We Hunt the Flame - Sands of Arawiya (Paperback)
  • We Hunt the Flame - Sands of Arawiya (Paperback)
zoom

We Hunt the Flame - Sands of Arawiya (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99
Paperback 512 Pages
Published: 18/03/2021
  • 10+ in stock

Usually dispatched within 2-3 working days

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

A thrilling story of mystery, disguise and magic, the first part of Faizal’s fantasy duology pits a girl warrior forced to conceal her gender against a ruthless royal assassin. Set in a realm inspired by the history and legends of ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame is a brilliantly realised adventure yarn with characters you can’t help but root for.

Set in a richly detailed world inspired by ancient Arabia, Hafsah Faizal's We Hunt the Flame is a breathtaking debut about discovery, conquering fear and taking identity into your own hands. The first in the Sands of Arawiya duology, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone series.

People lived because she killed. People died because he lived.

Zafira is the Hunter. Forced to disguise herself as a man, she risks everything to provide for her people.

Nasir is the Prince of Death. A feared assassin who is forever bound to the command of his father, the sultan.

Both are legends in their kingdom - but neither wants to be. And when Zafira embarks on a dangerous quest to return magic to their suffering land, Nasir is sent on a similar mission. But as their journey unfolds, an anvient evil begins to stir . . .

Don't miss the epic sequel and conclusion to the duology, We Free The Stars.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529045178
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 361 g
Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

Could be the next Game of Thrones - Bustle

Delivers on all fronts. This book carries social importance—bringing magic and curiosity and complexity to the Arab world is still hardly done in Western pop culture—but beyond that, We Hunt the Flame is just an exciting, surprising read - Entertainment Weekly

Faizal bends fantasy tropes to her will to tell a fresh and gripping story about love, honor, and self-discovery that will leave readers scrambling for more. - Booklist, starred review

With fierce characters, deathly challenges, and world-building both lyrical and spellbinding, We Hunt the Flame is unputdownable - Marieke Njikamp, #1 New York Times bestselling author

Filled with rich worldbuilding with stakes that will keep you at the edge of your seat - Buzzfeed

Lyrical and filled with adventure, a slow-burn romance, and an unforgettable cast of characters in a world based on ancient Arabia, this is a debut series not to be missed - School Library Journal, starred review

Hafsah Faizal creates a dazzling and beautiful world that will make you not want to put this book down - Seventeen Magazine

Hafsah Faizal’s writing is so lush and evocative . . . gripping right from the first page - Popsugar

A sparkling debut, full of mystery and magic, vivid characters, and rich language - Roshani Chokshi, New York Times bestselling author

Beautiful storytelling, mesmerizing settings, and fiery characters—We Hunt the Flame is danger, magic, and hope all wrapped into one, and it is intoxicating - Evelyn Skye, New York Times-bestselling author of the Crown’s Game series

Enter the cursed world of Arawiya, and meet the girl who defies that curse - Hypable

Though certainly a love story, We Hunt the Flame is also a moving portrait of a heroine growing into her power as Zafira fights against the oppression of women. - Time Magazine, the Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time.

You may also be interested in...

If He Had Been with Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerless
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
If Only I Had Told Her
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Powerful
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Lightlark
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Better Than the Movies
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Hunger Games
Added to basket
Throne of Glass
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Five Survive
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Reappearance of Rachel Price
Added to basket
£14.99   £12.99
Hardback
Good Girl, Bad Blood
Added to basket
One Of Us Is Lying
Added to basket
£8.99   £6.99
Paperback
The Only Light Left Burning
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Lengthy fantasy novel set in an Arab-like world - quite good.”

The main protagonists, Prince Nasir and Zafira, have a quest to find a book to resotre magic to the world and spend a lot of time dancing around each other, failing to recognise fully their feelings - and it gets a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 41

“An exciting journey!”

We start with Zafira, who disguises herself as a man in order to hunt for her people. She’s a great character who really won me over, especially with her directness and determination. Then we meet Nasir, the prince... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 29

“Promise Unfulfilled, But an Enjoyable Read Nonetheless”

This book had the makings of everything perfect – a diverse cast, inspired by ancient Arabia, a brilliant writer, magic, female empowerment, a quest and a hate-to-love romance at the centre of it all.

To say that I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 23

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: