When Shadows Fall (Hardback)
  • When Shadows Fall (Hardback)
  • When Shadows Fall (Hardback)
  • When Shadows Fall (Hardback)
  • When Shadows Fall (Hardback)
  • When Shadows Fall (Hardback)
  • When Shadows Fall (Hardback)
zoom
When Shadows Fall (Hardback) When Shadows Fall (Hardback) When Shadows Fall (Hardback) When Shadows Fall (Hardback) When Shadows Fall (Hardback)

When Shadows Fall (Hardback)

(author), (illustrator)
4 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£12.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 11/11/2021
  • In stock

UK delivery within 5 days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A touching yet unflinching examination of loss and self-destruction, Brahmachari's powerful YA novel finds Kai's friends desperate to save him from falling in with the wrong crowd.

Kai, Orla and Zak grew up together, their days spent on the patch of wilderness in between their homes, a small green space in a sprawling grey city. Music, laughter and friendship bind them together and they have big plans for their future - until Kai's family suffers a huge loss.

Trying to cope with his own grief, as well as watching it tear his family apart, Kai is drawn into a new and more dangerous crowd, until his dreams for the future are a distant memory. Excluded from school and retreating from his loved ones, it seems as though his path is set, his story foretold. Orla, Zak and new classmate Om are determined to help him find his way back. But are they too late?

A heart-breaking and poignant novel from award-winning author Sita Brahmachari, for fans of The Black Flamingo, And the Stars Were Burning Brightly, and Poet X.

Publisher: Little Tiger Press Group
ISBN: 9781788953160
Number of pages: 384
Dimensions: 190 x 150 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
"Full of empathy and hope ... Kai's story is a must read for teens to explore how easily things can fall apart but also how we can heal." -- A. M. Dassu, author of Boy, Everywhere
"A song of growing up, grief and the power of connection, When Shadows Fall is an illuminating and lyrical read" -- Polly Ho-Yen, author of Boy in the Tower
"Beautifully told with real care, tenderness and heart" -- Jasbinder Bilan, author of Asha and the Spirit Bird
"Sita's lyrical prose captures the raw emotions of adolescence - of a young person navigating their way through grief and troubled times. A book for all of us." -- Gill Lewis, author of Swan Song
"A heart-wrenching story about loss and art and nature, about how things can fall apart and how friends stand beside one another no matter what" -- Rashmi Sirdeshpande, author of How to Change the World
"Empathetic, original, searingly sad in places, but full of hope, & the power of friendship, art, music, wild places, and ravens" -- Nicola Penfold, author of Where the World Turns Wild
"A gripping, tender, terrifying work... Impactful, innovative, and deeply moving." -- Sinead O'Hart, author of The Eye of the North

Sita Brahmachari on When Shadows Fall

Description

Sita Brahmachari's When Shadow's Fall is a touching yet unflinching examination of loss and self-destruction. Illustrated by Natalie Sirett, this powerful YA novel finds Kai's friends desperate to save him from falling in with the wrong crowd.

You may also be interested in...

Solitaire
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Summer I Turned Pretty
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 2
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 1
Added to basket
Nick and Charlie
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume 3
Added to basket
The Summer I Turned Pretty
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 4
Added to basket
You've Reached Sam
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
This Wicked Fate
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
All That's Left in the World
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It's Not Summer Without You
Added to basket

“A wonderful and powerful book that will stay with your for a long time”

This is a story that will shatter your heart into tiny fragments before carefully piecing them back together - just not quite in them same way they were at the start. A tragic tale of loss, grief and a life spiralling... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A multi-sensory experience for the 21st century reader - you need to read this book.”

The best way to describe my experience of reading the novel as like being caught in a broad stream that has wild currents all heading towards the same destination, but diverge, break away, overlap, resist, destroy,... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A very special read!”

I chose to read this book because it was suggested for fans of Dean Atta, who I really like!

I wasn’t too sure what I was going to find in this story but, from the start, I found a very unique way of telling it.... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.