What We Live For, What We Die For: Selected Poems - The Margellos World Republic of Letters (Paperback)
  • What We Live For, What We Die For: Selected Poems - The Margellos World Republic of Letters (Paperback)
zoom

What We Live For, What We Die For: Selected Poems - The Margellos World Republic of Letters (Paperback)

(author), (translator), (translator), (foreword)
£12.99
Paperback 160 Pages
Published: 11/06/2019
  • In stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket

An introduction to an original poetic voice from eastern Ukraine with deep roots in the unique cultural landscape of post-Soviet devastation
 
“This collection of Ukrainian writer Serhiy Zhadan’s poems will likely cement his reputation as the unflinching witness to the turbulent social and political travails of his nation. With an acerbic tone that will seem familiar to admirers of Franz Wright or Charles Bukowski, Zhadan’s no-nonsense verses are sure to strike more than a few nerves.”—World Literature Today
 
“A startling collection of verse.”—Askold Melnyczuk, Times Literary Supplement
 
“Everyone can find something, if they only look carefully,” reads one of the memorable lines from this first collection of poems in English by the world‑renowned Ukrainian author Serhiy Zhadan. These robust and accessible narrative poems feature gutsy portraits of life on wartorn and poverty-ravaged streets, where children tally the number of local deaths, where mothers live with low expectations, and where romance lives like a remote memory. In the tradition of Tom Waits, Charles Bukowski, and William S. Burroughs, Zhadan creates a new poetics of loss, a daily crusade of testimonial, a final witness of abandoned lives in a claustrophobic universe where “every year there’s less and less air.” Yet despite the grimness of these portraits, Zhadan’s poems are familiar and enchanting, lit by the magic of everyday detail, leaving readers with a sense of hope, knowing that the will of a people “will never let it be / like it was before.”

Publisher: Yale University Press
ISBN: 9780300223361
Number of pages: 160
Dimensions: 197 x 152 x 11 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

“This collection of Ukrainian writer Serhiy Zhadan’s poems will likely cement his reputation as the unflinching witness to the turbulent social and political travails of his nation. With an acerbic tone that will seem familiar to admirers of Franz Wright or Charles Bukowski, Zhadan’s no-nonsense verses are sure to strike more than a few nerves.”—World Literature Today“A startling collection of verse.”—Askold Melnyczuk, Times Literary SupplementSelected as a 2020 PEN Translation Award Semi-Finalist, sponsored by PEN America Literary AwardsReceived honorable mention for the Lois Roth Award, sponsored by the Modern Language Association of AmericaShortlisted for the Walcott Prize, sponsored by Arrow Press

You may also be interested in...

Selected Poems
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Collected Poems
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
The Prophet
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Selected Poems of Sylvia Plath
Added to basket
Poetry Please
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Beowulf
Added to basket
£12.99
Paperback
Ariel
Added to basket
£12.99
Hardback
Inferno: The Divine Comedy I
Added to basket
Poems
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Metamorphoses
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
Selected Poems: Keats
Added to basket
Songs of Innocence and of Experience
Added to basket
The Odyssey
Added to basket
£9.99
Paperback
The Divine Comedy
Added to basket

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: