Wilder Girls (Paperback)
  • Wilder Girls (Paperback)
zoom

Wilder Girls (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 06/02/2020
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'Your new favourite book' Cosmopolitan

An instant New York Times bestseller, Wilder Girls is Rory Power's visceral and unputdownable YA debut.
The Power meets We Were Liars in this compelling story of survival and the power of female friendships, perfect for fans of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder.

Everyone loses something to the Tox; Hetty lost her eye, Reese's hand has changed, and Byatt just disappeared completely.

It's been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put in quarantine. The Tox turned the students strange and savage, the teachers died off one by one. Cut off from the mainland, the girls don't dare wander past the school's fence where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure as the Tox takes; their bodies becoming sick and foreign, things bursting out of them, bits missing.

But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her best friend, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie in the wilderness past the fence. As she digs deeper, she learns disturbing truths about her school and what else is living on Raxter Island. And that the cure might not be a cure at all . . .

'Wholly original and compelling' Observer

'A staggering gut punch of a book' Kirkus

'Body horror meets boarding school in a moving, terrifying thriller' Guardian

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529021264
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 259 g
Dimensions: 199 x 130 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Body horror meets boarding school in a moving, terrifying thriller . . . one of the year's most memorable debut's. * Guardian, The Best Books of 2020 *
Your new favourite book. * Cosmopolitan *
Finally, Rory Power combines the challenges of dystopian survival with the dynamics of boarding school life in the wholly original and compelling Wilder Girls. It is 18 months since Raxter school for girls was quarantined following the outbreak of a deadly virus that kills adults and turns girls' bodies strange and foreign. Both their remote island setting and the girls themselves become ever more wild and dangerous as they await the promised cure. Power's dark, lyrical tale challenges expectations at every turn; a paean to the power of female friendships. -- Fiona Noble * Observer *
This thrilling saga . . . is sure to be one of the season's most talked-about books, in any genre. * Entertainment Weekly *
Groundbreaking . . . brutal and beautiful, raw and unflinching. -- Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil
This gritty, lush debut chronicling psychological and environmental tipping points . . . weaves a chilling narrative that disrupts readers' expectations through an expertly crafted, slow-burn reveal of the deadly consequences of climate change . . . Part survival thriller, part post-apocalyptic romance, and part ecocritical feminist manifesto, a staggering gut punch of a book. * Kirkus, Starred Review *
Power's evocative, haunting, and occasionally gruesome debut will challenge readers to ignore its bewitching presence. * Booklist, Starred Review *
Wilder Girls is the bold, imaginative, emotionally wrenching horror novel of my dreams - one that celebrates the resilience of girls and the earthshaking power of their friendships. An eerie, unforgettable triumph. -- Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn
Wilder Girls is so sharp and packs so much emotion in such wise ways. I'm convinced we're about to witness the emergence of a major new literary star. -- Jeff VanderMeer, New York Times bestselling author of Annihilation
The perfect kind of story for our current era * Hypable *
A feminist, LGBT+, sci-fi-horror story with all the tantalizing elements of gore, mystery, war, and love you can ask for. Real, flawed, brave girls against a world gone mad. A shudderingly good read! -- Dawn Kurtagich, author of Teeth in the Mist
A very different boarding school tale * i News *
A New York Times bestseller, this is a story of survival and the power of female friendships. It's part thriller and part post-apocalyptic romance, celebrating the resilience and strength of girls * Muddy Stilettos, included in a best book for teenagers round-up *

You may also be interested in...

Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Deep End (Book 15)
Added to basket
The Valley of Lost Secrets
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Death Sets Sail
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Smeds and the Smoos
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Grinny Granny Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.49
Paperback
Code Name Bananas
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Dog Man 9: Grime and Punishment
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
Midnight Sun
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback
Look Up!
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Dinosaur that Pooped a Pirate
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Slime
Added to basket
£12.99   £6.49
Hardback
The Christmasaurus and the Winter Witch
Added to basket
Dragon Mountain
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Oor Wullie Annual 2021
Added to basket
£8.99   £4.49
Paperback
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback

“This.. didn't freak me out? I wanted it to!”

TRIGGERS: Mention of selfharm, animal death
REPS: LGBTQIA+, one-eyed character (disabilities)

Wilder Girls is a book that spoke to me right from the get-go. It isn't one I'd usually pick up, but that made... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

“I. Want. More.”

Mutations in young girls that doesn't make them magical but scary and scarred? Powerful and complex female characters with hardly any man mentioned for plot development and characterisation? Lesbians and casual... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

“Unnerving and horrific in the best way”

I loved this book, it was unnerving and horrific and haunting in the best way. The isolated setting lends an extra layer of eeriness to it, the quarantined boarding school of girls who are all infected with the Tox... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 17

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.