When I See Blue: An inspiring story of OCD, friendship and bravery (Paperback)
  • When I See Blue: An inspiring story of OCD, friendship and bravery (Paperback)
zoom

When I See Blue: An inspiring story of OCD, friendship and bravery (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages
Published: 09/06/2022
  • 5+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

The author and mental health activist delivers an authentic, sensitively handled tale of living with OCD as a new boy at school learns to cope with the bully in his head with the help of friendship and understanding.

New town, new school, but the bully is in Ben's head...

There are 4 things you should know about Ben:
1. He's 12 years old
2. He's the new kid at school
3. His special number is 4
4. He has a bully in his brain

Sometimes Ben's brain makes him count to 4 to prevent bad things happening. Sometimes it makes him tap or blink in 4s. Mostly it makes the smallest things feel impossible. And with a new school, a moody big brother, an absent dad and a mum battling her own demons, Ben feels more out of control than ever. But then he meets April, and with his new friend, Ben might finally figure out how to stand up to the bully in his brain, once and for all.

An authentic and affecting #ownvoices story about living life with OCD, from the inspiring author and mental health activist, Lily Bailey. Perfect for readers of A Kind of Spark and The Goldfish Boy.

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781510109803
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 314 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 32 mm

You may also be interested in...

Withering Tights
Added to basket
The Voyage of the Dawn Treader (Hardback)
Added to basket
The Dragonsitter
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Clean Break
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Bird
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Two Homes
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Cliffhanger
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Fire Colour One
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
The Illustrated Mum
Added to basket
The Lottie Project
Added to basket
My Dad
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Vicky Angel
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Midnight
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Tiger Rising
Added to basket
£6.99
Paperback
Treason
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
My Dad
Added to basket
£6.99
Board book

“Cleverly written with sensitivity but with honesty and true grit.”

When I see blue
By Lily Bailey
Published by Hatchette Children’s Group

What an insight into the painful world of OCD and mental health told from a child’s perspective. Lily Bailey author and mental health activist,... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Detailed, relatable, inspiring, important”

This book shows Obsessive Compulsive Disorder in the most detailed way I have ever come across in children's fiction. As a sufferer, I can relate to Ben from the first chapter.

Ben is a really likable and... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Either way, this is a story of hope.”

‘I realise I had so much fun I forgot about the door.’

This is, without doubt an important book. Written in the first person Ben’s world is firstly complex – frightening. A tale of the number four, the power of... More

Paperback edition
4 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: