When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war... (Hardback)
  • When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war... (Hardback)
zoom

When the Lights Go Down: The glamour of the cinema heals the heartbreak of war... (Hardback)

(author)
£19.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 24/03/2016
  • Not available

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket

Pam Evans' London saga brings the glamour of the cinema during the Blitz of the Second World War vividly to life. Sure to appeal to fans of Katie Flynn and Cathy Sharp.

It is 1938 and the threat of war looms on the streets of London. But, when the lights go down in the cinema aisles, usherette Daisy Blake is transported to a world of glamour and romance. Among the staff there is much merriment and Daisy soon falls in love with the handsome organist, Al Dawson. Then war is declared and, just after Al leaves for the frontline, Daisy discovers she's pregnant. Her mother is distraught; she doesn't think Al is right for her daughter and when Daisy's letters to him go unanswered, her mother encourages her to marry John, the cinema's projectionist, to spare her further heartache.

As the blitz rages over London and disaster strikes, Daisy's morale is boosted by her work and her young son, Sam, brings her comfort and joy in the troubled times ahead...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9781472219626
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 572 g
Dimensions: 239 x 163 x 31 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A touching novel * Daily Express *
Very readable * Bella *
A special kind of warmth with all the right ingredients * Lancashire Evening Post *
History and Romance. A touching saga * My Weekly *

You may also be interested in...

Casting Off
Added to basket
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
Demelza
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Bella Poldark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Twisted Sword
Added to basket
Born In Fire
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Sagas of the Icelanders
Added to basket
Jeremy Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Black Moon
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Citadel
Added to basket
£16.99
Paperback
The Stranger From The Sea
Added to basket
A Life's Music
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Dilly's Lass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Loving Cup
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Light Behind The Window
Added to basket
The Bad Apple
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.