Wilder Girls (Paperback)
  • Wilder Girls (Paperback)
zoom

Wilder Girls (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 368 Pages
Published: 06/02/2020
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

An instant New York Times bestseller, Wilder Girls is Rory Power's chilling and unputdownable YA debut. The Power meets We Were Liars in this compelling story of survival and the power of female friendships, perfect for fans of A Good Girl's Guide to Murder.

'Body horror meets boarding school in a moving, terrifying thriller' – Guardian

Everyone loses something to the Tox; Hetty lost her eye, Reese's hand has changed, and Byatt just disappeared completely.

It’s been eighteen months since the Raxter School for Girls was put in quarantine. The Tox turned the students strange and savage, the teachers died off one by one. Cut off from the mainland, the girls don’t dare wander past the school’s fence where the Tox has made the woods wild and dangerous. They wait for the cure as the Tox takes; their bodies becoming sick and foreign, things bursting out of them, bits missing.

But when Byatt goes missing, Hetty will do anything to find her best friend, even if it means breaking quarantine and braving the horrors that lie in the wilderness past the fence. As she digs deeper, she learns disturbing truths about her school and what else is living on Raxter Island. And that the cure might not be a cure at all . . .

'Your new favourite book' – Cosmopolitan

'Wholly original and compelling' – Observer

'A staggering gut punch of a book' – Kirkus

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529021264
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 268 g
Dimensions: 199 x 130 x 25 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Body horror meets boarding school in a moving, terrifying thriller . . . one of the year's most memorable debut's. - Guardian, The Best Books of 2020

Your new favourite book. - Cosmopolitan

Finally, Rory Power combines the challenges of dystopian survival with the dynamics of boarding school life in the wholly original and compelling Wilder Girls. - Fiona Noble, Observer

This thrilling saga . . . is sure to be one of the season’s most talked-about books, in any genre. - Entertainment Weekly

Groundbreaking . . . brutal and beautiful, raw and unflinching. - Emily Suvada, author of This Mortal Coil

Part survival thriller, part post-apocalyptic romance, and part ecocritical feminist manifesto, a staggering gut punch of a book. - Kirkus, Starred Review

Power's evocative, haunting, and occasionally gruesome debut will challenge readers to ignore its bewitching presence. - Booklist, Starred Review

Wilder Girls is the bold, imaginative, emotionally wrenching horror novel of my dreams – one that celebrates the resilience of girls and the earthshaking power of their friendships. An eerie, unforgettable triumph. - Claire Legrand, New York Times bestselling author of Furyborn

Wilder Girls is so sharp and packs so much emotion in such wise ways. I'm convinced we're about to witness the emergence of a major new literary star. - Jeff VanderMeer, New York Times bestselling author of Annihilation

The perfect kind of story for our current era - Hypable

A feminist, LGBT+, sci-fi-horror story with all the tantalizing elements of gore, mystery, war, and love you can ask for. Real, flawed, brave girls against a world gone mad. A shudderingly good read! - Dawn Kurtagich, author of Teeth in the Mist

A very different boarding school tale - i News

A New York Times bestseller, this is a story of survival and the power of female friendships. It’s part thriller and part post-apocalyptic romance, celebrating the resilience and strength of girls - Muddy Stilettos, included in a best book for teenagers round-up

You may also be interested in...

Powerless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The End Crowns All
Added to basket
Astrochimp
Added to basket
£14.99   £7.49
Hardback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
Reckless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Looshkin: Honk If You See It!
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
I Am Rebel
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Reckless
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Bunny vs Monkey: The Impossible Pig
Added to basket
£9.99   £4.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: Diper Överlöde (Book 17)
Added to basket
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“This.. didn't freak me out? I wanted it to!”

TRIGGERS: Mention of selfharm, animal death
REPS: LGBTQIA+, one-eyed character (disabilities)

Wilder Girls is a book that spoke to me right from the get-go. It isn't one I'd usually pick up, but that made... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 47

“I. Want. More.”

Mutations in young girls that doesn't make them magical but scary and scarred? Powerful and complex female characters with hardly any man mentioned for plot development and characterisation? Lesbians and casual... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 44

“I think it could have been better...”

I thought that the premise of this book was really good and interesting. I was very quickly hooked in by the mysterious illness/disease that was affecting this girls' school students and the teachers.
Why were... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 40

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: