When The World Was Ours: A book about finding hope in the darkest of times (Hardback)
  • When The World Was Ours: A book about finding hope in the darkest of times (Hardback)
zoom

When The World Was Ours: A book about finding hope in the darkest of times (Hardback)

(author)
£12.99 £10.99
Hardback 320 Pages / Published: 21/01/2021
  • Save £2.00
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

Deftly exploring the drama and complexities of World War II through the prism of three childhood friends, Kessler’s searching, powerful book is perfect reading for fans of Private Peaceful and The Book Thief

A powerful and heart-breaking novel about three childhood friends living during the Second World War whose fates are closely intertwined, even when their lives take very different courses. A Sunday Times Children's Book of the Week, this is the perfect story for readers of Private Peaceful, The Book Thief and Anne Frank's The Diary of a Young Girl.

Three friends. Two sides. One memory.

Vienna. 1936.

Three young friends - Leo, Elsa and Max - spend a perfect day together, unaware that around them Europe is descending into a growing darkness, and that events soon mean that they will be cruelly ripped apart from each other. With their lives taking them across Europe - to Germany, England, Prague and Poland - will they ever find their way back to each other? Will they want to?

Inspired by a true story, WHEN THE WORLD WAS OURS is an extraordinary novel that is as powerful as it is heartbreaking, and shows how the bonds of love, family and friendship allow glimmers of hope to flourish, even in the most hopeless of times.

Praise for When the World Was Ours:

'An exceptional read' The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week

'When The World Was Ours is Liz's masterpiece . . . an instant classic' Anthony McGowan, winner of the 2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal

'A wonderful book, half tragedy, but told with such sheer, warm humanity that it leaves you with hope' Hilary McKay, author of The Skylarks' War

'I haven't read a Holocaust book for children that's better' Charlotte Eyre, The Bookseller

'A powerful, sombre and moving account' The Financial Times

'When The World Was Ours is the most wonderful, terrible, powerful, important book I have read in years and years. It is so good, so real, so unflinching' Cathy Cassidy

'When The World Was Ours is an exceptionally powerful book based on Liz's family's extraordinary escape from Nazi occupied countries . . . a book I hope will be read and discussed by children everywhere' Francesca Simon

'An absolute masterpiece!' Keren David, author of What We're Scared Of

'This is a tour de force, a book about friendship and what happens when hate is institutionalised, but most of all it's a book about love' Catherine Johnson

'Utterly, utterly gut-churningly brilliant. It's a superb piece of writing. It should win everything going' Tanya Landman

'This stunning book is going to make you rage, and cry, and yelp with joy, then cry and rage again. A genuine tour de force from Liz Kessler. I couldn't put it down except to wipe away tears' Joanna Nadin

'This striking Holocaust story was a real passion project for Liz Kessler and it shows. Begins in Vienna in the 1930s, following the fortunes of three friends over the following years. Inevitable ugly crying at the end' Karen McCombie

'When The World Was Ours is a gut-wrenching story of friendship torn apart by war. I can't recommend it highly enough' Anna Wilson

'An unstoppable read - compassionate, angry and uplifting all at once' Katherine Langrish

'I just finished When The World Was Ours and I'm in tears. I don't think I've ever read anything so powerful, shocking or moving. Such an important book - it truly deserves to fly' Emma Pass

'This book is completely engaging and will engross young (and older) readers . . . it will prove to be very important, and widely read and recommended' Linda Newbery

'The most powerful book about the Holocaust I've ever read . . . it is an utterly stunning, and important, read. I'll be thinking about this one for a long time, and would urge everyone to read it' Kerry Drewery

'Powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking and timely. This story of three friends will be etched in my mind for a very long time. What an incredible novel' Emma Perry

'Very moved by the new Liz Kessler novel . . . the story and the story behind it. I wish I was a Costa judge next year as well' John McLay

'Powerful, heart-wrenching' Leila Rasheed

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471196805
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 216 x 135 x 23 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
When The World Was Ours is Liz's masterpiece . . . an instant classic -- Anthony McGowan, winner of the 2020 CILIP Carnegie Medal
An exceptional read * The Sunday Times, Children's Book of the Week *
A wonderful book, half tragedy, but told with such sheer, warm humanity that it leaves you with hope -- Hilary McKay * author of The Skylarks' War *
I haven't read a Holocaust book for children that's better -- Charlotte Eyre * The Bookseller *
When The World Was Ours is the most wonderful, terrible, powerful, important book I have read in years and years. It is so good, so real, so unflinching -- Cathy Cassidy
When The World Was Ours is an exceptionally powerful book based on Liz's family's extraordinary escape from Nazi occupied countries . . . a book I hope will be read and discussed by children everywhere -- Francesca Simon
An absolute masterpiece! -- Keren David
This is a tour de force, a book about friendship and what happens when hate is institutionalised, but most of all it's a book about love -- Catherine Johnson
Utterly, utterly gut-churningly brilliant. It's a superb piece of writing. It should win everything going -- Tanya Landman
This stunning book is going to make you rage, and cry, and yelp with joy, then cry and rage again. A genuine tour de force from Liz Kessler. I couldn't put it down except to wipe away tears -- Joanna Nadin
This striking Holocaust story was a real passion project for Liz Kessler and it shows. Begins in Vienna in the 1930s, following the fortunes of three friends over the following years. Inevitable ugly crying at the end -- Karen McCombie
When The World Was Ours is a gut-wrenching story of friendship torn apart by war. I can't recommend it highly enough -- Anna Wilson
An unstoppable read - compassionate, angry and uplifting all at once -- Katherine Langrish
I just finished When The World Was Ours and I'm in tears. I don't think I've ever read anything so powerful, shocking or moving. Such an important book - it truly deserves to fly -- Emma Pass
This book is completely engaging and will engross young (and older) readers . . . it will prove to be very important, and widely read and recommended -- Linda Newbery
The most powerful book about the Holocaust I've ever read . . . it is an utterly stunning, and important, read. I'll be thinking about this one for a long time, and would urge everyone to read it -- Kerry Drewery
Powerful, heartbreaking, thought-provoking and timely. This story of three friends will be etched in my mind for a very long time. What an incredible novel -- Emma Perry
Very moved by the new Liz Kessler novel . . . the story and the story behind it. I wish I was a Costa judge next year as well -- John McLay
Powerful, heart-wrenching -- Leila Rasheed
A powerful, sombre and moving account * The Financial Times *

You may also be interested in...

The Littlest Yak
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Shadow and Bone
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
For Whom the Ball Rolls
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Gruffalo
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Ballad of Songbirds and Snakes
Added to basket
The Explorer
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Night Bus Hero
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Bad Dad
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Prisoner of Azkaban
Added to basket
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Harry Potter and the Goblet of Fire
Added to basket
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £5.99
Paperback
The Worst Witch
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
The Jolly Christmas Postman
Added to basket
The Ickabog
Added to basket
£20.00   £10.00
Hardback

“Poignant and powerful”

Set during World War Two and written from the alternating viewpoints of three best friends – Leo, Elsa and Max – we follow their stories from pre-wartime through to the end of the war.

I really loved the use of the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A must read for teenagers and adults alike”

Elsa, Leo and Max are childhood friends in Vienna but then the war starts and everything changes. I felt as though I knew all the characters personally and shared their traumatic journeys. I’m writing this with tears... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“A must read!”

This is a profoundly moving, powerful and hard hitting book.
It deserves to be read widely and will help raise awareness of disturbing results of anti-semitism.

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.