Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious (Paperback)
  • Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious (Paperback)
zoom

Wilful Blindness: Why We Ignore the Obvious (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 400 Pages / Published: 02/02/2012
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
In the 2006 case of the US Government vs Enron, the presiding judge instructed the jurors to take account of the concept of wilful blindness as they reached their verdict about whether the chief executives of the disgraced energy corporation were guilty. It was not enough for the defendants to say that they did not know what was going on; that they had not seen anything. If they failed to observe the corruption which was unfolding before their very eyes, not knowing was no defence. The guilty verdict sent shivers down the spine of the corporate world.

In this book, distinguished business woman and writer, Margaret Heffernan, examines the phenomenon of wilful blindness. Drawing on a wide array of sources from psychological studies and social statistics to interviews with the relevant protagonists she examines what it is about human nature which makes us so prone to wilful blindness. Taught from infancy to obey authority, and absorbing the importance of selective vision as a key social skill, humans exacerbate their tendency to become institutionalised by joining organisations which are run by like-minded people. She looks at how hard work and the information overload of the modern workplace add to the problem. And she examines why whistleblowers and Cassandras are so very rare.

Ranging freely through history and from business to science, government to the family, this engaging and anecdotal book will explain why wilful blindness is so dangerous in the globalised, interconnected world in which we live, before suggesting ways in which institutions and individuals can start to combat it. In the tradition of Malcolm Gladwell and Nassim Nicholas Taleb, Margaret Heffernan's thought provoking book will force open our eyes.

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781847399052
Number of pages: 400
Weight: 280 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 27 mm

You may also be interested in...

12 Rules for Life
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
What a Time to be Alone
Added to basket
Zero Negativity
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback
Beyond Order
Added to basket
£25.00
Hardback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket
Think Like a Monk
Added to basket
£16.99   £8.49
Hardback
The Gift
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
The Art of Rest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Rebel Ideas
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Thinking, Fast and Slow
Added to basket
£12.99   £10.99
Paperback
Untamed
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Paperback
Women Don't Owe You Pretty
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
Breath
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Subtle Art of Not Giving a F*ck
Added to basket
£18.99   £16.99
Hardback
Working Hard, Hardly Working
Added to basket
Life Under Fire
Added to basket
£20.00
Hardback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.