When We Were Birds: Signed Edition (Hardback)
  • When We Were Birds: Signed Edition (Hardback)
zoom

When We Were Birds: Signed Edition (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 304 Pages
Published: 10/02/2022

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Evocatively exploring contemporary life through the labyrinth of myth and the otherworldly, this masterfully crafted Trinidad-set debut about a handsome young gravedigger and a girl with the gift of speaking to the dead announces a spell-binding new voice in fiction.

Signed Edition

A Standard Edition is available here

Mesmerising, mythic and timeless - the most unmissable debut novel of 2022 - for fans of Arundhati Roy, Toni Morrison and Monique Roffey

Discover a love story and a ghost story set in the lush landscape and thriving backstreets of modern-day Trinidad...

Darwin is a down-on-his-luck gravedigger, newly arrived in the city of Port Angeles to seek his fortune, young and beautiful and lost. Estranged from his mother and the Rastafari faith she taught him, he is convinced that the father he never met may be waiting for him somewhere amid these bustling streets.

Meanwhile in an old house on a hill, where the city meets the rainforest, Yejide's mother is dying. And she is leaving behind a legacy that now passes to Yejide: the power to talk to the dead. The women of Yejide's family are human but also not - descended from corbeau, the black birds that fly east at sunset, taking with them the souls of the dead.

Darwin and Yejide both have something that the other needs. Their destinies are intertwined, and they will find one another in the sprawling, ancient cemetery at the heart of Port Angeles, where trouble is brewing...

Rich with magic and wisdom, When We Were Birds is an exuberant, incantatory masterpiece that conjures and mesmerises on every line. Ayanna Lloyd Banwo weaves an unforgettable story of loss and renewal, darkness and light; a triumphant reckoning with a grief that runs back generations and a defiant, joyful affirmation of hope.

Publisher: Penguin Books Ltd
ISBN: 2928377078683
Number of pages: 304
Weight: 700 g
Dimensions: 222 x 138 x 38 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Secret History
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Birnam Wood
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Black Bird Oracle
Added to basket
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback

“An exquisite and enchanting debut”

Set in an imagined version of Trinidad, When We Were Birds is a quietly dazzling novel suffused with beauty and horror.

Life and death are the key themes of the novel, and are the things that the central... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16
Katy Wheatley

“A wonderful piece of modern day magical realism”

This is a beautiful piece of writing. An exemplary piece of modern day magical realism.

Darwin is a Rastafarian. His religion forbids him from working with the dead, but his dwindling bank account and lack of work... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

“When We Were Birds”

I struggled to get into this book and I think the main reason was the language of the Island and it was right of the author to write this way as after getting used to it, it enhanced the story. Yejide lives a life... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: