We Hunt the Flame - Sands of Arawiya (Paperback)
  • We Hunt the Flame - Sands of Arawiya (Paperback)
zoom

We Hunt the Flame - Sands of Arawiya (Paperback)

(author)
£8.99 £7.49
Paperback 512 Pages / Published: 18/03/2021
  • Save £1.50
  • 10+ in stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect
Waterstones Says

A thrilling story of mystery, disguise and magic, the first part of Faizal’s fantasy duology pits a girl warrior forced to conceal her gender against a ruthless royal assassin. Set in a realm inspired by the history and legends of ancient Arabia, We Hunt the Flame is a brilliantly realised adventure yarn with characters you can’t help but root for.

Set in a richly detailed world inspired by ancient Arabia, Hafsah Faizal's We Hunt the Flame is a breathtaking debut about discovery, conquering fear and taking identity into your own hands. The first in the Sands of Arawiya duology, perfect for fans of Leigh Bardugo's Shadow and Bone series.

People lived because she killed. People died because he lived.

Zafira is the Hunter. Forced to disguise herself as a man, she risks everything to provide for her people.

Nasir is the Prince of Death. A feared assassin who is forever bound to the command of his father, the sultan.

Both are legends in their kingdom - but neither wants to be. And when Zafira embarks on a dangerous quest to return magic to their suffering land, Nasir is sent on a similar mission. But as their journey unfolds, an anvient evil begins to stir . . .

Don't miss the epic sequel and conclusion to the duology, We Free The Stars.

Publisher: Pan Macmillan
ISBN: 9781529045178
Number of pages: 512
Weight: 360 g
Dimensions: 197 x 131 x 37 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'Delivers on all fronts. This book carries social importance-bringing magic and curiosity and complexity to the Arab world is still hardly done in Western pop culture-but beyond that, We Hunt the Flame is just an exciting, surprising read.' - Entertainment Weekly

'Faizal bends fantasy tropes to her will to tell a fresh and gripping story about love, honor, and self-discovery that will leave readers scrambling for more.' - Booklist

'With fierce characters, deathly challenges, and world-building both lyrical and spellbinding, We Hunt the Flame is unputdownable' - Marieke Njikamp

'Filled with rich worldbuilding with stakes that will keep you at the edge of your seat' - Buzzfeed

'Lyrical and filled with adventure, a slow-burn romance, and an unforgettable cast of characters in a world based on ancient Arabia, this is a debut series not to be missed' - School Library Journal

'A sparkling debut, full of mystery and magic, vivid characters, and rich language' - Roshani Chokshi

'Beautiful storytelling, mesmerizing settings, and fiery characters - We Hunt the Flame is danger, magic, and hope all wrapped into one, and it is intoxicating' - Evelyn Skye, author of the Crown's Game series

'Inspired by ancient Arabia, Hafsah Faizal's dazzling young adult novel focuses on the kingdom of Arawiya, where a lost artifact is needed to restore magic to the world . . . Though certainly a love story, We Hunt the Flame is also a moving portrait of a heroine growing into her power as Zafira fights against the oppression of women.' - Time Magazine, the Top 100 Fantasy Books of All Time.

You may also be interested in...

Heartstopper Volume 2
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 1
Added to basket
Nick and Charlie
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Solitaire
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume 3
Added to basket
Heartstopper Volume 4
Added to basket
This Winter
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Radio Silence
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Loveless
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
I Was Born for This
Added to basket
The Official Heartstopper Colouring Book
Added to basket
Girl in Pieces
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Twin Crowns
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Merciless Ones
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
All That's Left in the World
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
She Gets the Girl
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Shatter Me
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback

“Lengthy fantasy novel set in an Arab-like world - quite good.”

The main protagonists, Prince Nasir and Zafira, have a quest to find a book to resotre magic to the world and spend a lot of time dancing around each other, failing to recognise fully their feelings - and it gets a... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 37

“An exciting journey!”

We start with Zafira, who disguises herself as a man in order to hunt for her people. She’s a great character who really won me over, especially with her directness and determination. Then we meet Nasir, the prince... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 25

“Promise Unfulfilled, But an Enjoyable Read Nonetheless”

This book had the makings of everything perfect – a diverse cast, inspired by ancient Arabia, a brilliant writer, magic, female empowerment, a quest and a hate-to-love romance at the centre of it all.

To say that I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 18

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.