Wet Paint (Hardback)
  • Wet Paint (Hardback)
zoom

Wet Paint (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 336 Pages
Published: 14/04/2022

This product is currently unavailable.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Sally Rooney, Naoise Dolan and Raven Leilani, Ashby's electrifying fiction debut revolves around the rudderless Eve, who is forced to confront the traumatic events surrounding her best friend's death.

Since the death of her best friend Grace, twenty-six-year-old Eve has learned to keep everything and everyone at arm's length. Safe in her detachment, she scrapes along waiting tables and cleaning her shared flat in exchange for cheap rent, finding solace in her small routines.

But when a chance encounter at work brings her past thundering into her present, Eve becomes consumed by painful memories of Grace. And soon her precariously maintained life begins to unravel: she loses her job, gets thrown out of her flat, and risks pushing away the one decent man who cares about her.

Taking up life-modelling to pay the bills, Eve lays bare her body but keeps hidden the mounting chaos inside her head. When her self-destructive urges spiral out of control, she's forced to confront the traumatic event that changed the course of her life, and to finally face her grief and guilt.

Publisher: Orion Publishing Co
ISBN: 9781398702981
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 540 g
Dimensions: 240 x 162 x 36 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

A blistering story of one girl's attempts to outmanoeuvre past trauma, loss and rejection only to find her life descending into chaos - STYLIST

What marks Ashby out as a distinctive voice is the warmth and compassion with which she depicts her characters and their milieu. - OBSERVER

In this poised, heartfelt debut, Ashby paints a raw, richly-detailed portrait of untethered youth, friendship and suppressed grief. - Olivia Sudjic, author of Asylum Road

A skilful, absorbing novel that is so much about seeing and being seen. - THE SPECTATOR

With a careful, subtle, and compassionate description of the ways in which a life may be shaped by loss, Ashby creates a realistic and elegant portrait of a young woman beginning to recover herself from bereavement. - IRISH TIMES

This isn't a book you read, but a book you step into. Chloe Ashby has created a mesmerising and energetic world of grief, art and self discovery. I loved Eve and spending time with her on every page. - Emma Gannon, author of Olive

Wet Paint is a clever, gripping novel in which art and life reflect on and imitate one another. - TIMES LITERARY SUPPLEMENT

A beautiful story made all the richer by Ashby's deep understanding of the profound presence of art in everyday life. - THE ART SOCIETY

An utterly absorbing story of art, friendship, love, and loss. Perfect for fans of Anna Hope's Expectation but very much its own tender, dark, funny, vivid thing. - Lydia Ruffles, author of The Taste of Blue Light

Dark, witty and totally compelling. - Laura Kay, author of The Split

Wet Paint is a brilliant, heart-rending novel that explores grief and loss with expert precision. Beautifully written and exquisitely told, this story is delicate, powerful and honest all at once. This is an unforgettable novel, and I'll read anything Chloe Ashby writes. - Lucia Osborne-Crowley, author of My Body Keeps Your Secrets

Poignant, at times heart-wrenching, but liberally sprinkled with dry wit. This is a novel about grief, trauma and life-saving relationships. What I liked most about it is that even as Eve spiralled and struggled with loss, guilt and depression, she had people in her life who never gave up on her, so I closed this book feeling warm and hopeful - Jendella Benson, author of Hope & Glory

Wet Paint is a searing exploration of grief, friendship and what it is to grow up. It made me laugh but also cry. I will think about this book for a long time. - Annie Lord

A courageous and unwinding exploration of female pain. Ashby's writing suspends you into the high waves of grief and keeps your feet wet in the puddles of unprocessed trauma. Dark, funny and hopeful, it's a remarkable story. - Abigail Bergstrom

A compelling exploration of enduring grief, and a striking portrait of the intensity and fragility of the friendships that form us. Darkly funny and relatable - a great read about love, art, and navigating the trials of learning how to be an adult. - Francesca Reece, author of Voyeur

A beautiful exploration of how grief can derail the sense of self at a crucial time in your 20s, shot through with dark humour & hope. I felt like Eve was my mate, and was desperate for her to sort it out! - Sareeta Domingo, author of Who's Loving You

A devastatingly raw depiction of one young woman's grief, Wet Paint is a story about mental health and sexual assault with tenderness at its heart. I was heavily invested in Eve's story and I felt my own kind of grief when it ended. Moving, brave and hauntingly beautiful. - Laura Price

A skilful, absorbing novel that is so much about seeing and being seen. - The Spectator

What marks Ashby out as a distinctive voice is the warmth and compassion with which she depicts her characters and their milieu. - The Observer

With a careful, subtle, and compassionate description of the ways in which a life may be shaped by loss, Ashby creates a realistic and elegant portrait of a young woman beginning to recover herself from bereavement. - The Irish Times

A beautiful story made all the richer by Ashby's deep understanding of the profound presence of art in everyday life. - The Arts Society

You may also be interested in...

Butter
Added to basket
£14.99
Paperback
When the Moon Hatched
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Tom Lake
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Guest
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Serpent and the Wings of Night
Added to basket
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Last Devil To Die
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
The Seventh Son
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid Is Watching
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Four Seasons in Japan
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £20.00
Hardback
Not in Love
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Fraud
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Long Island
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Think Twice
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
Blue Sisters
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Murder at the Monastery
Added to basket

“Intensely immersive”

Chloë Ashby’s debut novel is narrated by Eve, a young woman trying to navigate life after her friend Grace’s death. We are there as Eve’s memories of Grace slowly consume her, as she becomes increasingly... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“Wet Paint - beautiful, traumatic and real”

A devastatingly beautiful exploration of friendship, love and grief. Following Eve on her journey to overcome hardships she has encountered. It was interesting to see the change from chapter to chapter as Eve tries to... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 4

“'Clever and captivating debut'”

If you’re wondering whether or not you should read this book, there’s an easy answer: you should. It’s the kind of novel that stays with you long after you’ve read it; it has an atmosphere to it unlike any other book... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 3

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: