What a Shame (Paperback)
  • What a Shame (Paperback)
zoom

What a Shame (Paperback)

(author)
7 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£8.99
Paperback 272 Pages
Published: 05/01/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Scabrously funny and delightfully unpredictable, Bergstrom's debut novel revolves around Mathilda - mourning a break-up and forced into ever more extreme methods of attempting to move on.

There is something wrong with Mathilda.

She's still reeling from the blow of a gut-punch break up and grieving the death of a loved one. But that's not it.

She's cried all her tears, mastered her crow pose and thrown out every last reminder of him. But that's not helping.

Concerned that she isn't moving on, Mathilda's friends push her towards a series of increasingly unorthodox remedies. Until the seams of herself begin to come undone.

Tender, unflinching and blisteringly funny, What a Shame glitters with rage and heartbreak, perfect for fans of Emma Jane Unsworth, Dolly Alderton and Holly Bourne.

Publisher: Hodder & Stoughton
ISBN: 9781529367065
Number of pages: 272
Weight: 194 g
Dimensions: 196 x 128 x 24 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

An intelligent, moving and darkly comic debut, taking us deftly from serious explorations of trauma and consent to riotously funny scenes of modern life - it's like Fleabag with a sprinkling of the occult. - The Sunday Times

Tipped to be THE hit book of 2022 - Daily Mail

Affecting, clever and blisteringly humorous... a riveting read about heartbreak, female shame and self-acceptance - Sarra Manning, Red Magazine

Hits the nail on the head . . . above all it's a really beautiful portrayal of female friendship. - Laura Hackett, Times Radio

Dazzling . . . By turns funny, sharp, raw and overwhelming, this is one of those novels where you think you are exploring someone else's pain, only to realise you are actually exploring your own - Read of the Week, Heat

Alternately haunting and hilarious . . . an original and zeitgeisty story about grief, friendship, secrets, shame and self-acceptance. - Daily Mail

It's LOL, ever-so-relatable and will also have you weeping into a snotty tissue. Love, love, love - Cosmopolitan

A modern story of grief and loss - Refinery29

Bergstrom's prose, and especially the core dynamic of Mathilda and her friends (a coven of voice notes and anxious love) has a sweet verisimilitude that is delightfully frank, (re)inscribing warmth and intimacy for warmth and intimacy's sakes. And if it all seems a bit familiar - the millennial hodgepodge of tarot, bad dates, housemates and female trauma - well, maybe this is also the point. Maybe these stories are more common than we want to believe. - The Skinny

Absorbing and clever . . . I fell in love with Mathilda - Cathy Rentzenbrink

Raw and unexpected and weird and utterly brilliant - Otegha Uwagba

As soon as I finished the final page of What a Shame a deep ache set in. Written by one of the cleverest and boldest writers I've ever read, it is a powerful, beautiful, fascinating novel that will be read for years by any and all young women looking for a friend. I already miss Mathilda. - Scarlett Curtis

Comparisons to Sally Rooney are inevitable, but this heartfelt, sharp-yet-tender novel earns its own place in the spotlight - Erin Kelly

What A Shame weaves eternal themes of grief and heartbreak against a modern canvas that is clear and recognisable. There's a piercing sense of what happens when your tragedy becomes your anecdote, and your anecdote becomes tiring to the people around you. Full of heart, wit and feeling, Bergstrom is a new voice but sure to be an enduring one. - Caroline O'Donoghue

A brilliant debut - Cariad Lloyd

Raw, poignant, haunting (and hilarious!)... In Mathilda, Bergstrom has created a clear-eyed heroine for a new generation. - Sam Baker

Truly captivating, blisteringly funny, so clever and perceptive and beautifully written. It made me want to voicenote all my friends immediately. I loved it! - Lauren Bravo

A book that simultaneously punches you in the gut and makes you snort with laughter. It's beautifully raw in its delivery. A glorious new talent has arrived - Emma Gannon

Dark, nuanced and provocative, this is a sterling debut that fans of Caroline O'Donoghue, Holly Bourne and Emma Jane Unsworth are sure to love. Mathilda's chilling - but ultimately redemptive - story will stay with me. - Laura Jane Williams

Razor-sharp, compelling and darkly funny. An extraordinary novel that will stay with me for a long time. - Laura Kay

What a Shame fizzes with energy, rage and love, burrowing deep into those experiences that define us at our core. Bergstrom writes with wit and wisdom, and Mathilda's voice is ever-incisive, fresh and compelling. - Jessica Moor

I fell hard for Mathilda and her tale of heartache, grief and acceptance. Like most of us, she's a bit weird and a bit wild, and you'll be so glad you met her. - Laura Pearson

A wry and zeitgeisty look at grief, heartbreak and the fix-you industry, What a Shame asks whether we can ever expect closure from our worst and most secret pain and fear. A must-read for anyone who has ever felt defined by a break-up. - Harriet Walker

Crackles with wit and emotional insight . . . so good on tangled webs of feeling, the power of female friendships, and hope - Emma Hughes

Dark, complex and very funny. A dazzling debut about the power of self-belief, sisterhood and letting go - Hannah Tovey

A book that beautifully balances the light and the dark. I loved spending time with Mathilda, a heroine who's funny, wise, wonderfully weird and brave, and who feels like a friend. - Chloë Ashby

Tender, searingly honest and widely vulnerable. I couldn't stop reading - Angela Scanlon

An absolute corker - tender, sexy and weird. I can't wait to see what she writes next - Michelle Thomas

My favourite kind of book: the kind that you can't help but race through, leaves you immediately devastated when you finish it and envious of everyone who has yet to read it. - Dr Soph

A painfully exquisite book, by a unique talent that has single handedly rewritten the narrative of female shame - Camilla Pang

Abigail Bergstrom's assured debut is a forensic excavation of the female psyche - on friendship, grief, and the secrets we keep to survive. - Laura Bailey

A beautiful, raw story of self-acceptance and shame that haunted me until I finished the last page. Reading Abigail's debut captured the pain and release that comes with laughing at a funeral. I swallowed the story in big gulps and will push it towards my friends. An ambitious, beautifully balanced novel that manages to strike laughter and heartache in equal measure. - Abigail Mann

[A] wry, poignant meditation on female shame, healing and friendship - Culture Whisperer

What a Shame is an absorbing experience; the story is strange yet brilliant . . . it's dark and raw and funny, with a woman on an emotionally engulfing journey at its centre . . . like Sorrow and Bliss on acid . . . A real gem. - Well Read with Anna Bonet

Abigail Bergstrom's darkly funny debut is a sharply observed account of a group of young women finding their way and discovering that they are more powerful than they imagined - Daily Mail

You may also be interested in...

Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
Happy Place
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
This Family
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Marriage Portrait
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Bride
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Once Upon A Broken Heart
Added to basket

“"Utterly Brilliant."”

Utterly brilliant.

I needn’t really say more than that, but I’m going to. ‘What a Shame’ is an impeccable debut. It is wickedly funny; a perfect piece of prose for the Fleabag generation.

We follow Mathilda... More

Hardback edition
1 similar book recommended
Helpful? Upvote 11

“Brilliant and heartbreaking”

A brilliant and exciting debut exploring grief and relationships (romantic and family). The author has wonderfully crafted a sad but eventually hopeful narrative which is compelling and wonderfully written. The... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 10

“Heartbreak and Curses - Perfect for fans of Dolly Alderton and Fleabag”

Mathilda is still reeling from the death of her father and her boyfriend walking out on her all within a matter of weeks. She has moved in with three of her girlfriends who all do their best to help her recover - but... More

Hardback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 8

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: