Watch Us Rise (Paperback)
  • Watch Us Rise (Paperback)
zoom

Watch Us Rise (Paperback)

(author), (author)
2 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£7.99
Paperback 368 Pages / Published: 21/02/2019
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
A stirring and unputdownable read about what it means to be a woman today. Perfect for fans of Moxie and The Hate U Give. Jasmine and Chelsea are best friends on a mission. Sick of the way that young women are treated even at their 'progressive' New York City high school, they decide to start a Women's Rights Club. One problem - no one shows up. That hardly stops them. They start posting everything from videos of Chelsea performing her poetry to Jasmine's response to being reduced to a racist and sexist stereotype in the school's theatre department. And soon, they've gone viral, creating a platform they never could've predicted. With such positive support, the Women's Rights Club is also targeted by trolls. But Jasmine and Chelsea won't let their voices - or those of the other young women in their city - be silenced. They'll risk everything to be heard and effect change ... but at what cost?

Publisher: Bloomsbury Publishing PLC
ISBN: 9781526600868
Number of pages: 368
Weight: 258 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS
Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: An important and deeply moving novel. Highly recommended * John Green *
Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: Timely and timeless, Piecing Me Together is a book about the ways young people deal with the hardships and heartbreak of everyday living while remaining whole and true to themselves * Jacqueline Woodson, National Book Award winning author of BROWN GIRL DREAMING *
Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: Watson, with rhythm and style, somehow gets at the toxicity of sympathy, the unquenchable thirst of fear, and the life-changing power of voice and opportunity, all wrapped up in Jade * Jason Reynolds, New York Times bestselling and award-winning coauthor of ALL AMERICAN BOYS *
Praise for PIECING ME TOGETHER: A timely, nuanced and unforgettable story about the power of art, community and friendship * starred review, Kirkus Reviews *
Readers who avidly follow American cultural politics will find much here to provoke and inspire. * CBI Reading Guide 2019-20 *

You may also be interested in...

Hunger
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
Orangeboy
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
The Curious Incident of the Dog In the Night-time
Added to basket
Lore
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Deathless Girls
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Knife Edge
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Wonderland
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Heartstopper Volume Three
Added to basket
£10.99   £8.99
Paperback
A Heart So Fierce and Broken
Added to basket
The Inheritance Games
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Eight Pieces of Silva
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback
Breathless
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.49
Paperback
Crossfire
Added to basket
£7.99
Paperback
Noughts & Crosses
Added to basket
£7.99   £6.99
Paperback

“The Courage to Speak”

Chelsea and Jasmine are two ordinary girls at their ordinary high school...and it is the innate and ingrained normality of some attitudes in their ordinary high-school that these two set out to change. Outspoken and... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 13

“Inspiring, but with some character issues”

I loved the message behind this book. It reinforces everything that I believe in and reminded me exactly why I identify as a feminist. It fights back against racism, sexual assault and people trying to quiten your... More

Paperback edition
2 similar books recommended
Helpful? Upvote 10

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.