booktrust staffer Webber and it's well deserved, an immensely readable novel about family. [...] Running is key to Wing's self-discovery and these scenes are some of the most striking in the book, really inspirational to see such a positive storyline about girls and sport. * Bookseller *
Wing's story is heart-wrenchingly beautiful and her discovery of running as an outlet for her emotions demonstrates that you can do anything if your heart is in it. In a year where we all could do with some hope, Wing Jones shows the rewards of action, belief and achievement.... Magical and real, sad and triumphant. It explores grief, tragedy, perseverance, bullying, ambition, blossoming love, friendship, family and more. A truly beautiful book that everyone should pick up! * Mugglenet *
Wing is one of my favourite characters of the year [...] You need to get yourself a copy as early in the New Year as you can. In fact get your pre-order in right now!, and start 2017 right! * Bart's Bookshelf *
"In a nutshell: Losing your way, running for your life, finding your feet A beautifully bittersweet debut in which a teenage girl discovers a latent talent that shines light on the darkest of times. Set in the run-up to the 1996 Atlanta Olympics, this is an expansive, heartfelt tale of loss, first love and self-discovery, and readers will truly root for Wing. Highly recommended for fans of Jandy Nelson and Rainbow Rowell." * LoveReading Joanne Owen January 2017 Debut of the Month *
"An emotional roller coaster of family loyalty, overcoming tragedy and self belief. Inspiring." * South Wales Evening Post *
"A heart-warming, positive tale about family, identity and coming of age, Wing Jones does an excellent job of presenting a mixed-race heroine in a supportive and loving family, but one with its own complex stresses and differences. The experience of being the sibling of a very successful brother is finely drawn, as is Wing's blossoming first romance, which runs alongside her own development as an athlete, with sensitivity to the interplay of Wing being true to herself and coping with overwhelming new feelings. Wing's two matriarch grandmothers are especially wonderful and provide an extra, magical element to a well-rounded story about love, family and ambition." * BookTrust *
"Girls of 13 upwards will love the emotional intensity and honesty of the novel." * The School Librarian *
"I got hooked on the book straight away [...] It was magical, emotional and all about family relationships." * Teen Titles *
A direct writing style and nuanced view of life and relationships bring depth to this rewarding read. * Children's Books Ireland *

You may also be interested in...

Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
Always and Forever, Lara Jean
Added to basket
Goodnight Mister Tom
Added to basket
That's Not What Happened
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
P.S. I Still Love You
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
City of Ghosts
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
A Darkest Minds Novel: Never Fade
Added to basket
13 Minutes
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Boy in the Striped Pyjamas
Added to basket
La Belle Sauvage: The Book of Dust Volume One
Added to basket
Holes
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Simon vs. the Homo Sapiens Agenda
Added to basket
To All the Boys I've Loved Before
Added to basket
Are We All Lemmings and Snowflakes?
Added to basket
Leah on the Offbeat
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Everything, Everything
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

Reviews

View all

“a painful and beautiful coming-of-age story”

Wing's life may not be perfect, but it's hers: awkwardly never quite fitting in because she's too tall, too black, too asian, too shy. It's her brother, Marcus, who is the popular jock, the... More

Paperback edition
9th September 2016
Helpful? Upvote 70

“Wonderful YA contemp!”

What a completely immersive, deeply emotional and thought provoking book. An epic love story that intertwines an incredibly well written romance with difficult themes of grief and identity. Lovely writing, thoroughly... More

Paperback edition
5th January 2017
Helpful? Upvote 62
Fiona at Sunderland

“Love. Family. Friends. Diversity. ”

I received the proof of this book free thanks to the publisher but all opinions are honest and my own.

A diverse coming of age story to be celebrated with wonderful characters - I'm thinking especially of Wing... More

Paperback edition
5 similar books recommended
24th March 2017
Helpful? Upvote 44

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.