We Are Giants (Paperback)
  • We Are Giants (Paperback)
zoom

We Are Giants (Paperback)

(author)
3 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£6.99
Paperback 256 Pages / Published: 07/04/2016
  • In stock online

Usually dispatched within 24 hours

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

'A total page-turner...very moving and touching.' JACQUELINE WILSON

A brilliantly funny and wonderfully warm-hearted story about love, family, and what it means to be different.

Sydney thinks her mum Amy is the best mum in the world - even if she is a bit different. When everyone else kept growing, Amy got to four feet tall and then stopped right there. The perfect height, in Sydney's opinion: big enough to reach the ice cream at the supermarket, small enough to be special. Sydney's dad died when she was only five, but her memories of him, her mum's love and the company of her brave big sister Jade means she never feels alone . . .

But when the family are forced to move house, things get tricky. Sydney and Jade must make new friends, deal with the bullies at their new school and generally figure out the business of growing up in a strange new town.

And Sydney doesn't want to grow up - not if it means getting bigger than her mum...

Publisher: Hachette Children's Group
ISBN: 9781784294212
Number of pages: 256
Weight: 184 g
Dimensions: 198 x 130 x 17 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
A total page-turner...very moving and touching. * Jacqueline Wilson *
It deals with topics that would be familiar to a lot of 9-12 year olds...refreshing and heartwarming, without being too sickly - well worth a read! * Waterstone's Books Quarterly *
This book will have you well and truly hooked from the opening chapter [...] It's a truly wonderful and touching book that doesn't shy away from some important and sensitive issues. We loved it to bits! * ReaditDaddy *
An engaging story that will appeal to fans of Jacqueline Wilson... The story weaves in a very informative explanation of the challenges of dwarfism through the prejudice and practical challenges Sydney's mum has to face in her daily life... -- Sue Magee * The Bookbag *
...a touching and sensitive book, told with great insight and understanding; it is always realistic, does not gloss over the problems but gives a positive and encouraging spin. * Parents In Touch *
For readers of Lara Williamson and R J Palacio, this debut promises to be an original and warm-hearted take on grief, growing up and living with a disability. -- Fiona Noble * The Bookseller *
You can really relate to what they feel and think ... it's wonderfully written -- Kat Winter - Guardian Children's Books Site Young Reviewer * The Guardian *
It was refreshing to see such a diverse family ... I found myself wrapped up in the story and read it in one sitting. It is a book that will keep you turning the pages wanting more ... A truly thoughtful and moving read. * BookLoverJo *
There is lots to talk about within the book and lots to like about it too. It doesn't set out to be too complex, but tells a story by wholeheartedly bringing its characters to life. The story has giant heart - although of course, size doesn't matter -- Clare Zinkin * Minerva Reads *
We Are Giants is one of those books that I didn't know I needed in my life until I owned it, but now that I do it has pride of place. I hope many readers find this treasure. * Luna's Little Library *
An important story that will stay with you for years to come. We Are Giants is a beautiful book about growing up, moving on and accepting who we are. Sydney is a heroine who will climb into your heart and stay there. -- Jane Elson, author
This moving drama brings a fresh perspective to the diversity of family life. It is a positive and uplifting story, with fun characters and an emotional depth, that remains a light entertaining read. -- Alex Strick * The Booktrust *
I would thoroughly recommend this book to readers of all ages and abilities. The author has taken what could have been quite heavy subject matter and made it charming and engaging if not a little emotional at times. * The Codpast *

You may also be interested in...

The Ice Monster
Added to basket
£14.99   £11.99
Hardback
The Wonky Donkey
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
The Secret Commonwealth: The Book of Dust Volume Two
Added to basket
The Boy At the Back of the Class
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Diary of a Wimpy Kid: The Getaway (book 12)
Added to basket
Head Kid
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
Tom Gates: Mega Make and Do (and Stories Too!)
Added to basket
Ten Minutes to Bed: Little Unicorn
Added to basket
A Pinch of Magic
Added to basket
£6.99   £4.99
Paperback
A Good Girl's Guide to Murder
Added to basket
£7.99   £5.99
Paperback
Harry Potter and the Philosopher's Stone
Added to basket
Diary of an Awesome Friendly Kid
Added to basket
£12.99   £9.99
Hardback
Prague Spring
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Girl, the Bear and the Magic Shoes
Added to basket
When Hitler Stole Pink Rabbit
Added to basket
Tom Gates: Biscuits, Bands and Very Big Plans
Added to basket

“Why can't things just stay the way they are...”

What do you do when things change? In nine-year-old Sydney’s world, changes are coming thick and fast. Her mum has to give up her work and moves the family to a new town, Sydney’s big sister, Jade, is starting to... More

“Big-Hearted and Delightful”

This is such a sweet, charming little book. It deals with topics that would be familiar to a lot of 9-12 year olds - such as moving home/school, older teenage siblings becoming difficult, and trying to hang onto... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 9

“You'll feel part of their lives.”

Dodd's characterization is rock solid. Sydney is sympathetic, intelligent and likeable. Her mum is a fantasticly strong, loyal and warm person who holds her family together while they all go through financial and... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 7

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.