What the Waves Know: A Novel (Paperback)
  • What the Waves Know: A Novel (Paperback)
zoom

What the Waves Know: A Novel (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 10/03/2016
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

In the tradition of Sue Monk Kidd and Beth Hoffman comes a compelling debut novel about a young woman's quest to find herself-and her voice-on the island where she lost both.

The tiny state of Rhode Island is home to even tinier Tillings Island-which witnessed the biggest event of Izabella Rae Haywood's life. For it was there, on Iz's sixth birthday, that her father left...and took her voice with him.

Eight years later in the summer of 1974, Iz's mother is through with social workers, psychiatrists and her daughter's silence. In one last attempt to return Iz's voice, the motley pair board the ferry to Tillings in hopes that the journey will help Izabella heal herself by piecing together splintered memories of the day her words fled.

But heartbreak is a difficult puzzle to solve, and everyone in Tillings seems to know something Iz does not. Worse, each has an opinion about Izabella's dreamer of a father, the undercurrents of whose actions have spun so many lives off course.

Now, as the island's annual Yemaya festival prepares to celebrate the ties that bind mothers to children, lovers to each other, and humankind to the sea, Izabella must unravel the tangled threads of her own history and reclaim a voice gone silent...or risk losing herself-and any chance she may have for a future-to the past.

What the Waves Know is a moving, magical novel that asks us to consider the stories which tell the truth and the stories we tell ourselves.

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers Inc
ISBN: 9780062413857
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 251 g
Dimensions: 203 x 135 x 20 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
What the Waves Know is a beautiful, elegant book that dives deep into the heart of childhood, memory and voice. Izabella, our silent protagonist, will surely stay with you for a very long time, as if she were someone you once knew and loved. -- Jessica Anya Blau, national bestselling author of The Summer of Naked Swim Parties
"In this journey of trauma and healing, the walking wounded repair their lives together, their voices shaping a rough chorus that calls us back from darkness to light." -- USA Today bestselling author Pamela Schoenewaldt
With poignant language and compelling characters, Tamara Valentine explores voice and silence, creativity and madness, imagination and memory, and the mysteries that imbue our world and our minds. In so doing, Valentine reminds us that to be fully human is to be both a story teller and a story dweller. -- Christina Meldrum, author of Madapple and Amaryllis in Blueberry
"What the Waves Know is a marvelous novel that creates a sense of place so specific you can practically taste the salt spray on the windswept New England beaches." -- New York Times and USA Today bestselling author, Mary McNear
A novel rich in mythology and childhood secrets... This dreamy coming-of-age mystery unfolds in tantalizing waves with keen insight and lush prose. -- Kirkus Reviews
Valentine's debut is a well-written, charming book. She writes gracefully about loss and sadness and how time and good people can help to heal the wounds of a hurting child. -- Library Journal
With the sass of Fannie Flagg and the subtle magic of Alice Hoffman, this short but powerful book should find readers of many generations. -- Booklist
"Valentine's debut novel is a beautiful tale of loss, love and the fortitude of the human spirit." -- Romantic Times BOOKclub, 4 stars

You may also be interested in...

The Name Of The Rose
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Pale Horseman
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
A Place of Greater Safety
Added to basket
Mightier than the Sword
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The King's Curse
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.49
Paperback
An Echo in the Bone
Added to basket
Master and Commander
Added to basket
The Boleyn Inheritance
Added to basket
Bring Up the Bodies
Added to basket
The Leopard
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Lamentation
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Demelza
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Other Boleyn Girl
Added to basket
Ross Poldark
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Beloved
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Girl With a Pearl Earring
Added to basket

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.