When I Come Home Again (Paperback)
  • When I Come Home Again (Paperback)
zoom

When I Come Home Again (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 496 Pages / Published: 24/06/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A page-turning literary gem' THE TIMES, BEST BOOKS OF 2020

From the highly acclaimed author of The Photographer of the Lost, a BBC Radio 2 Book Club Pick, comes a beautiful and compelling story based on true events, perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore.

One Great War soldier with no memory.
Three women who claim him as their own.

1918.
A soldier is arrested in Durham Cathedral in the last week of the First World War, but he has no memory of who he is or how he came to be there.

He is given the name Adam and transferred to a rehabilitation institution in the Lake District where Doctor James Haworth is determined to uncover his identity. But, unwilling to relive the trauma of war, Adam has locked his memory away, seemingly for good.

Then a newspaper publishes a feature about Adam, and three women come forward, each claiming that he is someone she lost in the war. But without memory, how do you know who to believe?

Based on true events, When I Come Home Again is a beautiful and compelling story about love, loss and longing in the aftermath of war, perfect for fans of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore.

Praise for When I Come Home Again:

'A superb and quietly devastating novel about grief, hope and the horrific aftershocks of war' The Times, Book of the Month

'Scott unravels her haunting tale in unpretentious but persuasive prose' Sunday Times

'When I Come Home Again is a heartbreaking read which reveals the far-reaching tragedies of war. My heart ached for the three women and for Adam... I highly recommend it - and I very much look forward to Caroline Scott's next novel' Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones

'Atmospheric descriptions of the Lake District contrast with the horrors of war in this poignant and breathtaking exploration of loss, love and precious memories' My Weekly, Pick of the Month

'A powerful story that's achingly moving and most beautifully written. Readers of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore are likely to enjoy' Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child

'This beautiful book packs a huge emotional punch' Fabulous

'Captivating, heartbreaking and uplifting. This beautiful and moving book drew me in from the first line and held me enthralled until the very end' Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift

'Caroline Scott's quietly devastating second novel insightfully explores the impact of the Great War on returning soldiers and the families that waited... Scott skillfully unspools their heartbreaking stories while uncovering the source of Adam's fear' Daily Mail

'A compulsive, heart-wrenching read, beautifully and painfully evoking the toxic mix of grief and guilt suffered by survivors and the bereaved following WWI' Liz Trenow, author of Under a Wartime Sky

'In this powerful psychological novel, Scott explores the mental health of everyone involved in the soldier's life. A carefully, nuanced, complex story' Woman & Home

'I absolutely loved it. It was page turning, mysterious, engrossing and compelling. I thought so many times I had it all figured out and I was wrong every time. I couldn't get to the end fast enough and finished it at 1 am feeling bereft' Lorna Cook, author of The Forbidden Promise

'A carefully nuanced, complex story' Woman's Weekly

'A haunting novel with loss at its heart - the loss of self, loved ones and the lives that should have been. Caroline Scott evokes the damage and desolation of the Great War with aching authenticity, and her writing is exquisite' Iona Grey, author of The Glittering Hour

'A poignant story about love and loss' Best

'Wonderful and evocative . . . it is so much more subtle and complex than being just the journey to discover who Adam really is. It is not only about memory and identity, it's about the repercussions and tragedy of war, reaching out across vast swathes of society' Suzanne Goldring, author of Burning Island

'Based on true events, this is a powerful story' Bella

'A beautifully written novel - immersive, poignant, intricately woven' Judith Kinghorn, author of The Echo of Twilight

'An evocative read' heat

'Outstanding... The story left me breathless. Powerful, heartrending, and oh so tender. A whirlwind of emotions that will not allow us to forget' Kate Furnivall, author of The Guardian of Lies

'Scott's tense and compelling mystery - with so many broken lives at its centre - is a timely reminder that the repercussions of war are lasting, painful and tragic' Lancashire Post

'Scott litters her tale with clues and red herrings in the best mystery-writer way so we are kept guessing as to where the truth really lies' The BookBag

