Ts&Cs apply
Where Roses Never Die - Varg Veum (Paperback)
  • Where Roses Never Die - Varg Veum (Paperback)
zoom

Where Roses Never Die - Varg Veum (Paperback)

(author), (translator)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages / Published: 01/06/2016
  • In stock

In stock online

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
The 25-year-old case of a missing girl sees Varg Veum dig deep into the past to find her kidnapper, as the secrets and lies of a tiny community threaten everything ... Gunnar Staalesen's award-winning, international bestselling Varg Veum series continues in this chilling Nordic Noir thriller. ***WINNER of the Petrona Award for Best Scandinavian Crime Novel of the Year*** 'Mature and captivating' Herald Scotland 'One of the finest Nordic novelists - in the tradition of Henning Mankell' Barry Forshaw, Independent 'Masterful pacing' Publishers Weekly _________________ September 1977. Mette Misvaer, a three-year-old girl disappears without trace from the sandpit outside her home. Her tiny, close middle-class community in the tranquil suburb of Nordas is devastated, but their enquiries and the police produce nothing. Curtains twitch, suspicions are raised, but Mette is never found. Almost 25 years later, as the expiry date for the statute of limitations draws near, Mette's mother approaches PI Varg Veum, in a last, desperate attempt to find out what happened to her daughter. As Veum starts to dig, he uncovers an intricate web of secrets, lies and shocking events that have been methodically concealed. When another brutal incident takes place, a pattern begins to emerge... Shocking, unsettling and full of extraordinary twists and turns, Where Roses Never Die reaffirms Gunnar Staalesen as one of the world's foremost thriller writers. _________________ Praise for Gunnar Staalesen 'There is a world-weary existential sadness that hangs over his central detective. The prose is stripped back and simple ... deep emotion bubbling under the surface - the real turmoil of the characters' lives just under the surface for the reader to intuit, rather than have it spelled out for them' Doug Johnstone, The Big Issue 'Gunnar Staalesen is one of my very favourite Scandinavian authors. Operating out of Bergen in Norway, his private eye, Varg Veum, is a complex but engaging anti-hero. Varg means "wolf " in Norwegian, and this is a series with very sharp teeth' Ian Rankin 'Staalesen continually reminds us he is one of the finest of Nordic novelists' Financial Times 'Staalesen does a masterful job of exposing the worst of Norwegian society in this highly disturbing entry' Publishers Weekly 'The Varg Veum series is more concerned with character and motivation than spectacle, and it's in the quieter scenes that the real drama lies' Herald Scotland 'Every inch the equal of his Nordic confreres Henning Mankell and Jo Nesbo' Independent 'With an expositional style that is all but invisible, Staalesen masterfully compels us from the first pages ... If you're a fan of Varg Veum, this is not to be missed, and if you're new to the series, this is one of the best ones. You're encouraged to jump right in, even if the Norwegian names can be a bit confusing to follow' Crime Fiction Lover 'With short, smart, darkly punchy chapters Wolves at the Door is a provocative and gripping read' LoveReading 'Haunting, dark and totally noir, a great read' New Books Magazine 'An upmarket Philip Marlowe' Maxim Jakubowski, The Bookseller 'Razor-edged Scandinavian crime fiction at its finest' Quentin Bates

Publisher: Orenda Books
ISBN: 9781910633090
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 249 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 23 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Sentence is Death
Added to basket
Sorry for the Dead
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Maigret Christmas
Added to basket
The Complete Sherlock Holmes
Added to basket
Death Comes at Christmas
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
A Surprise for Christmas
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.99
Paperback
Murder on the Orient Express
Added to basket
Big Sky
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Death Goes on Skis
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Very Murderous Christmas
Added to basket
And Then There Were None
Added to basket
The Killings at Kingfisher Hill
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
Hercule Poirot's Christmas
Added to basket
The Family Upstairs
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback

“Outstanding!”

As you may be aware, I have a habit at the moment of coming to a series several books in. I tend to start with book two or (heaven forbid!) book six. I think this book and it's beleaguered lead, PI Varg Veum,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 42

“Outstanding!”

As you may be aware, I have a habit at the moment of coming to a series several books in. I tend to start with book two or (heaven forbid!) book six. I think this book and it’s beleaguered lead, PI Varg Veum, takes... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 32

“A masterpiece of Nordic crime writing”

I have for a while been a big fan of Nordic crime novels but I have to admit that this is my first read of Gunnar Staalesen’s novels and if his latest Where Roses Never Sleep is anything to go by then I have been... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.