Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop (Hardback)
  • Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop (Hardback)
zoom

Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop (Hardback)

(author), (translator)
£14.99
Hardback 320 Pages
Published: 26/10/2023
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Perfect reading for fans of Toshikazu Kawaguchi and Hiro Arikawa, Welcome to the Hyunam-dong Bookshop is an irresistibly sweet-natured tale revolving around the quirky owner and customers of the titular literary emporium.

There was only one thing on her mind.

I must start a bookshop.

Yeongju did everything she was supposed to, go to university, marry a decent man, get a respectable job. Then it all fell apart.

Burned out, Yeongju abandons her old life, quits her high-flying career, divorces her husband, and follows her dream. She opens a bookshop. In a quaint neighbourhood in Seoul, surrounded by books, Yeongju and her customers take refuge. From the lonely barista to the unhappily married housewife, and the writer who sees something special in Yeongju - they all have disappointments in their past.

The Hyunam-dong Bookshop becomes the place where they all learn how to truly live. A heart-warming story about finding comfort and acceptance in your life - and the healing power of books.

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526662279
Number of pages: 320
Dimensions: 216 x 135 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Profound and healing … a beautiful story at its heart - Book of the Month, Woman & Home

An incredibly exciting debut novel. At once gentle and invigorating. I devoured it - Sarah Crossan, author of Here is the Beehive

This was a word of mouth Korean sensation when it was first published and now translated into English it isn’t hard to see why. This novel is both a balm for the soul and a glorious love letter to books and reading - Top Fiction Pick, iPaper

A story that embraces its sentimentality - Observer

Quirky… It’s a tale about community and finding comfort in the small things - Monocle

A real love letter to reading... wonderful - Good Housekeeping

Delightful, reflective and heart-warming … we challenge you not to fall in love with it - Woman's Weekly

All readers who love books about books will fall in love with this charming story - Prima

This is a love letter to bookshops and to the people who find solace among their shelves … An absolutely charming novel that all bookworms will adore - Red

Reader Reviews:

'Love love love this book! Cosy, heart warming, wholesome...Will be recommending this to everyone. It makes me smile when I think about it!'

'Such a beautiful book, I adored the story and characters, The writing style was gorgeous. 100% recommend.'

'A love letter to books, bookshops and all who love them'

'Such a warm and cosy read! Was completely here for it...and the appreciation for books was magical'

'A heart-warming cosy read that makes you think about how important it is to be happy, and that we can all find a place to call ‘home’.'

You may also be interested in...

I Will Find You
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
In The Blink of An Eye
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
The Bullet That Missed
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Small Things Like These
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Demon Copperhead
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
The Last Devil to Die
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Black Bird Oracle
Added to basket
Days at the Morisaki Bookshop
Added to basket
£10.99   £9.49
Paperback
We Solve Murders
Added to basket
£22.00   £16.99
Hardback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
In Ascension
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Really Good, Actually
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback

“The cosy bookshop book that hits you right into your soul.”

I don't read much literary fiction but this was just incredible.

This book resonated with me on a molecular level. Most likely due to me being a bookseller but I loved all the conversations that were had about... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 11

“the joys of books”

Thank you to the publishers for the early copy of this book.
This was such a lovely lovely book, and it was such a joy to read! It’s a nice calm book, following a cast of characters as they become more comfortable... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“A Book Lover’s Dream”

This is such a lovely, comforting read. It is perfect for those who have worked in a bookshop or just enjoy spending time within one.
Rather than having a through storyline, this is more like a series of anecdotes... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 6

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: