When The World Was Ours: A book about finding hope in the darkest of times (Hardback)
  • When The World Was Ours: A book about finding hope in the darkest of times (Hardback)
zoom

When The World Was Ours: A book about finding hope in the darkest of times (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 21/01/2021
  • We can order this from the publisher

Usually dispatched within 10 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Deftly exploring the drama and complexities of World War II through the prism of three childhood friends, Kessler’s searching, powerful book is perfect reading for fans of Private Peaceful and The Book Thief

ONE MOMENT CAN CHANGE A LIFE FOREVER.

'An exceptional read' The Sunday Times
'Vital glimmers of hope enlighten this profoundly poignant book' Guardian

A powerful and heart-breaking novel about three childhood friends living during the Second World War whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses. Inspired by a true story, this is the perfect read for fans of The Book Thief and Anne Frank's The Diary of a Young Girl.


Vienna, 1936.

Elsa, Leo and Max have always been best friends, a special team of three. Then the Nazis come.

As a growing darkness descends around them, Leo and Elsa run for their lives, taking two very different paths across Europe. And Max, once their closest friend, now becomes the enemy as he is drawn into the Hitler Youth. Will the friends ever find their way back to each other? Will they want to?

Inspired by a true story, WHEN THE WORLD WAS OURS is an extraordinary novel that is as powerful as it is heartbreaking, and shows how the bonds of love, family and friendship allow glimmers of hope to flourish, even in the most hopeless of times.

Three friends. Two sides. One memory.

















Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471196805
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
When The World Was Ours is Liz's masterpiece . . . an instant classic -- Anthony McGowan, winner of the 2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal
An exceptional read * The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week *
A wonderful book, half tragedy, but told with such sheer, warm humanity that it leaves you with hope -- Hilary McKay * author of The Skylarks' War *
I haven't read a Holocaust book for children that's better -- Charlotte Eyre * The Bookseller *
When The World Was Ours is the most wonderful, terrible, powerful, important book I have read in years and years. It is so good, so real, so unflinching -- Cathy Cassidy
When The World Was Ours is an exceptionally powerful book based on Liz's family's extraordinary escape from Nazi occupied countries . . . a book I hope will be read and discussed by children everywhere -- Francesca Simon
An absolute masterpiece! -- Keren David
This is a tour de force, a book about friendship and what happens when hate is institutionalised, but most of all it's a book about love -- Catherine Johnson
Utterly, utterly gut-churningly brilliant. It's a superb piece of writing. It should win everything going -- Tanya Landman
This stunning book is going to make you rage, and cry, and yelp with joy, then cry and rage again. A genuine tour de force from Liz Kessler. I couldn't put it down except to wipe away tears -- Joanna Nadin
This striking Holocaust story was a real passion project for Liz Kessler and it shows. Begins in Vienna in the 1930s, following the fortunes of three friends over the following years. Inevitable ugly crying at the end -- Karen McCombie
When The World Was Ours is a gut-wrenching story of friendship torn apart by war. I can't recommend it highly enough -- Anna Wilson
An unstoppable read - compassionate, angry and uplifting all at once -- Katherine Langrish
I just finished When The World Was Ours and I'm in tears. I don't think I've ever read anything so powerful, shocking or moving. Such an important book - it truly deserves to fly -- Emma Pass
This book is completely engaging and will engross young (and older) readers . . . it will prove to be very important, and widely read and recommended -- Linda Newbery
The most powerful book about the Holocaust I've ever read . . . it is an utterly stunning, and important, read. I'll be thinking about this one for a long time, and would urge everyone to read it -- Kerry Drewery
Powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking and timely. This story of three friends will be etched in my mind for a very long time. What an incredible novel -- Emma Perry
Very moved by the new Liz Kessler novel . . . the story and the story behind it. I wish I was a Costa judge next year as well -- John McLay
Powerful, heart-wrenching -- Leila Rasheed
A powerful, sombre and moving account * The Financial Times *
I read it in one sitting. It is heartbreakingly wonderful; a compelling book threaded through with hope that readers can grasp and take forward with them. -- Patrice Lawrence

You may also be interested in...

Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Solitaire
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Radio Silence
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
This Lie Will Kill You
Added to basket
She Gets the Girl
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
How I Became a Dog Called Midnight
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Cat Kid Comic Club 3: On Purpose
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Hardback
I Kissed Shara Wheeler
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
The Adventures of Dog Man 2: Unleashed
Added to basket
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Diary Of A Wimpy Kid (Book 1)
Added to basket
Family of Liars
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Skandar and the Unicorn Thief
Added to basket
Dog Man 10: Mothering Heights
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket

“A must read for teenagers and adults alike”

Elsa, Leo and Max are childhood friends in Vienna but then the war starts and everything changes. I felt as though I knew all the characters personally and shared their traumatic journeys. I’m writing this with tears... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Poignant and powerful”

Set during World War Two and written from the alternating viewpoints of three best friends – Leo, Elsa and Max – we follow their stories from pre-wartime through to the end of the war.

I really loved the use of the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 12

“A beautifully written, powerful book that needs to be read.”

Several years ago, a well known and much lauded author, when asked if they would ever think of writing a children’s book, stated that they would only consider this should they ever suffer from a serious brain injury.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.