Wartime with the Cornish Girls - The Cornish Girls Series (Paperback)
  • Wartime with the Cornish Girls - The Cornish Girls Series (Paperback)
zoom

Wartime with the Cornish Girls - The Cornish Girls Series (Paperback)

(author)
£7.99
Paperback 352 Pages / Published: 05/08/2021
  • In stock

Available

  • This item has been added to your basket
Your local Waterstones may have stock of this item. Please check by using Click & Collect

1941. The Blitz rages over London.
And even in Cornwall, the war is being fought...

When Violet loses her sister in the Blitz, she must take her nieces to safety in Cornwall. On the coast, she meets carefree chorus girl Eva, who is also running from the dangers of London.

But Porthcurno hides a secret military base, and soon Violet and Eva realise there's a battle to fight in Cornwall, too.

Together with local Hazel, who works on the base, they must come together to help the war effort. But will their friendship be enough to keep them safe?

The perfect uplifting wartime read for fans of Nancy Revell and Donna Douglas.

Praise for the Cornish Girls:

'I was totally blown away! I am so invested in these women that I must read the next book!' NetGalley reviewer

'A fascinating story, beautifully written, with interesting characters I really liked. A most enjoyable read!' Kitty Neale, Sunday Times bestselling author of A Daughter's Ruin

'Charming and exciting - this book had me hooked! I can't wait for the next in the series!' NetGalley reviewer

'A warm-hearted story - at times I laughed and at others I held my breath ... I loved the characters and I'm delighted it is the first in a series' Pam Weaver, Sunday Times bestselling author of Goodnight Sweetheart

'The perfect mix of light and dark - there wasn't a dull moment!' NetGalley reviewer

'This is the first in a series, which is great news for fans of Betty Walker and the Cornish Girls!' Historical Novel Society

Publisher: HarperCollins Publishers
ISBN: 9780008400286
Number of pages: 352
Weight: 250 g
Dimensions: 198 x 129 x 22 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'A fascinating story, beautifully written, with interesting characters I really liked. A most enjoyable read!' Kitty Neale, Sunday Times bestselling author of A Daughter's Ruin

'A warm-hearted story - at times I laughed and at others I held my breath ... I loved the characters and I'm delighted it is the first in a series' Pam Weaver, Sunday Times bestselling author of Goodnight Sweetheart

'This is the first in a series, which is great news for fans of Betty Walker and the Cornish Girls!' Historical Novel Society

You may also be interested in...

Royal
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Other Bennet Sister
Added to basket
A Beautiful Spy
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Alchemy and Rose
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Daughters of War
Added to basket
The Pearl Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Doll Factory
Added to basket
Bridgerton: The Duke and I (Bridgertons Book 1)
Added to basket
The Sun Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Shadow Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Viscount Who Loved Me
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Moon Sister
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
The Missing Sister
Added to basket
The Devil and the Dark Water
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The River Between Us
Added to basket
Afterlives
Added to basket
£8.99
Paperback
Kris Anderson, The Avid Reader

“An engaging historical novel”

Wartime with the Cornish Girls by Betty Walker is the beginning of The Cornish Girls series. This is a charming story about three women who become friends and how they help each other get through the World War II. I... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Enjoyable story”

This was a very enjoyable story. Some great characters and a storyline which covers a multitude of parts. Really brought the impact of war on the population, both in town and countryside, to life. The conclusion left... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 2

“Lovely, strong characters, substantial plots. Recommended.”

Wartime With The Cornish Girls by Betty Walker
A lovely WWII story about three amazing young women and two young girls caught up in situations outside their control. A good introduction to the strong, determined... More

Paperback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.