• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
When the Eagle Hunts (Eagles of the Empire 3) - Eagle (Paperback)
  • When the Eagle Hunts (Eagles of the Empire 3) - Eagle (Paperback)
zoom

When the Eagle Hunts (Eagles of the Empire 3) - Eagle (Paperback)

(author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 448 Pages / Published: 02/10/2008
  • In stock online

Usually despatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

IF YOU DON'T KNOW SIMON SCARROW, YOU DON'T KNOW ROME!

WHEN THE EAGLE HUNTS is the compelling third novel in Simon Scarrow's bestselling Eagles of the Empire series. For fans of Bernard Cornwell and Conn Iggulden. 'Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best' Independent

Britannia, AD 44. Cato, a thoughtful junior officer in the Roman army, and his commanding centurion, Macro, are simply pawns in Rome's lust to conquer Britain. During the freezing winter, the two men and their legion fight the native savages in hand-to-hand battles that haunt Cato for days after.

But in a place full of enemies, the most vicious are the Druids of the Dark Moon; brutal, merciless men who have captured the wife and children of General Plautius himself.

So Macro and Cato are given a mission: to travel deep into enemy territory and recover the hostages. If they fail, the fate of the Roman army may just hang in the balance...

Publisher: Headline Publishing Group
ISBN: 9780755349975
Number of pages: 448
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for Simon Scarrow's novels: 'I really don't need this kind of competition... It's a great read' -- Bernard Cornwell
Scarrow's [novels] rank with the best * Independent *
Gripping and moving * The Times *
A satisfyingly bloodthirsty, bawdy romp...perfect for Bernard Cornwell addicts who will relish its historical detail and fast-paced action. Storming stuff * Good Book Guide *
Ferocious and compelling * Daily Express *
A Rome full of HOUSE OF CARDS treachery... Roman soldiering at its very best - even by Scarrow's high standards - in this winning chunk of historical fiction * Sunday Sport *
Rollicking good fun * Mail on Sunday *
A fast-moving and exceptionally well-paced historical thriller * BBC History Magazine *

You may also be interested in...

Defectors
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Exit West
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Lincoln in the Bardo
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Gentleman in Moscow
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Secret Garden
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Lullaby
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Paperback
Call Me By Your Name
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Force of Nature
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
The Power
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
How to Stop Time
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Faking Friends
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Only Story
Added to basket
£16.99   £13.99
Hardback
The Mermaid and Mrs Hancock
Added to basket
Eleanor Oliphant is Completely Fine
Added to basket
The Seagull
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Still Me
Added to basket
£20.00   £14.99
Hardback

Reviews

View all

“epic, just epic”

This book is the third book in the eagles series and is just brilliant The plot of the book is focussed on the capture of aulus plautius's family and the envolvement of the druids of the dark moon in britain. Now... More

Paperback edition
19th June 2010
Helpful? Upvote 20

“Amazing”

loved this book and love the whole series!!! cant wait to get next book

Paperback edition
10th March 2011
Helpful? Upvote 13

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.