Publisher: Simon & Schuster Ltd
ISBN: 9781471183775
Number of pages: 496
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
'A page-turning literary gem about grief, loss and the impact of war on those left behind' * The Times, Best Books of 2020 *
'A superb and quietly devastating novel about grief, hope and the horrific aftershocks of war' -- Antonia Senior * The Times, Book of the Month *
'When I Come Home Again is a heartbreaking read which reveals the far-reaching tragedies of war. My heart ached for the three women and for Adam... I highly recommend it - and I very much look forward to Caroline Scott's next novel' -- Anita Frank, author of The Lost Ones
'Caroline Scott's quietly devastating second novel insightfully explores the impact of the Great War on returning soldiers and their families... Scott skillfully unspools their heartbreaking stories while uncovering Adam's secrets and the source of his fear' * S Magazine *
'A powerful story that's achingly moving and most beautifully written. Readers of Maggie O'Farrell and Helen Dunmore are likely to enjoy When I Come Home Again' -- Rachel Hore, author of The Love Child
'I absolutely loved it. It was page turning, mysterious, engrossing and compelling. I thought so many times I had it all figured out and I was wrong every time. I couldn't get to the end fast enough and finished it at 1 am feeling bereft' -- Lorna Cook, author of The Forbidden Promise
'Wonderful and evocative . . . it was immediately intriguing and had the ring of truth. But what I realised . . . is that it is so much more subtle and complex than being just the journey to discover who Adam really is. It is not only about memory and identity, it's about the repercussions and tragedy of war, reaching out across vast swathes of society'
-- Suzanne Goldring, author of Burning Island
'Captivating, heart-breaking and uplifting. This beautiful and moving book drew me in from the first line and held me enthralled until the very end' -- Fiona Valpy, author of The Dressmaker's Gift
'A haunting novel with loss at its heart - the loss of self, loved ones and the lives that should have been. Caroline Scott evokes the damage and desolation of the Great War with aching authenticity, and her writing is exquisite' -- Iona Grey, author of The Glittering Hour
'When I Come Home Again is a compulsive, heart-wrenching read, beautifully and painfully evoking the toxic mix of grief and guilt suffered by survivors and the bereaved following WWI. When a man arrives who cannot remember who he is, three bereaved women genuinely believe him to be their own lost loved one, with devastating consequences' -- Liz Trenow, author of Under a Wartime Sky
'When a WWI soldier with complete memory loss is discovered in Durham cathedral, more than one woman steps forward to claim him as her own. But the past is a place he has shut away, and in this powerful psychological novel, Scott explores the mental health of everyone involved in the soldier's life. A carefully, nuanced, complex story' * Woman & Home *
'A beautifully written novel - immersive, poignant, intricately woven'
-- Judith Kinghorn, author of The Echo of Twilight
'Scott litters her tale with clues and red herrings in the best mystery-writer way so we are kept guessing as to where the truth really lies' * The BookBag *
'Atmospheric descriptions of the Lake District contrast with the horrors of war in this poignant and breathtaking exploration of loss, love and precious memories' * My Weekly, Pick of the Month *
'An evocative read' * heat *
'Outstanding... The story left me breathless. Powerful, heartrending, and oh so tender. A whirlwind of emotions that will not allow us to forget' -- Kate Furnivall, author of The Guardian of Lies
'This beautiful book packs a huge emotional punch'
* Fabulous *
'Scott's tense and compelling mystery - with so many broken lives at its centre - is a timely reminder that the repercussions of war are lasting, painful and tragic'
* Lancashire Post *
'Caroline Scott's quietly devastating second novel insightfully explores the effect of the great war on returning soldiers and the families that waited, longingly, for their return' * Daily Mail *
'A carefully nuanced, complex story' * Woman's Weekly *
'A poignant story about love and loss' * Best *
'Based on true events, this is a powerful story' * Bella *
'Scott unravels her haunting tale in unpretentious but persuasive prose'
* Sunday Times *

You may also be interested in...

Heresy
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Sword Song
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Black Moth
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket
Dissolution
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Sisters Brothers
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Emperor's Babe
Added to basket
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Tipping The Velvet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The White Queen
Added to basket
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
The Name of the Rose
Added to basket
Shogun
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback

“Looking for hope in every corner....”

Caroline Scott’s first novel, The Photographer of the Lost’, is one of my favourite stories based around WWII and its aftermath. In her second novel the story develops, centred on blending with true events relating to... More

Hardback edition
3 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 15

“Amazing Book”

Wow what a book by the author, This is the 1st Book I have read by the author and it won’t be the last.

I have recommend this amazing book to everyone I know.

This book tells the story of young solider found in... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

“Evokes a powerful, emotional response!”

When I Come Home Again is a gently-paced book that packs a searing and lasting punch … all the more so for being based on true events. It’s a fresh retelling of the devastation of war; of the carnage it wreaks on the... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.