Find your perfect holiday reading
Where Roses Never Die (Paperback)
  • Where Roses Never Die (Paperback)
zoom

Where Roses Never Die (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 01/06/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
September 1977. Mette Misvaer, a three-year-old girl disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her home. Her tiny, close middle-class community in the tranquil suburb of Nordas is devastated, but their enquiries and the police produce nothing. Curtains twitch, suspicions are raised, but Mette is never found.

Almost 25 years later, as the expiry date for the statute of limitations draws near, Mette's mother approaches PI Varg Veum, in a last, desperate attempt to find out what happened to her daughter. As Veum starts to dig, he uncovers an intricate web of secrets, lies and shocking events that have been methodically concealed. When another brutal incident takes place, a pattern begins to emerge...
Chilling, shocking and full of extraordinary twists and turns, Where Roses Never Die reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers.

'Mature and captivating' Herald Scotland

`One of the finest Nordic novelists - in the tradition of Henning Menkell' Barry Forshaw, Independent

`Masterful pacing' Publishers Weekly

`Norwegian master Staalesen is an author who eschews police procedural narratives for noirish private eye pieces' Financial Times

`Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin

`A Norwegian Chandler' Jo Nesbo

`One of Norway's most skilful storytellers' Johan Theorin

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781910633090
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 249 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Body in the Library
Added to basket
Murder in Midsummer
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Maigret in Vichy
Added to basket
The Mysterious Affair at Styles
Added to basket
Big Sky
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
No Way Out
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Smallbone Deceased
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Murder of Roger Ackroyd
Added to basket
The Cornish Coast Murder
Added to basket
The ABC Murders
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Big Sleep
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Murder on the Orient Express
Added to basket
Murder in the Mill-Race
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
4.50 from Paddington
Added to basket
And Then There Were None
Added to basket
Fell Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Outstanding!”

As you may be aware, I have a habit at the moment of coming to a series several books in. I tend to start with book two or (heaven forbid!) book six. I think this book and it's beleaguered lead, PI Varg Veum,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 34

“Outstanding!”

As you may be aware, I have a habit at the moment of coming to a series several books in. I tend to start with book two or (heaven forbid!) book six. I think this book and it’s beleaguered lead, PI Varg Veum, takes... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 30

“A masterpiece of Nordic crime writing”

I have for a while been a big fan of Nordic crime novels but I have to admit that this is my first read of Gunnar Staalesen’s novels and if his latest Where Roses Never Sleep is anything to go by then I have been... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 26

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.