• Sign In
  • Help
  • My Basket0
The books you love, the emails you want
Opt in by 25 May or you'll stop hearing from us
REVIEW NOW
We Should Hang Out Sometime (Hardback)
  • We Should Hang Out Sometime (Hardback)
zoom

We Should Hang Out Sometime (Hardback)

(author)
£13.99
Hardback 336 Pages / Published: 29/01/2015
  • We can order this

Usually despatched within 1 week

  • This item has been added to your basket

Check Marketplace availability

Josh Sundquist had only ever had one girlfriend.
For 23 hours.
In eighth grade.

Why was Josh still single? To find out, he tracked down the girls he had tried to date and asked them straight up: What went wrong?

We Should Hang Out Sometime is the the result of Josh's semi-scientific, wholly hilarious investigation. From a disastrous putt-putt date involving a backwards prosthetic foot to his introduction to CFD (Close Fast Dancing) to a misguided "grand gesture" at a Miss America pageant, this story is about looking for love-or at least a girlfriend-in all the wrong places. We Should Hang Out Sometime is for every person who has ever wondered, "is there something wrong with me?" (the answer, by the way, is "no").
By revisiting middle school, high school, and college experiences, inspirational speaker Josh Sundquist shares what it was like to grow up as "the guy with one leg." Interspersed with the author's black-and-white line art, this real life story will appeal to fans of The Fault In Our Stars and Ned Vizzini's Teen Angst.

Publisher: Little, Brown & Company
ISBN: 9780316251020
Number of pages: 336
Weight: 474 g
Dimensions: 209 x 152 x 30 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for We Should Hang Out Sometime An Amazon.ca Best Books of December 2014 for Children and Teens SelectionA YALSA 2015 Teens Top Ten Nominee"You should read this book sometime. I loved it so much."--Justine Ezarik, New York Times bestselling author of I, Justine: An Analog Memoir
"Often hilarious, occasionally awkward, and always hopeful, Josh's quest for love will have readers rooting for him all the way."--Jennifer E. Smith, author of The Statistical Probability of Love at First Sight and The Geography of You and Me
"Josh Sundquist has written a sharp, funny memoir without an ounce of self-pity about how the fear of rejection can be far more crippling than any disease. A hilarious, heartfelt reminder that finding the courage to accept love is an inside job."--Aaron Hartzler, author of Rapture Practice
"Sundquist is a storyteller-flawed, wry, laid-back and sympathetic. Anyone who's felt awkward will alternately (or simultaneously) wince and burst out laughing at his earnest misadventures with stalkers, "Close Fast Dancing" and flow charts... but above all, they'll be rooting for Sundquist to hang out with a girl. Funny, sympathetic and poignant, Sundquist's memoir has a high probability of success."--Kirkus Reviews
"An autobiographical account that's equal parts hilarious and cringe-inducing...While his recent interviews and meetings with the girls from his past are often just as uncomfortable as their dates were, they also lead to answers as genuine as his narrative."--Publishers Weekly
"[A] laugh-out-loud memoir...This is a unique, earnest, and funny coming-of-age story about Sundquist's experiences. Readers will appreciate the humorous and often embarrassingly accurate tales depicted in the pages of this book."--SLJ
"Josh's voice is engaging and conversational, and readers will relate as they laugh along at his misadventures. From a disastrous putt-putt date to just general, suffusing awkwardness, Josh (who grew up to be a Paralympic ski racer) discovers that revisiting the past can be both embarrassing and enlightening. Irresistible fun."--Booklist
"[Sundquist's] findings are illuminating for anyone who has experienced social awkwardness in the field of attraction...and his gift for encouragement shines forcefully from his final chapters, where he assesses what went wrong and relates how he has used his new self-awareness to find love. Readers familiar with Sundquist's website and YouTube channel will be a natural audience for this."--The Bulletin
"Sundquist has written a compelling memoir, to which teens will be able to relate, as it probes the universal insecurities of teen dating."--School Library Connection

You may also be interested in...

Growing Up
Added to basket
£5.99
Paperback
A-Z of Growing Up, Puberty and Sex
Added to basket
Let's Talk About the Birds and the Bees
Added to basket
Things Tom Likes
Added to basket
Doing It
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Asking About Sex & Growing Up
Added to basket
Stories for Boys Who Dare to be Different
Added to basket
Dr Christian's Guide to You
Added to basket
What's Happening To Me?
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
The Boys' Guide to Growing Up
Added to basket
Mummy Laid An Egg!
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Let's Talk About Sex
Added to basket
The Girls' Guide to Growing Up
Added to basket
Help Your Kids with Growing Up
Added to basket
Sexting Panic
Added to basket
£19.99
Paperback

Reviews

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.