Wahala (Hardback)
  • Wahala (Hardback)
zoom

Wahala (Hardback)

(author)
6 Reviews Sign in to write a review
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages / Published: 06/01/2022
  • Coming soon

Awaiting publication

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Three mixed-race friends navigate frustrated hopes and thwarted love in modern London, as a single tragic act threatens to spin their lives out of control in this darkly funny and scalpel sharp debut perfect for fans of Queenie and Expectation.

Ronke, Simi, Boo are three mixed-race friends living in London. They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English. Not all of them choose to see it that way.

Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future. Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again.

When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them. Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking. When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself.

Explosive, hilarious and wildly entertaining, this razor-sharp tale of love, race and family will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror. Fearlessly political about class, colourism and clothes, the spellbinding Wahala is for anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 9780857527783
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 498 g
Dimensions: 222 x 144 x 35 mm


MEDIA REVIEWS

'I have a feeling this book is going to be huge! It examines friendships that are held together by the thinnest of threads, all the doubts and questions that come from the choices women face, self-destruction, good intentions, bad intentions and a creeping sense of... well, trouble.' - Marianne Cronin, author of The One Hundred Years of Lenni and Margot

'Bold, juicy and real! Wahala is tense and powerful, it's friendship at its best and its worst, and it's THE book to read this year!' - Lauren North, author of Safe at Home

'Dazzling and bursting with life. Wahala is as joyous, complex and all-encompassing as female friendship itself. I loved it.' - Tammy Cohen, author of The Wedding Party

'Wahala hooked me from page one and kept me enthralled till the (twist!) end. A riot of colour and noise, friendships, enemies, secrets, lies and soul food. Written with a lightness of touch. Insightful, clever, and honest. I will read anything and everything she writes.' - Ericka Waller, author of Dog Days

'Wow, what a debut! I was left wanting more - more of Ronke, Boo and Simi and more of Nikki's brilliant writing about food and friendship. Warm and fun, I loved watching the more sinister side to the story emerge. Fantastic!' - Sarah Pearse author of The Sanatorium

'Wildly entertaining.' - The Bookseller

'I couldn't get enough of the four women at the heart of Nikki May's utterly winning debut novel, Wahala. Every evening, I sank into my bubble bath, eager to return to the lives of May's deep and complex characters. Their loves and wahala ('trouble') brought to mind Sex and the City but felt more modern, more real. When I closed Nikki May's delicious, hilarious novel, I knew it was time to call my friends...time to get into some good wahala of my own.' - Amanda Eyre Ward author of The Jetsetters

You may also be interested in...

Never
Added to basket
£20.00   £17.99
Hardback
The Manningtree Witches
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Eight Detectives
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Promise
Added to basket
£16.99
Hardback
Piranesi
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Judge's List
Added to basket
£20.00   £16.99
Hardback
Wish You Were Here
Added to basket
£16.99   £8.49
Hardback
The Vanishing Half
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
One August Night
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Beautiful World, Where Are You
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback
Small Pleasures
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
Trio
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Seven Husbands of Evelyn Hugo
Added to basket
The Thursday Murder Club
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Midnight Library
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
It Ends With Us
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback

“Great Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy… I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from it.
It had been compared to a few recent and very popular books, some of which I had read… but still I wasn’t entirely... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“Brilliant Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy... I wasn't entirely sure what to expect from it.
It had been compared to a few recent and very popular books, some of which I had read... but still I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 1

“A fantastic friendship drama”

I loved this story, devoured it. I'm a fan of novels featuring toxic friendship and female group dynamic and this was absolutely addictive and beautifully written.

A group of close friends, all of... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 0

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.