Visit our Christmas Gift Finder
Click & Collect from 2 Hours*
Last Christmas delivery dates
Free UK Standard Delivery On all orders £20 and over Order in time for Christmas 19th December 2nd Class | 20th December 1st Class Free Click & Collect to UK shops From 2 hours of your order*
Whispering in French: A Novel (Paperback)
  • Whispering in French: A Novel (Paperback)
zoom

Whispering in French: A Novel (Paperback)

(author)
£9.99
Paperback 384 Pages / Published: 21/09/2017
  • We can order this

Usually dispatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket
Award-winning romance author Sophia Nash makes her women's fiction debut with a beautifully crafted, funny, and life-affirming story set in the Atlantic seaside region of France, as one woman returns to France to sell her family home and finds an unexpected chance to start over-perfect for fans of Le Divorce and The Little Paris Bookshop. Home is the last place Kate expected to find herself...As a child, Kate Hamilton was packed off each summer to her grandfather's ivy-covered villa in southern France. That ancestral home, named Marthe Marie, is now crumbling, and it falls to Kate-regarded as the most responsible and practical member of her family-to return to the rugged, beautiful seaside region to confront her grandfather's debts and convince him to sell. Kate makes her living as a psychologist and life coach, but her own life is in as much disarray as Marthe Marie. Her marriage has ended, and she's convinced that she has failed her teenaged daughter, Lily, in unforgiveable ways. While delving into colorful family history and the consequences of her own choices, Kate reluctantly agrees to provide coaching to Major Edward Soames, a British military officer suffering with post-traumatic stress. Breaking through his shell, and dealing with idiosyncratic locals intent on viewing her as an Americanized outsider, will give Kate new insight into who-and where-she wants to be. The answers will prove as surprising as the secrets that reside in the centuries-old villa. Witty and sophisticated, rich in history and culture, Sophia Nash's novel vividly evokes both its idyllic French setting and the universal themes of self-forgiveness and rebuilding in a story as touching as it is wise.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062471789
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 286 g
Dimensions: 203 x 135 x 22 mm

You may also be interested in...

Wakenhyrst
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Girl, Woman, Other
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
Middle England
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Christmas Shopaholic
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback
The Familiars
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Starless Sea
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
An American Marriage
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Olive Kitteridge
Added to basket
A Keeper
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Handmaid's Tale
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Once Upon a River
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Unsheltered
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
In a House of Lies
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Normal People
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.