Ts&Cs apply
Wahala: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Wahala: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Wahala: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
  • Wahala: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)
zoom
Wahala: Exclusive Edition (Hardback) Wahala: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

Wahala: Exclusive Edition (Hardback)

(author)
£14.99
Hardback 384 Pages
Published: 06/01/2022

This product is only available to collect in store.

  • This item has been added to your basket
Waterstones Says

Three mixed-race friends navigate frustrated hopes and thwarted love in modern London, as a single terrible act threatens to spin their lives out of control in this darkly funny and scalpel sharp debut perfect for fans of Queenie and Expectation.

Exclusive Edition with pink edges, recipe content and designed endpapers

A Standard Edition is available here

Ronke, Simi, Boo are three mixed-race friends living in London. They have the gift of two cultures, Nigerian and English. Not all of them choose to see it that way.

Everyday racism has never held them back, but now in their thirties, they question their future. Ronke wants a husband (he must be Nigerian); Boo enjoys (correction: endures) stay-at-home motherhood; while Simi, full of fashion career dreams, rolls her eyes as her boss refers to her urban vibe yet again.

When Isobel, a lethally glamorous friend from their past arrives in town, she is determined to fix their futures for them. Cracks in their friendship begin to appear, and it is soon obvious Isobel is not sorting but wrecking. When she is driven to a terrible act, the women are forced to reckon with a crime in their past that may just have repeated itself.

Explosive, hilarious and wildly entertaining, this razor-sharp tale of love, race and family will have you laughing, crying and gasping in horror. Fearlessly political about class, colourism and clothes, the spellbinding Wahala is for anyone who has ever cherished friendship, in all its forms.

Publisher: Transworld Publishers Ltd
ISBN: 2928377078591
Number of pages: 384
Weight: 500 g
Dimensions: 222 x 138 x 40 mm

You may also be interested in...

The Cloisters
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.49
Paperback
The Satsuma Complex
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Babel
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Housemaid
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Someone Else’s Shoes
Added to basket
£9.99   £7.99
Paperback
Strange Sally Diamond
Added to basket
£8.99   £7.49
Paperback
You Like It Darker
Added to basket
£25.00   £12.50
Hardback
A Little Life
Added to basket
£10.99
Paperback
Before the Coffee Gets Cold
Added to basket
Close to Home
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Prophet Song
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Tomorrow, and Tomorrow, and Tomorrow
Added to basket
The Ferryman
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Bee Sting
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
Yellowface
Added to basket
£9.99   £8.49
Paperback
The Ministry of Time
Added to basket
£16.99   £14.99
Hardback

“Great Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy… I wasn’t entirely sure what to expect from it.
It had been compared to a few recent and very popular books, some of which I had read… but still I wasn’t entirely... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Brilliant Read!”

Thank you to the publishers for this early review copy... I wasn't entirely sure what to expect from it.
It had been compared to a few recent and very popular books, some of which I had read... but still I... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 16

“Fun, fast paced, shocking - this will be huge in 2022”

This is the extremely dramatic debut from Nikki May and there’s already quite a buzz about this book due out in January 2022 as it’s set to be turned into a major TV series. The story is told in alternating chapters... More

Hardback edition
Helpful? Upvote 14

Please sign in to write a review

Your review has been submitted successfully.

env: aptum
branch: